We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of may's kitchen

may's kitchen
pra ae | ko lanta yai, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 218 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food and servicewere tremendous, ate their many times. One of the few places where you can actuall watch the food being prepared and cooked. A must on Ko Lanta!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    66
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really good and honest Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I spent a week exploring Ko Lanta and nowhere else I found Thai food as good as here. This is an unpretentious place, but the food beats any upmarket restaurant I have been to in Thailand. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere is great because most of the clients are regulars who live on the islands, and everyone knows each other. They will still welcome you with a smile on your first time here.

It is also very inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Simple cheap food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I really donot understand all the "excellent" reviews. The choice of the menucard is not great, simple thai food only.
Of course it is a cheap place and that might be the reason, but there are much better and more comfortable places to dine out on Ko Lanta.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellisa B, Manager at may's kitchen, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Lentravel
I think you are confusing us with another May's (May's Restaurant and Bar in Klong Dao), as our menu is extensive (over 80 different options). this may be why you are confused with our other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“excellent thai food and cheaper than many places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Although the setting is not great,as you are on the main road the food made up for that. We had some really tasty Thai food here and the fact that there is a bar next door where they get your drinks from is great, as you could get anything. The mojitos where one of the best and at 80 baht were amazingly cheap. Would have gone back if we had more days on koh Lanta.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I had dinner there, amazing food and pretty good value. Wanted to go there another time but they were on holiday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed may's kitchen also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to may's kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage may's kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.