We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cozy Guesthouse

Cozy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cozy Guesthouse to your Saves list
Cozy Guesthouse
242/9 Moo 2, Phra Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Cosy for 3 nights! Great location as the beach is 5 minutes walk. The beds were the comfiest we have had on our travels and we slept really well! We had the orange room which was great as we sat in the balcony and watched the sunset! Just fantastic! The owners were friendly and very helpful and breakfast was good! What more could you ask for! Koh Lanta is truly beautiful can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kangasala, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Our group was 5 adults and 1 chlld. We had green,blue and orange rooms. We stayed 7 days and we were quite pleased. First couple of days internet didn´t work very well but that issue was fixed. Room cleaning only when asking that from stuff even "Make up room,please" sign was hanging door handle but that was very small problem to us :) We recommend to book Orange room. Room is bright and spacious with nice view. No smells and noises. Also blue room was looking very nice and fresh but maybe little more noise from street. Good beds and pillows.

-Jaakko

Room Tip: Orange room with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed at Cozy guesthouse for 4 nights in the orange room. We were made to feel really welcome on arrival and the room was lovely with a balcony looking out over the sea. The guesthouse is in a great location with bars, restaurants and the beautiful long beach close by.

All was going well until the evenings where what I can only imagine is every Swede on the island came to party and watch hockey. This wouldn’t have bothered us but in order to exit the guesthouse, you have to walk through the bar and on most nights the bar was jam packed with people sat down on the floor watching the game. We literally had to climb over people just to exit the place and faced a whole stream of people who refused to move out of the way and gave disgusted looks at us wanting to get past them. This made us feel pretty unwelcome in our own home from home and we were pleased to be moving on by the end of our stay.

The staff also arranged a motorbike hire during our stay and we were pretty disappointed to be given a broken helmet which didn’t even have a strap to attach to your head.

Room Tip: The orange room is spacious with a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We stayed in the red room. Small, cozy, great bed. Loud sometimes due to owners kids running around making noise starting in the morning. So not well insulated from noise so don't expect a romantic room since you can hear the kitchen people talking next to your room. . Also the owners don't seem to be quite with it all the time as were unavailable when we wanted certain things.

The place looked new and very clean, no bugs. At the bar the staff was really helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Our stay here was spoiled by the room we stayed in. The sea view rooms advertised on the website look stunning however we were given the 'Red Room' - a room at the back of the guesthouse with no windows to the outside, directly in front of the kitchen. The room was dark, noisy and very small. We were woken by kitchen noises at 6am for breakfast and kept awake until the kitchen closed at gone 11pm.
With a double bed pushed up against a wall and not enough room for 2 people to pass each other this room was really suited to a single guest wanting a low cost room with no luxury. With the door left open all day, the room was absolutely crawling with mosquitos on our arrival and with no mosquito nets, I was covered in bites within an hour.
Credit to the Swedish owners, they fixed the shower within an hour of us mentioning it was broken but I felt a little cheated that they were offering this room to guests without any images of it on their website - I came expecting a lovely sea view room and was left thoroughly disappointed.
Their small bar restaurant offered lovely food and the friendly bar staff gave this guesthouse a good atmosphere.
I have no doubt our stay would have been very different had we been staying in one of the rooms with a sea view - Cozys is close to some lovely little restaurants and plenty of bars and just a 2 minute walk from the beach. It does have the potential to be a great stay at a low cost.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'Red Room' if you want a little luxury on your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona F, Ägare at Cozy Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 10, 2014
Dear Sophie,

First of all I must tell you how sorry we are that you were not satisfied with your stay.

A good advice if this ever happens to you again is to address the matter right away and give the staff/owners a chance to come up with a solution to make you happy. According to what I understand you never told us about your issues and when our staff asked you when you check out if everything was ok, you had no complaints. Please correct me if I am wrong.

Please let me give you my thoughts of your comments:

* You booked 2 nights in our cheapest room, the CLASSIC room, through Agoda where it clearly says "No view".

* The picture with great seaview that you refer to is exactly as you write, from the Seaview Room.

* About noise from the kitchen at 6 AM: Our staff starts at 8.30 so I am not sure what caused the noise that bothered you, but I am happy you raised our attention to this matter.

* About mosquitos: the door to the Red Room is always closed and I am not sure from where you got the impression that it had been open the whole day as you arrived late at night.
There are no mosquito nets in any of our rooms as they all have airconditioning. We have not had any trouble before with guests having mosquito bites but I am very sorry this happened to you.

* The room is small but I don´t agree "with no luxury": the room has comfortable bed, smart-tv, airconditioning, refrigerator and hot shower.


We appriciate your comments and will do our best to improve what can be improved.
We hope to see you again, in our Seaview Room this time :) Very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I travelled to Koh Lanta with my girlfriend. We booked the Cozy Guesthouse online the night before as the reviews were positive and seemed like an ideal place to stay for a few nights. The Swedish owners both greeted us upon arrival and we immediately felt a warm homely feel. We had the green room which was large, had a king sized bed and a felt a touch luxurious but was made very affordable by the fact we were a couple sharing. Matt the barman from Manchester definitely deserves a shout out as he was super helpful and friendly and had lots of good advice. All in all, a lovely stay.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

We stayed for 10 nights at Cozy and it was a very good stay for us.
Location is quite Close to the Long Beach /Phra Ae Beach. You will find 7/11 right next door and the staff is very nice and helpful regarding booking tours or general questions.

We had a very spacious AC room, with sea-view(last few Days) including a big balcony.

We'd stay here definitely again.

Thanks for the very nice time we had!!

Room Tip: Seaview Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cozy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Guesthouse

Address: 242/9 Moo 2, Phra Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home for the discerning traveller, Cozy mixes classic Thai decor with the comforts of modern living in a way that is sure to keep you coming back. Located minutes from the picturesque Phra Ae beach and comprised of three individually styled double bedrooms with en suite bathroom. Balcony and a stylish bar/dining area. Cozy is designed to deliver good comfort and cater to your every need from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cozy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozy Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.