We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Klapa Klum- secluded, delicious, delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klapa Klum Restaurant & Bar

Klapa Klum Restaurant & Bar
South End Klong Khong Beach, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 200 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Klapa Klum- secluded, delicious, delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

i must first state that I have been patronizing this restaurant and bar, one of the truly classic and most well-known places on Lanta, since the first day I ever set foot on Koh Lanta slightly over 4 1/2 years ago; this is now their 3rd location in that period of time; now and for the foreseeable future they have built themselves a beautiful establishment way on the still secluded extreme southern end of funky Klong Khong Beach.
it is a great romantic spot to watch Sunset, although that can be said of many places on Klong Khong Beach, which is really the best sunset beach in general because of the rocks & reef
their food is delicious, although not completely consistent... They have always been regarded as having the best pizza on the island, and i would have to agree, 99 times out of 100 (literally that many times having eaten or partied there in my case)- although once i got one of the worst pizzas i've ever had...
On the whole their food is amongst the best you'll find on the beach,
which is not noted for really great restaurants-
although looks like another serious one is opening soon mid-Klong Khong Beach...
their northeastern Thai (Isan) foods are seriously delicious,
and truly rank with the best on the island
The larb is outstanding, and you can't go wrong with their Thai menu...
Full selection of exotic tropical drinks, and one of the best Mai-Tais i've ever tasted!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great cocktails and food, best sunsets, friendly staff, nice decoration. Usually calm and relaxing also hosts some more private parties

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Castaway island feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the beautiful island of Koh Lanta. Imagine our dismay when we discovered our favourite bar and restaurant was not on Long Beach, but after a few inquiries we found they had moved to the next bay Klong Khong beach.
We rented a scooter the next day and found them, it is well sign posted on the main road (look out for Thip House)
Klapa Klum is hidden away directly on a deserted beach nothing around but a perfect beach with just a few local fishermen tending their nets.
It has still kept its quirky castaway island elements and they have traditional thai bamboo loungers on the edge of the beach so you can sip their wonderful cocktails looking out on the most perfect bay. So romantic.
Ae and Cedric the owners are most welcoming and the food is amazing, very cheap too. Music brilliant .
On this beach there is no passing trade so I just hope people will make the effort and find them. You won't be disappointed.
Looking forward to seeing them next year, good luck Ae

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the best place after home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

at Klapa Klum you can listen to very different and unique music, that is rarely found in most other places. In the daytime the best thing is the artistically made decoration that makes you think you are in a castaway-Hollywood-movie - just great atmosphere. Partys are great, music is electronic, sometimes live, never boring.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the most romantic place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Since years I am a passionate visitor of the Klapa Klum Bar. Recently moved to the South End Klong Khong Beach you really get the impression of what native paradise means: getting there by a relaxed walk on the beach or following a sign from the street (or just ask for Klapa Klum Bar) you find a hidden place where you can directly enjoy the most impressive sunsets, while listening to the best electronic beats, just hanging around, chatting with Cedric and Ae, the friendly bar owners and enjoying the fresh prepared shakes and cocktails or even more a great dinner, the cook is prepared to fulfill special requests.
The bar is equipped with so many lovely and funny details that just sitting around gives you the impression of being on an adventure trip through the island.
Every wednesday night there is a great party, on Sunday evening 8pm. the possibility of listening to various live music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klapa Klum Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Klapa Klum Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klapa Klum Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.