We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layana Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Layana Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Layana Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Linger Longer on Friday's
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 stars 870 Reviews
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It starts with your pick up from Krabi airport in one of the resorts cars. Cold water and cold towels gratefully received after a very long journey, whisked to the port where your transferred onto a speed boat!!! 20 minutes later you arrive...in paradise. Staff greet you on the beach before settling you down to a refreshing cocktail whilst your luggage disappears to your room. We were in a garden room, beautiful. We ate every night in the resorts restaurant, food was second to none. Breakfast was plentiful, staff unbelievable. All very polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The beach was fantastic, sea crystal clear. It was our first time there, and will be going back next year. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    71
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
39
681
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Layana for a few nights in June 2012 to cap off our trip to Thailand. It was a bit of a splurge for us at $188/night (booked on Agoda), but was so worth it... we didn't want to leave. The resort was clean, luxurious, very well tended to, and had great amenities. We loved the beach (which was kept clean by Layana staff), the pool, the bar (especially during happy hour!), the restaurant, the breakfast (!)... it was all so nice. We enjoyed our clean and well-appointed room- it wasn't ocean view, but we spent most of our time in or next to the ocean, which was a two-minute walk, and didn't care that we couldn't see it from our room. We appreciated having access to a clean and air-conditioned gym, computers with internet, and a nice library of movies and books. We rented scooters from Layana for a day and scooted around the island- that was a lot of fun. We checked out a few other resorts that we passed along the way, and had a drink at one of them, but were glad we had ended up at Layana. It's definitely not a party resort, so if that's what you're looking for, look elsewhere- when we were there, most of the patrons were older American and German folks. If you're looking for a bit of luxury and relaxation, I would definitely recommend this place!

Oh, also, we flew from Chiang Mai to Krabi, and it was a bit of a schlep to get to Layana from there... we also paid a good bit to get from Layana to Railay. Just a heads up. In general, we found that getting from Point A to Point B was never quite as simple as getting from Point A to Point B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We initially didn't book at the Layana Resort for our honeymoon as we were hoping for an oceanview room and at the time of our original bookings, Layana didn't have any available. Big mistake. Instead, we wasted time at another location down the beach that had boasted "traditional Thai charm and oceanview rooms overlooking Kantiang Bay". Feel free to use your imagination in interpreting what that meant... factor in a major ant infestation and mold. Lots of both. After walking in on all our electronics swarming with ants - the kind of swarming where the little critters are swarming OUT of the devices - we decided it was the last straw (of many) and we would leave.

At this point, we didn't care about oceanview, gardenview... any view. Just get us somewhere decent. We went back and booked Layana online and were in the car within 20 minutes. Layana welcomed us with open arms. They were able to accommodate us in very short order. The highlight of our arrival experience was when the lovely woman helping us approached us saying, "I'm very sorry, but..." (panic in chest) "... your room won't be ready for 20 minutes." Really!? It was a dream.

Between the wonderful welcome, gorgeous grounds, spotless white sand beaches stretching out for miles as far as we could see, and lovely rooms - we were in heaven. What a perfect way to spend and end our honeymoon. Both my husband and I were positively giddy like children in a toystore. Our only disappointment... wishing we'd had more time.

Do not hesitate to book the Layana. The staff are wonderful, friendly, helpful, and take tremendous pride in service. The breakfasts featured a wide array of options for every tastebud. The beach was clean, expansive, and better than we could have imagined and ocean a dream. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Layana has an addictive ambience, especially for German and British tourists who come back
many times and many know each other and the staff well.
Well this is our first visit here (we like to experience different places in a big world)
Why do they return time and time again ?
Well first their is the beach and the sea, we have to say that the sea is one of the best we have
ever swum in, perfect.
Second the room and bathroom are excellent and very comfortable.
The service is vey good and the management attentive although language can lead to some strange incidences , some of the staff have only a rudimentary knowledge of language other
than Thai.
The Tides restaurant is very good serving a variety of Thai and International food with specials
and special evenings which is just as well as there is nothing in the way of good local places on
this stretch of beach. Ask for Thai spicy if you like it otherwise it will be tourist tasteless, however
you can get good Thai as well as all the Western classics.
Breakfast is good with good choices.
We stayed 10 nights and rate it highly although we will escape to enjoy other places !

Room Tip: the garden rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights at Layana and wishing we had booked for longer. It's no surprise that this is No 1. We were collected from Krabi by the hotels's limo and taken to the ferry where we transferred into the hotel's speedboat and delivered on to the beach in front of the hotel. We were treated like royalty the whole time. We had booked a Garden Pavilion but were upgraded to an Ocean Villa for our last three nights which was lovely. The staff are so friendly and attentive to your needs. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the posts I'd read on Tripadvisor I had high expectations of this hotel. But I'm delighted to say that it didn't disappoint, in fact it was even better than I'd hoped! I can't add anything different to what's been said before, except that I was pleasantly surprised by how reasonably priced the drinks and food were and that they were quoted with tax included. Likewise the Spa was fairly priced and the Signature massage was wonderful. The setting on the beach is beautiful, the rooms are lovely, the service is first class and the whole place has such a tranquil feel about it, I felt that we were in paradise. Attention to detail is often overlooked by other 'luxury' hotels, but not the Layana. Hopefully we'll return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Layana from 14/1/2013 for their 7 night package which was wonderful, it included 7 nights in a Garden Pavillion, (which is more than beautiful, and more private than beach front suites and alot less expensive) breakfast every day and dinner each night at Tides which was always amazing like a 5 star restaurant in Australia! Good choices and of course excellent friendly service.

The package also included two 90 minute massages at the Linger Longer spa, which were very good and a 4 island snorkling trip with the most wonderful crew of 3 guys. Many thanks to Kaek and crew for making it so easy for me to access the boat, it made my day!
It also included an evening cruise through the mangroves where we saw lots of monkeys jumping from trees into the water to get the bread rolls the boys were throwing over to them. It was very nice to watch and staff continually served beer, wine, soft drink and nice finger food, it was really enjoyable.

We were picked up from Rawai beach where we spent the previous 6 nights and to our surprise we were transported in the most amazing black hyundi limozine, with iced water, cold towels, leather reclining seats, TV, DVD, and stereo. Boy oh boy did we feel special! The driver was lovely, spoke good english, and stopped during the 4 hour trip incase we needed to use a bathroom.
We arrived at the peir then transfered to the Layana boat (which was lovely) to the beach at the front of the resort where we were greated by 4 staff including the manager Stephan. We were then escourted to a buggy and taken directly to our room where the georgous young lady handled our check in promptly whilst we had a nice cool drink, this was much nicer than hanging around in the lobby. All information about the resort was explained clearly and the garden pavillion was beyond expectation, no need to upgrade, then we went to the pool for a swim and as soon as the pool boys see you they usher you to beach chairs and bring you iced water, the pool is very nice and looks over the ocean.

Happy hour is good, as it is 50% off! You can sit for 2 hours sipping cocktails and watching the lovely sunsets, then move over to Tides for an amazing dinner. The staff were always friendly and very efficent and the happy atmosphere is a credit to Stephan and his team as it certainly shows at every level of the resort.

The only problem l had (which is common in Thailand) was the very hard bed! The next morning as soon as l mentioned it, housekeeping put a mattress pillow top on the bed and it was wonderful, nothing was ever to much trouble at Layana and the managers were always aroung chatting to the guests. Stephan always attends the evening cruise and gets to know everyone! He is genuine and makes everyone feel special.

The beach is very clean, as the boys rake the area regulary. They put your towels on the beach beds for you, put the umbrellas up and continually are there to serve you anything you may want.

On the beach area Layana own, there are 2 nice massage huts they operate, it only costs 400 THB for a 1 hour thai massage. l had the foot massage for the same price and it incorpoated a short neck and shoulder massage.

There are other huts further up the beach, but don't go there as they do not change the linen between clients which is a health risk.

The gardens at Layana are immaculate! As is everything else.

We highly recommend this resort and would not hesitate to encourage people to go there!

We would go back next week if we could.

Room Tip: Only book the Garden Pavillion, as it is more cost effective, beautiful and the resort is small, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layana Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.