We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, quiet, relaxing haven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Panorama Bungalow to your Saves list
Panorama Bungalow
108 Moo 7 Baan Sang Ka Ou | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 75 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Oxford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet, relaxing haven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were staying on Ko Lanta for 2 weeks, so decided to spend a week on the 'livelier' side of the island, and a week on the quieter side. Although our first week was actually very relaxing as Ko Lanta is a very pleasant, not too busy island, we are certainly glad we decided to stay at Panorama Bungalows! The owners are wonderful people, always happy to chat to you and help you out. We stayed in a sea-view bungalow which was very large and is open fronted out towards the sea and a nearby island. We rose with the sun and went to bed early as it is so peaceful. Showering in the morning with a view of the sun rising was wonderful! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have absolutely loved our stay at Panorama Bungalows!
The owners, Jack and his wife, are so great, you immediately feel as if you were family members...The rooms are very clean and nice, the 2 bungalows have a wonderful view on the sea and a lovely balcony from which you can observe your private sunrise... The way the whole building has been constructed, make you feel in levitation above the sea. The restaurant terrace is also a great place to hang out. and serves delicious food, fresh from the market every day. The surrounding jungle is filled with birds, the friendly gekos protect the guests from insects...
Panorama is situated away from the crowd, which is great if you want to rest, enjoy the beautiful view and reconnect with nature. It is possible to rent a motorbike for 200 TBH and explore the island (it is easy as the island is relatively flat and the roads are good).
To get there from the pier you can take a tuk-tuk (the NORMAL price is of 700 THB). The best option is to contact the guesthouse 24-48 hours in advance, they will pick you up from the pier for just 500THB.
We can only recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

All I wanted was a quiet place to read a book, to eat some good honest Thai food and a basic accommodation for 15 days.
In that exact order.
What I got was a little peace of paradise.

How to get there.
The Panorama restaurant & bungalows can be found on the east side of Ko Lanta.
This is the side that faces the mainland of Thailand.
It's 26 km from Saladan pier and located right in between Old Town and Sangka U (Sea gypsy village).
It will take you 35 minutes to get there by taxi and will cost you at least 600 bath depending on the season and your bargaining skills.
For the more adventurous there's also the possibility to take a tuk tuk.
This is however not really recommended and it will only be marginally cheaper.
All taxi drivers should have a map were the Panorama restaurant is indicated.
Just make sure they know exactly where you are going before you get in.
The best option to get there however is to simply contact the Panorama in advance and they will pick you up at the Ko Lanta pier for a small fee.
In advance does NOT mean on arrival.
It means at least 1 day before your arrival.
You will not find a cheaper and more comfortable option to get there unless you like walking very much.
Just remember that when you are walking to the Panorama make sure that the sea is always on your lefthand side and that all the lights go out at 6:30h PM.

What to expect.
There are several room options but I only stayed in the seaview bungalow.
This bungalow consist of one large room with kingsize bed, a closet and a table.
The toilet and shower are ensuite but in a separate section divided by a door.
There is a fan that you will hardly ever use because of the almost constant sea breeze that functions as a natural airco.
A mosquito net is provided and protects you efficiently against mosquitos and other creepy crawlers.
If you don't like to share your room with nature DO NOT come to the Panorama bungalows.
Lizards and gekko's will keep you company during you stay and will help to keep the bugs away.
The shower and toilet provide an open view of the sea without exposing you too much to the fishing boats passing by
The showers are COLD water only.
Tip: take a shower just after sunrise. The combination of the cold water with the hot sun rays creates an unique feeling enhanced by the magnificent view.
There's also a little terras from where you can enjoy the view in the morning, during the day, in the evening and even at night.
To get to the bungalows you will need to go down several steep steps.
This might be a problem for some older people or people with knee or other similar problems.
The restaurant has a good selection of Thai food with some western dishes as well.
Please eat Thai food when in Thailand specially when the food is as good as in the Panorama restaurant.
Not only are the classics like Pad Thai, Tom Yum, Papaya Salad, etc excellent but all the food is prepared from organic products and fish, seafood, chicken and meat are also locally bought.
This means that sometimes there's 'no catch of the day' because the local fisherman had a bad day and nothing was caught.
You will get brown rice and brown bread because they care about what you eat.
Laundry services, motorcycle rental and tour desk are also provided at very competitive prices.

What you could not possibly have expected but will get nevertheless.

Come with a positive energy and you will find yourself invited into the little family of Jack and Hua and their staff.
They will do everything within their power to make your stay a beautiful and unforgettable experience.
During my stay the food I ordered was not only made to satisfy my specific needs but they also introduced me to new dishes that were not on the menu but of which Jack and Hua were thinking that I would like them.
They were right on every single occasion.

You will not only have the opportunity to drink excellent coffee grown and roasted by Jack' sister in Chiang Mai but you will also have the opportunity to taste the delicious homemade brownies.
Not your typical Thai dish, I know, but very hard to resist once you've tried them.

A good service for me is all in the details.
Details like providing complementary Herbal tea, offering rides to the market or massage, sharing all kind of little snacks, showing a real interest in you as a fellow human being and generally just looking out for you.
Jack goes to sleep when all his guest are safe in their rooms and he will be there in the morning if you need anything.
As a guest they will always try to provide you with the best and cheapest options for tours or transfer.
For people who are willing to listen they are also a very valuable source of information that goes way beyond Ko Lanta.
Just have a talk with them and listen.
You don't have to know Thai for this because Jack and Hua speak better English then most non native English speakers I know and better than some native English speakers to.
Should you be a foodie like me you probably will end up having long conversations with Hua because she's sort of a food guru.

I should not forget to mention the staff.
You will not be served by professionally trained waiters but by local young people who are eager to serve you fast with refreshing drinks and delicious food.
Their English might not be so good but my Thai is non-existing and they do make an real effort to make you feel at home.
So just be grateful for their efforts and remember that we, the tourists are the visitors.
Hint: all tipping will be divided by the staff and will be appreciated.

Last but not least I want to give a special shout out to the 3 guards and protectors of the Panorama bungalows.
Good job guys!!!
So if you don't like dogs I would advise to look for another place.

I realize that this review sounds a little bit too good to be true but my experience at the Panorama actually was exactly that.
Too good to be true but nevertheless very very true.

Thank you Jack, Hua, Nutty, Kael, Meena, Paula and Orn (also Omelette, Fried Egg and Oyster, guess who these are?) for sharing your little peace of paradise with me and making my stay an unforgettable experience.
I'll be back! :)

PS.
When staying in the Panorama please try to avoid asking: 'Where am I?' Check the map first!
Please take of your shoes when entering the restaurant :)
And don't forget: You are what and how you eat? So eat healthy, chew well, don't drink cold water and enjoy the company.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We came across this place by chance on here. We originally booked for 2 nights and as soon as we arrived we were welcomed like part if the family. Jack and hue could not of made our stay any better. We booked to stay in a room but also had the opportunity to stay in a bungalow for 2 nights extra. Both rooms were amazing and we could not say either were better. Jack also went out of his way to take us for a Thai massage and to try some local food. This is the best place we have stayed in Thailand and would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's a little over 4km past old lanta and the views are amazing to wake up to. If you have the chance to try it then do so. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We booked 1 night and ended up staying for 3.

It's a beautiful, very quiet spot set in isolation on the south eastern coast of the island. The location is beautiful, serene and peaceful - unlike the islands northern tip. The early sunsets are incredible and can be viewed from every bedroom and the restaurant terrace, which sits highest on the coastal hillside.

Rooms are very basic - open walled windows which make for great sea breezes and views, but also serve as an open invitation to visitors of the night - lizards etc - but we love all that! Each bed does come with a mosquito net too though, so no need to use your own.

Restaurant is great - delicious local cuisine.

Location is stunning, but very remote. Best to have your own means of transport to explore the island and it's beaches. Jack the owner, will rent a moped for you gladly and exceptionally reasonably priced. He also has a truck/ taxi which he'll gladly ferry guests around in, for a small fee.

Gorgeous location, great for exploration of The Old Town, great food, exceptional hospitality. Would definitely advise a visit here, to anyone seeking a little calm in the mayhem found elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved our stay at Panorama and could have spent months there! The moment we rode up and saw the view from the restaurant, my entire consciousness shifted into a state of calm and relaxation. It overlooks the water and islands surrounding. It is so quiet there and surrounded by jungle. The owner Jack became like our loving uncle, chatting with us, sharing advice, and serving us his herbal calming tea. We loved connecting with him and felt well taken care of. The food at the restaurant is very good... and you can eat and look at the calming water... so peaceful. Our room overlooked the wAter too. The bed was on of the most comfortable in Asia so far.

Panorama is a ways away from the pier, about 40 minutes on scooter. It is definitely worth it. Just go right down the alley from the pier and rent a scooter. Ours costed 300baht for 3 days. The calm experience won't be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, but wished we had stayed longer. The guesthouse is on the quieter side of the island which was perfect for us as we had been traveling for a while. all of the rooms had an amazing sea view and were very clean.The room is open, so when night falls, bugs can fly in if the light is on, but this didn't bother us at all as there was a very secure mosquito net over the bed. The guesthouse owners really made an effort to look after us, the food is homemade and delicious and just the overall feel of the place just made us feel like welcome customers. We would fully recommend this guesthouse and would/will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panorama Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Bungalow

Address: 108 Moo 7 Baan Sang Ka Ou | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Panorama Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.