We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Magical Holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Layana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Layana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEAT THE HEAT & SAVE
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Such a Magical Holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed around 10 nights in January in an Ocean Suite and it's our 3rd visit to Layana. Going back again could have been an anti-climax but it was possibly the best holiday we have ever had !
The hotel is unique in its magical setting and blend of top quality with no pomposity. We really needed this holiday to chill out and it was perfect in its balance of peace, sun, magnificent food (I hear the chef used to cook for the King !) and consistent friendliness and professionalism of the staff, from the Spa to the beach. There is accommodation for only around 50 guests, so it is never busy.
I strongly recommend their sundowner trip in the hotel cruiser where you glide quietly through the mangroves at sunset, sipping wine then finding lots of monkeys which spectacularly dive off the trees into the water to get the fruit/bread you throw in.
Fabulous snorkelling and at times a shoal of tiny fish like sardines came in forming the tight baitballs which open up as you swim through them, just like you see in the BluePlanet programmes.
Loved the Nespresso machine in the room, the comfy beds and big 'day-bed' upstairs in the Ocean suite where we often fell asleep at night listening to the sea with our kindles on our chests!

With the brilliant Spa massages, constant supply of free cold water, chilled flannels and fruit as we sunbathed and the cheerfulness of the staff constantly anticipating your needs, I have never felt more content. I am not a grumpy old man, but the lack of children really added to the beautiful peace.
At breakfast the lovely chatty waitresses introduced me to new breakfast which I got hooked on of freshly crushed ginger tea and a Thai omelette with prawns and a little chilli !
We did very little apart from read our books, visit the gym and eat delicious Thai food and wander along the beach collecting lovely shells. Next time I'll join the morning yoga class.

Full marks to Stefan, Jimmy (a multi-talented Scot who speaks fluent Thai), Ned, Leon and all the team. This hotel does not consistently hit such high marks by accident !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    76
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
751
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is simply amazing, I am not easily pleased but this hotel cannot be faulted. Customer service is beyond excellent and the rooms are fantastic. All the staff are incredibly polite, courteous and happy to help.

As it was our honeymoon we recieved free sparkling wine and chocolates.

Downside, there isn't one, If you can find a fault with this hotel/resort then there must be something wrong with you, expensive but well worth the dollar.

Also no kids allowed, bonus!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Layana very recently as the last part of a three week trip to Thailand to celebrate my husband’s birthday. We wanted somewhere really special and relaxing for this week since the rest of our holiday had been adventurous and hectic in Laos and Bangkok.

Our room was well designed , functional and relaxing ( comfy day bed) as well as having great tech features and very private balcony overlooking the pool with a glimpse of the sea!
The ‘welcome/orientation’ was nice but a bit lengthy. We had three different people come and tell us lots of things before we finally got to relax in our room. We’d have preferred a little more info regarding activities /facilities to be available in the room for us to read at our leisure when we could take it in. An activities sheet only arrived in our room a few days into our stay showing events that had now already happened! The invite to the wine tasting did not make clear that it was complimentary so we didn’t go, thinking it was a formal event you had to pay extra for and it wasn’t a priority for us.

We found the GM Stephan to be a little wooden and rehearsed, lacking in natural warmth and in some ways resembling a military commandant! Ned was much warmer and more natural. This was a surprise given the reviews we’d read and contrary to being on hand for queries or to ask us how our stay was going, this ‘welcome’ was the last we heard or saw of Stephan until the day we left!

The food was a bit of a disappointment. We had lunch the first day and the Thai food was no where near as good as we’d had in Bangkok and as it turned out, elsewhere on Lanta. We also went to the curry night which was mediocre, it was more of a canteen experience with no starters or lovely side dishes that could have accompanied the dishes. The desserts were pretty awful. They also ran out of some dishes ( people dine at different times during the evening) and took a long time to refill. We ate elsewhere along the beach for the rest of the week.
The breakfasts were really disappointing for a five star hotel and food was often covered in flies! The main issue though for us, was the egg/omelette ordering system which drove us to distraction. This should be fast and efficient but often no one was at the station. Then one of the kitchen staff would eventually take on the role having to fire up the rings and 15 -20 mins later you might get your eggs... if they understood the order! The bacon , sausages etc. would by this time be cold and if you had ordered a pancake this may arrive as you were finishing your breakfast! Very frustrating. On our last day the sausages and bacon were actually hot, normally they had been cold or at best luke warm. We tried to tell them the food was not hot enough on the first day but were met with blank faces and they didn’t seem to like hearing that or didn’t care! The coffee was fantastic and generally arrived quickly but on the whole, the breakfast service was irritatingly slow and dysfunctional . It definitely affected our experience negatively.

The pool/bar staff are also nice and friendly but not always on the ball. We often had to wait a long time before they’d answer the call button or bring drinks. We ended up taking our own water to the beach as I was parched at times! They are more efficient around the pool so perhaps they forget about the beach guests! The service could be slow, we ordered cocktails to enjoy the sunset and 30mins later they came and the sun was nearly gone!

The main staff are lovely, really friendly and genuinely smiling and professional. The room cleaning staff were absolutely excellent, the whole place was spotless and little touches like leaving cookies and ice made it special. They did tend to come too early (7.15pm) for turn down, we were always still getting ready to go out but they came so had to ask them to return later.

The ‘one call does it all’ didn’t really work. We really wanted rum for our mini bar which is not such a big ask, there was only whiskey, gin and vodka available. We were just told that we could have rum at the main bar -not really the point of an in room mini bar. Also one evening we tried to borrow a dvd from the library but the case was empty. We dialled 7 to see if they could help and they said they’d look into it. We called back but she said she hadn’t asked anyone yet then we never heard about it again! Noone really went out of they’re way.

The spa was the best we’ve ever experienced as were the spa staff whose expert hands gave the best massages we’ve ever had and for reasonable prices. Do not miss this! The beach massages are good but do not come close.

The four island cruise is a must. We considered booking an excursion in Saladan but it was so convenient to just sign up and leave from the hotel in the morning at the beach. We had no regrets. A lovely lunch on Koh Kradan, good, if a little precarious snorkelling and an exhilarating high speed boat.

As some other people have said, there is something missing from the atmosphere at Layana. It may be a combination of a slightly over sanitised environment which is little contrived and the clientele who can be quite an odd bunch : 0 from other reviews it clearly wasn’t just when we were there so it must attract a certain type. People don’t really talk to each other, not even a hello or good morning! On several occasions we would smile and say hello to other guests and barely got a reply just a flicker of the lips. I started to think it was to do with so many of them being German and Swedish - my husband said they were just ’different’ but different is not the same as rude. A smile is universal and not to return one is just plain rude or strange. I don’t believe German and Swedish people are naturally rude people, I’m sure they can be lovely so it must have just been these particular people. There was no low ambient rumble of conversation even between themselves at dinner - more like whispers . Even after having shared an excursion with some of them where we did actually chat a bit, the next day it was like they’d never met you. Normally I’d rather not see or hear other Brits abroad but I have never been so glad to see some friendly English and Scottish faces!

Sands beach bar seems to have been bought over by Layana and I fear they have sanitised the life out of it. It severely lacked atmosphere despite the lovely comfy round seats facing the beach. There was no sign of a beach barbecue which would have added a bit of theatre . If they could have had fresh fish being cooked each night on a big beachfront grill it would have been fantastic and could have been made to look really beautiful. Instead a lonely fish cart was left way down on the sand practically in the dark and when any passersby came for a look, a Layana staff member would run up presumably to ensure nothing was touched. It was quite a sad affair. The live guitar night seemed a bit more lively though.

We are 40 and 42 and yet felt like the ‘kids’ of the resort. Neither of us are big party people or drink much but even we had to go along the beach a bit to get a bit of atmosphere for our evening meal . The bar area has the most buzz and was actually very pleasant to sit and have a mojito. This was one of the few cocktails that actually tasted like it had any alcohol in it. Others seemed to be mostly fruit juice!

They have kayaks and ‘hobiecats’ that guests can use. We really fancied stand up paddle boarding but the hotel didn’t have any. It would be good is they had these and perhaps some snorkels ( just for fun ), bats and balls etc.

Lastly the goodbyes. Some people like to show off and go for the big ceremonial goodbye on the beach and speedboat departure and why not, it looked like fun – the boat bit at least. The five robotic waving figures though we just found a little bit spooky , kind of a ‘Stepford wives’ assembly...but maybe that’s just us : D

Stephan and another manager (not Ned, the other one with short brown hair and pale skin) came to say Goodbye. He stood beside Stephan staring and barely said a word apart from ‘Goodbye’. He was not in the least bit warm, in fact a little frosty! He had appeared once before during our stay, suddenly right in front of us at our dinner table on the first night and said robotically something like ‘it’s a beautiful evening’, stared for a moment at me then skulked off without waiting for an answer! No conversation, no introduction, no smile....weird.

They didn’t seem to know how long we’d stayed at the hotel. Stephan kept saying how short a stay with them we’d had and yet we’d been there for a week! Some people only stayed three days. I didn’t mention any of the above as it was too late and when you’re on holiday you don’t want to go searching out management to complain to every time. If they’d bothered to ask us during our stay we’d have highlighted at least the breakfast problem.

It seems there are favourite guests and those are generally the ones who eat at the hotel every night and spend the most money. Shouldn’t every guest be made to feel special? That’s what makes people return. This hotel is in a lovely location but that doesn’t make it perfect. When you’re spending that amount of money it has to be phenomenal .

Room Tip: upper floors are less noisy and you might get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Layana is a great resort- true high class service. We made our own way to the resort (speedboat to the main port from phi phi and then jumped in a 10min taxi) and were greeted with cold drinks and refreshing towels by the friendly staff. 2 managers also made a point of greeting us and introducing themselves.
The resort is in a great location on the island. It has its own private beach front on Long Beach which is a great long white sand beach with clear calm water. You can alternate between dips in the pool and the sea as they are right by each other. The spa is great and although more expensive than the local massage/nails services along the beach, the experience is worth the extra spend. We enjoyed a couple of meals in the restaurant which served great food. The resort only has 50 rooms and no children which makes it a very relaxing and tranquil experience. The only negative is that room service isn't 24/7 and a couple of times my egg order at breakfast was mixed up but this is being very picky! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey U.K.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went for our honeymoon and from the moment they collected us at the airport we were made to feel special. An A/c mini van took us down to the port where we had a private speedboat to take us on to The Layana. The journey was about 15 minutes and worth every penny we paid for the collection from the airport. When we arrived there were 5 people waiting for us on the beach where they greeted us with a fresh flower necklace. We had a welcome drink a cold flannel and then taken to our room where we had a bottle of champagne and chocolates along with flower petals everywhere as this was our honeymoon. Everything about this hotel is fantastic, every time you pass an employee they greet you and bow, the pool is fantastic and there are enough beds to go around - no running down trying to get a bed before anyone else does (we're past that now). In fact the staff place a towel for you and arrange the beds and umbrella. They also come round with fresh ice cold water and fruit kebabs throughout the day too. I think the busiest the pool ever got was 5 people at once. You can also sit in the pool and read. We ate in the hotel every night and were never not happy - we were told by others that we were paying a lot compared to the beach restaurants but to be honest a decent meal with wine and water was still costing no more than £50 with superb service and a view to die for. We did venture out in our second week as we had book another hotel. Overall I would not even hesitate in coming here again...maybe Id look at the weather though as even though it was beautiful and sunny almost constantly it was very very humid. Ohhh and had an hour long massage on the beach for 400bht, about £8 - Book you will not be disappointed (And no kids - not that I don't like them, I have two)

Room Tip: I chose an upstairs room but if I went back I would deff book earlier and get the beach front bungal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A beautiful experience from start to finish. Wonderful staff and peaceful surroundings. Perfect for a relaxing holiday. Would return in a heartbeat! My only niggle was with other guests who insist on "claiming" sunbeds by placing towels on them and then disappearing off for breakfast! Apart from this everything about Layana was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lüdenscheid
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Luxury rooms with nice bathrooms. Cleaning service is perfect as well as the room service.

The resort has only about 50 rooms so it is a very nice atmosphere. Staff is friendly and speaks very good English.

The different tours such as the island hopping including snorkeling, the trekking in the national peak, or the sundowner cruise were perfectly organized and we enjoyed every single second.

The prices at the restaurant and the bar are very fair for a luxury resort like this.

The pool is very nice and we really enjoyed the drinks and food service directly at your sun lounger. Drinking water is for free and they do regular refills. A few times per day they serve fresh fruits for free also.

The beach where Layana is located at is definitely nicer than others at Koh Lanta.

The only critic goes toward the F&B management. If you tell the restaurant manager that the sparkling wine is not cool enough and he just answers "Not cool enough?" while he pours in the next glass is quite frustrating.

We would definitely book Layana if going to Koh Lanta again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.