We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place i've ever been.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layana Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Layana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY A LITTLE LONGER
Ranked #1 of 79 hotels in Ko Lanta
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place i've ever been.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My girlfriend and i went to layana to celebrate our 10 year anniversary of being together. We just couldn't believe how good it was. We were picked up from Krabi airport in the most luxurious vehicle we'd probably ever been in. When we got to the resort, we just felt like we were in Charlie and the chocolate factory or something. We were greated by the friendliest happiest staff ever, and taken to our room on golf buggys. It's like some kind of wonderland. Throughout our trip all of the staff were so helpfull and seemed to take a real pride in their jobs, which they were very skilled at. We would like to say thank you to everyone there for making our holiday out of this world. We also want to say a personal thank you to Wit who helped us organise several activities and always asked what our plans were for the day. And thank you for drawing us the map of Lanta Noi, on your advice we took a day trip there, no tourists, beautiful island and we managed to get a longtail boat trip from the island to see some of the most amaizing scenery and deserted beaches you could imagine, that was one of the best days of our lives. Also, thank you to One at reception who organised lots of hire vehicles and currency exchange for us almost everyday. And thank you to Solae at the bar/restaurant, you are a very friendly character who always came over to chat to me whilst i was alone at the bar and went to extra effort to get my girlfriend a drink which wasnt even on the menu, thank you. Thank you to the guys who took us on the koh rock tour and to the Scottish man (sorry we didn't get your name!) another very friendly character to talk to.
We don't have one single complaint, if you can't enjoy this place, then there is something seriously wrong with you. Thank you to all the maids who cleaned our room so well (seemed like two or three times a day). The food was delicous, the barracuda was one of the best meals i ever had. The island was the nicest place we have ever been, and this was the best hotel we have ever been to which is larelgy down to all the great people who work there. Thank you!

Room Tip: Garden pavillions are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    62
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
36
633
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Layana Resort after a 5 night stay. This was my third visit to this property, my last being in Sept 2010. The new ownership continues to strive and maintain a very high level of service for one of the most beautiful physical layouts on Koh Lanta or anywhere on the islands in Thailand.

Their plans to renovate some public areas in August/September should further position this resort to maintain their well deserved high ranking. Now for the pros and cons (very few). The tremendous low-season value of this resort cannot be overstated. We stayed in a Garden Pavilion room which was very comfortable with great amenities. The housekeeping is tremendous including timely turn down and daily cleaning. A very accommodating staff attends to any specific request which you may have.

The choices of daily activities is a great plus and they always have a special dinner choice along with "event nights" The addition of a new Sands Bar was a nice touch along with beach front massage beds which we took full advantage of. A nice "small plate" bar menu was tasty and a great option for happy hour.

My only minor complaint is that the presentation of the service staff could be a bit more polished at the Tides restaurant. Although the service is attentive and friendly, drink service is a bit slow and although the resort is feel should be relaxed, dining service should not be. This may be nit picking as I've already planned my fall booking for 5 more nights at Layana. There is no perfection in any world so don't let my minor carping stop you from booking this resort for as long as you can afford to.

The pool staff was very proficient and was on top of their game. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate though not luxuriously sumptuous by Bangkok (5-6 star) standards. The breakfast staff is more than willing to cater to any special requests which you may have and do so with typical 'Thai smile" hospitality.

The GM (Ned) is omnipresent and cordial. Then entire staff is committed to keeping the reputation of Layana near the top even the most harsh critics list.

Again and as always, this choice can't be faulted at all.

Enjoy Layana as soon as you can.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach but nothing is very far away here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The number of 5 star reviews on here speak for itself. This place is paradise and we didn't want to leave. From start to finish we were treated superbly. Staff were attentive, room was lovely, the grounds amazing, breakfast and dinner fab, pool was beautiful....need I go on. It was just amazing and I would highly recommend the Layana resort. Thank you Layana for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Layana for our honeymoon and it was amazing. We started off the trip with two days in Bangkok, and then two days in Angor Wat before heading down to Ko Lanta, so we were ready to kick back and relax. The hotel did not disappoint. The grounds are kept so well, and the staff was exceptionally friendly. The infinity pool is beautiful and just looking over it onto the ocean instantly relaxes the mind and body. We relaxed for a day or so, but it wasn't long before we were looking for adventure, and our hotel excursion/adventure concierge was fantastic. He booked us the 4 island tour, which included a trip to the Emerald Cave, and some excellent snorkeling - we even saw a multi-colored sea krait. We were also able to book the Ko Phi Don/Le tour through the hotel and that was very nice as well.

Before booking with the Layana, we actually had reservations at Pimalai, which is much further south and more remote. The Pimalai was also quite a bit more expensive than the Layana, and further from some of the restaurants that we wanted to try (Thai Kat and 3 Mums), so when a room opened up at the Layana, we jumped on it. The reservation includes breakfast, but be sure to get there by 9:00 am while the food is fresh - the chocolate rolls are delicious!

The only problem we had was trying to contact the hotel to create arrival accomodations - we tried emailing the front desk several times using the email address on the hotel's website, but no one ever responded. Since we didn't have any other information on how to get to the hotel, we were forced to take a bus to Krabi from the airport, and then a separate bus to the island - all in all, this took about four hours. After mentioning this to the hotel, they kind of shirked it off, which was a bit annoying.

However, all in all, the trip was fantastic.

I'd say if you are looking for relaxation with the opportunity to find adventures, go to Koh Lanta and the Layana, but if you're looking mostly for adventures, go to Ko Phi Phi, but be prepared for the long lines, crowds and "touristiness".

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms seem nice, but were far more expensive - we had a deluxe garden room that overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm currently sitting in my amazing garden pavilion room which is huge with an incredible bathroom and terrace, with wonderful aircon keeping me cool while I relax after a day at the pool. This place does live up to the hype. My new wife recently wrote a review titled "not amazing" which pointed out a few improvements that could be made, for example the choice of food to cater to all dietary requirements. As mentioned in her review, I'm a Muslim and was told I was eating chicken when in fact it was pork, however, the staff were very quick to apologise for the mix up. Having written her review while we were still here, outlining a few concerns that she had, we were both surprised and delighted that the customer manager, Ned and general manager, Stefan, both came to talk to us to apologise for the mix ups and even thanking us for pointing out improvements. They even offered us a lovely table at dinner on them, a very nice touch which we both appreciated lots. This also shows that these guys are very much on the ball and like to make sure that all customers are completely satisfied. In fact upon arrival, Stefan came straight over to greet us, tell us where everything was and assure us that should we have any questions, he would always be on hand, a great touch for a general manager.
I have to say that the staff, everyone from the cleaners to the top management say hello and check how you are, one guy in particular whose name I need to find out (who brought us our room service each time with a great big smile and always asked how we were, what our plans were, even offering advice about weather), Wit the excursion guy, Ned the manager, one of the waitresses who knew exactly what we wanted when we sat down, in fact all of them have been so brilliant and will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is the best.
Oh and pop by the massage booth near the sundown bar for the best massage you will ever have for a very reasonable price too!
A lot of people worry about the weather but we only really had one day of rain and the sunshine has been fantastic! The hotel even offers a 1000 Baat refund per room for each day of rain, which we thought was brilliant but luckily we haven't had to take them up on!
Great hotel made better by great staff. All they need to do is put more options on the menu that cater to everyone but that's it! My missus can just be a bit picky sometimes!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire, uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm here right now on my honeymoon so while its storming outside, I'm taking the chance to write a review. This is the third and final stop after bangkok and krabi after staying 5* all the way. Ill start with what's good about the resort-

The grounds are impressive, the staff to out of their way to say hello, chat with you, ask about your day. The welcome with a flower garland and cold towel is wonderful. The rooms are well proportioned with a lovely bathroom and great air con. The bar and restaurant are beautiful. The pool is clean and loungers are lovely. They bring you cold towels and fruit kebabs around the pool when it's hot. There is a library with a great range of DVDs to borrow.

Now the bad-
The breakfast is Ok but not amazing and all of the juices are artificial and none taste good. If you want service by the pool, it's a hard task. You have to go and get someone who will eventually come over to you, however when they do the service is great. Being in the bar or restaurant in the evening means inevitably getting eaten alive as they take no precautions for bug protection which I've found is odd as many other places do. There are limited options for veggies so if you are one, be prepared to live off margarita pizza! My husband is Muslim and was served a pork dish he was told was chicken so he then had to spit it out after I realised it was in fact pork. The staff apologised and confirmed it was pork but couldn't understand why it was a problem despite the area being extremely muslim centric so was a tad embarrassing. The next night i ordered a salad and asked for no bacon and it appeared with bacon bits covering it, trying to explain this was a nightmare as their english isnt great so i gave up. There are cockroaches that appear on your door step nightly. The pool has limited space and is quite small especially as there is just the one so be prepared to fight for a lounger! The excursions that are offered are VERY expensive for what they are compared to everywhere else we stayed as well as outside tour operators. The restaurant food is mediocre at best. The beach is not at all white sand and isn't amazing, we were surprised as we'd heard about how fabulous the beaches here are but this one has a huge hill so you need to walk down it to get to the sea and this makes lounging on the beach less awesome. We were told by hayes and Jarvis we would receive champagne, chocolates and flowers in our room on arrival, the hotel had not auctioned this so we had to query it with them and have the service a day late. This resort needs more options for food, better cocktails (they're quite awful) and another pool to be at 5* standard. They provide a bug spray complementary in your room but it doesn't contain feet so it actually attracts the bugs if anything.

We've spent most nights in our room watching films with room service thanks to the lack of atmosphere and abundance of bugs, which is a big shame as that's why we avoided the Maldives. We won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layana_Resort, General Manager at Layana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you as well for your review and our laugh just now at the pool on a very sunny day today with a beautiful pristine beach and lovely views over to Phi Phi island.

I am also glad to see on your smiles that you have a great time at the resort and as I have explained to you, I am very sorry for the oversights at our front office and Tides Restaurant, which should not have happened in the first place.

Thank you again, as only with comments such as yours we can continue to strive for further excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It's the best hotel I've stayed over the years that I've travelled and the most cost-effective one among luxury hotels.
Everything is perfect, from the first greeting, decoration and little details of rooms, service and friendliness, breakfast, beach, the library, spa, etc. I can find no fault with anything. And it costs around only 150 euros per night for all these.
However the pickup service is a bit expensive so we chose to rent a card drive by ourselves. A bit faraway but the ideal place for romantic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.