We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we just kept going back....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kantiang Restaurant

Kantiang Restaurant
261 Moo 5 | Ba Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta, Thailand
+66 80 192 8037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 200 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ba Kantiang Restaurant is the best! Owned and run by the lovely Pi-On and his family, this is a real Thai restaurant that all the locals eat at. Offering a range of authentically prepared Thai dishes
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“we just kept going back....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We ate here 4 times during our week in Kantiang Bay. It helped that the restaurant was next to where we were staying but the real reason was that it was so very good. Don't be put off by the look of the place; it was the best Thai food we had on our trip. The flavours were exquisite. There were over 100 dishes to choose from; it is not surprising they occasionally ran out of ingredients. No dish cost more than 120 baht (£2.30) and a large beer was just 90 baht. If you go at a busy time, be prepared to wait.

The covered tables out front were airy and had a view of the troop of monkeys in the trees opposite. It was also quite fun being with the locals watching soap operas on tv in the semi-covered area inside. Good service, nice owner.

The restaurant calls itself the Kantiang, not the Ba Kantiang. When we asked in the village for it by the Ba Kantiang name, people did not understand. It is 5 minutes walk south from the village centre.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Probably the best food in Kantiang bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Definitely give this place a try if you're in Kantiang bay. Everything we ordered was seriously good especially the Penang curry which was the best I've had. The prices are so cheap it's worth ordering a few dishes to try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This restaurant was really good, one of my favorites in Thailand. Its also very cheap. The menu is extensive, so we ordered a bunch of dishes to try them out, and basically enjoyed almost everything we tried. They even gave us some free fruit for dessert. The restaurant is located another 3 or 4 min south of the 7-11, up a little hill. Was the only restaurant that had a waiting list for dinner, so that tells you how popular it is.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were introduced to this restaurant by our dive instructors.
The food was really reasonably priced and really tasty.
The staff were really really friendly and were happy to accommodate us even though we arrived as they were closing.
We ate here several times and I will return next time we head back to Lanta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food for people not in a hurry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

And if your are on holiday - why would you be in a hurry?

Lovely welcome. The food often comes out dish by dish - you do know it has been freshly cooked! And if they are busy you may wait for some time for the first dish to appear. Don't worry, the drinks and food are cheaper than chips and you having fun.

You must try at least once during your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantiang Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Kantiang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kantiang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.