We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay (best shower you'll have in thailand)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Non La Mer Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Non La Mer Hostel to your Saves list
Non La Mer Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   305/4-5 Moo 3, Long Beach (Phra-Ae beach ) | near Government Savings Bank Phra-Ae, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 49 Reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay (best shower you'll have in thailand)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved it here! The staff and owner were the best, so friendly always having chats with us and socializing. The rooms are big and clean, with places to store luggage which is very rare. The shower areas are really nicely decorated, water pressure on the shower was so good - something I'd been craving my whole trip. They let you use the chill out area (bean bags, huge TV) as long as you want, when we wanted to relax, along with a few other customers we got a take out from next door (amazing curries) and watched one of the films on the owners hard drive. Location wasn't the best but we hired mopeds (from the hostel) and getting anywhere was no bother.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
3
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Moved here after 3 nights at Chillout House (which was lovely and friendly also!) and the a/c was definitely needed! All the staff were very accommodating and helpful, not least when I hit my head when drunk and started bleeding out of my ear!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

great vibes here. girls who run it are so friendly, such a nice welcome when you've been travelling for a while to get to Koh Lanta. We would have stayed much longer but the weather has forced us to relocate. I always thought people who complain about bed hardness were being prissy but these beds truly are rock solid but not a trip ruiner.
Pricey in comparison to other hostels in the area but the common area is worth it :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great hostel, very friendly staff - the girls are amazing! Very easy and short way to the beach. I would definitly recommend this hostel! Also the common areas are very comfy and everything is absolutely clean.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in non la mer. It is well located, a 10 minute walk from the beach. There are many restaurants close by as well as ATMs and bars.
The hostel was very clean and comfortable. There is a huge selection of films available to watch in the common area for anyone in need if a break from the sun!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I was there on sept 2013 and i had a really great stay! The staff is over charming and always smiling, they speak perfect english and will help you the best they can. The place itself is clean and tidy, there's a fan living room with big screen Tv with lots of divx. You can eat, smoke and meet other travellers there. The breakfast included is simple but they have nice and fresh wholewheat bread every morning. As it says it is not by the beach but honestly it´s like 3 min walk away from nice long beach! I will book again at this place if i ever go back to Lanta (which is definitely a island you want to check if you want something more genuine and non touristic).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

After having spent the last 20 months travelling around the globe I feel like I'm a good judge of a hostel ( I've literally stayed in hundreds ) and Non La Mer is as good as it gets..... Especially for Asia. The staff are very helpful, fun and friendly. The common room is amazing. The dorms are well set out, spacious and very comfortable. I could not recommend this place any more. Stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Non La Mer Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Non La Mer Hostel

Address: 305/4-5 Moo 3, Long Beach (Phra-Ae beach ) | near Government Savings Bank Phra-Ae, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Non La Mer Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception open time: 07:00 - 20:00. - Check in Time: 14:00 - Check out Time: 12:00 - Guest must be age over 15 years. - For A/C dorm. Air con available between 18:00 - 09:00 of the next day. Please make sure what type of dorm you had booked, fan dorm or air con dorm - We provided free drinking water whole day. Please take your own personal container to refill it. - Common fridge & microwave are provided. - No elevator please enjoy stair. - Hot shower will be provide in the share bathroom at 2nd floor. - No Shoes inside our property, Please... - Hostel accepts Thai BAHT only ( ATM machine is available the ground floor of the hostel ) - No curfew. Door will be closed at 21.00 , please bring key card with you. - Guest has to drop the deposit for electric key card for THB 200.- - Towel deposit THB 100.- and rent THB 40.- / pcs. but we appreciated if guest can arrange by their own and it will be returned to guest when check out. - For multiple of group booking, we guarantee for the bed in dorm only. That's not guarantee you will be in the same dorm. But we will try our best subject to available. - Guest must settle the full payment covered the period of staying before check-in. - Cancellation policy must be notify us by writing in advance 72hrs before original arrival date, otherwise the cost of cancellation at 2 nights will be charged and cannot be refund or waived. For any cancellation booking period stay from 20 Dec until 20 Jan ( Peak Season ), If cancellation less than 73 hrs by email us - FULL amount will be charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Non La Mer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Non La Mer Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.