We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nong Cat

Nong Cat
162 Moo 1 Ban Saladan | Ko Lanta, 81150 Krabil, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
+66 75 668 254
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 200 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Nong Cat Restaurant is away from Saladans busy roads in a lush tropical green garden. Enjoy your favorit dishes in a newly furnished Thai style restaurant with friendly atmosphere. Discover the taste of a Barracuda carpaccio, a beef filet steak or a delicious duck breast. Our Thai cuisine chef is also well known for high class Thai food dishes. At Nong Cat Restaurant you can taste the difference - all dishes prepared without preservatives. The bar offers a good selection of spirits and beers.
Ko Chang, Thailand
1 review
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just special. Just better. The chef really knows how to blend spices to make the dishes delicious,using good fresh ingredients. The owner is always in attendance. The properly multi lingual and charming staff make eating at this restaurant a real pleasure.
Nong Cat is situated in Saladan, in a garden setting by the side of the new market. Seek it out ! The German owner runs a spotless establishment. The prices are reasonable. You will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and simple food in a gorgeous setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very pleasant atmosphere, seating, and lighting. We ate on a lovely patio with well behaved and cute house cats and dogs. We had phad thai, fried rice - there were vegetarian options and we were able to communicate with staff about our dietary preferences. Also had a delicious mango shake. Prices were very good - dinner for two including two non-alcoholic beverages was less than 300 baht.

This place is tucked away down an alley off the main road in Saladan. It is clearly marked from the road though and well worth a visit!

Delicious! Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Best thai food ever! Staff was very friendly and peacefull location. Low price's for this kind of food! Also menu was very wide.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best grilled barracuda I've ever tried”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've had a lot of barracuda, but this was the best. They a dish with alternating layers or mashed potatoes, spinach, and fresh grilled barracuda filets all covered in a decadent cream sauce. highly recommend just for that dish :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaetanKoLantaYai, Owner at Nong Cat, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Such a lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Nong Cat is a lovely, small restaurant in Koh Lanta Yai Island.
We were treated with kind and friendly service so we came back many times during our trip.
Great (european and thai) food, best fruit shakes, great late breakfast, clean and cozy place - Best restaurant in northern part of the island. We´ll definitely come back on our next trip :)

J&J

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaetanKoLantaYai, Owner at Nong Cat, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We wish you a healthy and successful year 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nong Cat also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Nong Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nong Cat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.