We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layana Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Layana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Layana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEAT THE HEAT & SAVE
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Outstandingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were so pleased to find five nights available at this perennially full hotel that we based our whole trip around the dates. It is, as others have written, exceptional in almost every way. The rooms are stylish and thoughtfully designed, with a nice quiet balcony overlooking garden full of palm, mango tree and frangipani. There is always room to chill by the pool or on the beach and the fact that there were no children is very relaxing for those us who have been there, done that! The pool itself has a great view of the sunsets and there is a good poolside service. Stefan and his capable team run a great show. Sailing fans like us will find a Hobie Cat (which was unfortunately out of service during our stay) and a couple of smaller Hobie craft, which we enjoyed whizzing around in. The beach is soft in parts, with quite a lot of coral higher up. The hotel is by no means isolated: along the long stretch of beach there are are plenty of cheap massage shacks, bars (there's a nice reggae bar just out of the hotel to the left) and Thaim Out, by day a cheap and cheerful lunch place, transforms itself into a candle-lit on-the-beach dinner venue serving the freshest fish that you pick and they weigh. We liked the hotel breakfasts very much (the fresh juices were stunning) and the Sands beach bar was great for lunch but the fine-ish dining in the hotel just wasn't our thing. We took in a quayside seafood restaurant in the local town (a £2 taxi ride) and it was good. Time for Lime around the next bay is a great restaurant and cookery school, the proceeds of which support the island's animal sanctuary. But the star dinner was on the east coast in the lovely Old Town in a restaurant overlooking the water called Fresh, which cost about £2 per dish and was extraordinary.

We were hesitant about taking the hotel's four island boat trip because it took most of the day but so glad we did it. There were only eight of us on one of the hotel's smart speedboats. We had great company and the snorkelling was amazing (they provide quality kit), as was the swimming into a volcano through a cave! The team then took us to a fine beach with more great coral reef snorkelling, set up a table and served the most delicious lunch with wine.

If you like peace and quiet and value beautiful surroundings and a highly professional, yet friendly operation, this is a must on Koh Lanta. Such a lot of world to see, but we would really like to get back there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    76
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
750
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Its been over a month since we got back from our trip to Thailand. It was our first time and it was nothing like I expected. I think our fantastic experience can be attributed to the amazing time we had at the Layana. This is a top notch resort and although it is 9 years old it is in fantastic condition.

Here is why I think this place deserves 5+ stars.

Service:
Some of the best we have experienced. It was non pretentious, genuine, and friendly. The people working at the Layana seemed to enjoy what they are doing- at all levels from Management to housekeeping, front desk, bar service and the restaurant.

Design:
The rooms are very well laid out, the are quiet and private. We had a garden room as there are very few ocean front suites but the resort. I had no regrets, it was very peaceful sitting on the private deck. There was plenty of closet space, good air conditioning, and it was very clean
The rest of the resort was very well laid out, with the centre front desk pavilion with the hills of Ko Lanta behind, it was beautiful. The pool area was very nice, modern asian theme, appointed with nice lounge chairs and umbrellas. The bar and restaurant were perfect for a beach holiday, right on the water with unobstructed views of the sun set and often nice evening breeze. As the resort was a little older the gardens were fully grown in, with many large trees, bamboo and flowering plants

Spa
The spa was once of the best we have been to. It was not overly large but it had very nice interior design. We had three massages each over the 10 plus days we were there which were very good. I also had a pedicure which lasted quite a long time as well as a facial. We enjoyed the "salt therapy" room which was interesting and relaxing.

Food and Beverages
We found the food to be very good at the resort, as well as the quality of the drinks. Happy hour was a great way to start the evening. The breakfast buffet was good quality. They will make you eggs any what you like them, as well as speciality coffees and if you are lucky will cut up a fresh mango for you.....wow. I did not find the prices very expensive at all. In fact I was surprised how small our food/bar tab was when we checked out. We also like the little chill out bar next door that was more casual.

Beach and surroundings
Very beautiful beach that was very relaxed. The only down side of when we were there was the clarify of the water as it had rained many days before we got there as well as jellyfish..but this is seasonal. We were so happy at the resort we only went into the little town at the north of the island about 4-5 times...for dinner and a little souvenir shopping. We really liked the vibe on the island, it felt very safe, no one harassed you.

Other tips
I highly recommend the boat transfer, it really cut down travel time and was very efficient as well as making us feel very special. We went on three little excisions while there, the Phi Phi island tour: Im glad I went but i would not go again, all the places we visited were super packed full of very obnoxious tourists and it was very crowded....it made us feel very thankful that we were at the Layana on Ko Lanta and not in Punket. We also did the Koh Rok snorkel trip which was fantastic and I highly recommend. Also the evening boat cruise: the Layana's boat broke down so they put us in a long boat, I think a lot of people didn't go so we ended up riding with only two other people. It was very romantic and quiet.

One last remark, as the hotel is only 49 rooms it is very relaxed and as such many of the people staying at the hotel are the same, no beer drinking loud talking hooligans to be found anywhere, it was very civilized and classy.

If you are at all thinking of a beach holiday I would pick this hotel and this island.
If it was for the crazy flight times to get to Ko Lanta from Canada, I would go every year!!

Room Tip: They are all good- but if you want to spend a little the beach front villa at the far north looked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We've just returned from our 3rd year running staying at this absolutely amazing hotel and have already booked for next year!
The friendliness and attentiveness of staff is second to none!
The garden pavillion rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean with all the usual facilities expected from a 5 ★ resort!
Our breakfasts were always enjoyable with plenty of variety! We dined in both the Tides and Sands Restaurants and the food was always excellent! The new Chef, who previously served the King, is more than happy to make you something special! He did this for us a few times and always did it with a smile!
The tranquility of the Spa is an experience you really shouldn't miss - Fridays you get the Special Couples offer and the Layana Signature Massage
is a must!
Boon and Ya are excellent for manicure and pedicure treatments - my french polish lasted in excess of a week which is unusual for me!!
Stefan, the General Manager, Ned, the Operations Manager, Jimmy, the Leisure Manager along with all the staff go out of their way to make you feel very special - we really can't express enough how wonderful this hotel is! We continue to return to our little piece of paradise!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good although our preference is block 1 facing towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Layana, in my view, is a very pretty resort. The restaurant, bar and pool all face the beach, which is probably the perfect layout. Sitting eating or enjoying a drink looking out onto the beach is our idea of bliss - so in this respect we were totally contented.

Our room was very spaceous and clean.

The staff were all very friendly and pleasant. Kung is an exceptional staff member.

One minor adjustment I would make would be to check that the hot breakfast selection is always hot. This is very minor - the Layana is a very pretty resort and if you are interested in chilling out in Thailand - The Layana is a very good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Layana resort during our visit in Thailand and had a really perfect stay.
- Staff was always nice and helpful (and we saw few other 5* resorts in Thailand which couldn’t compete with Layana at all)
- The rooms are big, clean and you feel just great
- Hotel is very well maintained with a attention to details
- Drinks (cocktails) are good, but quite expensive, use the happy hour
- Food is very good with good service (take care, dress code in the restaurant), but also quite expensive, anyway you can go to restaurants nearby at the beach

There is only one thing we really didn’t like, but there not the hotel but the guests are guilty – reservation of sunbath at the beach. Hotel has sunbathes at the beach and near the pool, we never made it to catch a sunbath at the beach as guests obviously have the need to run early morning to reserve them.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool, makes it easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

What isn't to like about Layana Resort and Spa? It is probably one of the best hotels both my fiancé and I have ever stayed in Thailand. On arrival greeted with flowers and welcome from practically all the management team, which was a lovely gesture.
Our room was in the garden area, comfortable bed and pillows which was well needed after nearly 3 wks of traveling.
Breakfast was excellent. Good cocktails at happy hour.
Good sized swimming pool, gym and jacuzzi.
It was a really relaxing experience and I would love to go back one day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed over Christmas and New Years in one of the Garden Pavilions and had an amazing stay. The service level is optimized to the smallest detail. Everybody is very friendly and professional and tries to make your stay special.

There was a small issue with the bill when I received it, but it was corrected straight away, leaving me a more delighted guest than before.

Stefan and Lion make sure everything runs with German precision while keeping the Thai friendliness.

Only point for improvement is the restaurant choices. The food is good, but you can have as good or better food for 30% of the price if you leave the hotel area. Our favorites where L. Maladee for fish and Krua Kritsana for an authentic thai comfort food experience.

Can also highly recommend taking a diving class while there. Don't miss the Spa either! Make sure to get the Layana signature treatment.

Overall the stay was so nice that we left with a little sting in our hearts because we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.