We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.Best steak ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ling Uan (Fat Monkey)

Ling Uan (Fat Monkey)
Klong Dao Road, Ko Lanta 11518, Thailand
+66-878865017
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 218 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A spacious bar and restaurant set by the road midway down the Klong Dao. Serving Classical Thai cuisine as well as half pound homemade burgers, Italian pizza and fresh pasta & salads. The dining area and bar are set amongst tropical plants and fish ponds. The perfect place to enjoy a great meal or relax with a delicious cocktail. Space for large groups and child friendly.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food.Best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We came upon this place by chance.1st night just for a drink, but we saw the food and the kitchen and decided to eat there the next night .We were not disappointed .My husband had a steak which is the best we have ever eaten in quality of meat and the cooking of it! (we have eaten steak in many countries) I had a spicy Thai fish dish .Can't remember the name. Was excellent! Very good value for money.£4.00 and the steak was £8.00.Back home the steak easily 3 times the price.
Staff friendly and service excellent Food actually came out together which is rare in Thailand. that's probably due to having a Thai and western kitchen.
Would recommend highly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    38
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best burgers !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you are looking for a choice of 'Thai' or 'Western' on Klong Dao beach, look no further than ' Ling Uan'. I have eaten here several times can recommend the super burgers ( fab choice ) the pizza and the red thai curry extra spicey was perfect ! Presentation is also impressive and you can watch the chefs hard at work form the bar. Beers are cold and cocktails are yummy.
It can get pretty busy but the bar area is pleasant if you want to have a drink, chat with the other patrons there and then go to your table. I have yet to choice a dessert, they look scrumptious, but have never found the space for it ! Enjoy !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice decoration, rest medium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

while walking during the village one evening we saw the restaurant and as decoration looks good and on tripadvisor we found good ratings we decided to stop by - even we saw already in the ratings its mainly for burgers and tourists

hence we ordered us starter and two burgers (one beef, one chicken)
the burgers were ok (not wow as people wrote), but the service was really poor (as we could see also for others - maybe boss was not here as we read in other reviews)
- drinks 2 times forgotten, food came before drinks
- bill and change took more than 10 min
- sample: two tables further a pillow from the seat fall on the floor, instead of pick up the waiter stepped on it, other waitress than picked up

price was higher than other restaurants on Lanta, but this was expected from other reviews

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great burgers, pastas, pizzas, cocktails and whiskies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great relaxed atmosphere and food to match. The bar is designed in a clever way that makes it easy to meet and chat with other customers. There is an extensive collection of drinks especially whiskies and the snickers cocktail is a must for anyone with a sweet tooth. The Spanish style burger was genuinely one of the best I have tasted. We went back again and had the pasta which was also superb. This place deserves its reputation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Starters were ok, satay chicken, deep fried beef & papaya salad ask for it to be spicy but it wasn't.
Ordered massaman curry with chicken, it was too oily, & pork with garlic and pepper, both were lacking in flavour, spice and seasoning.
The only meals on our holiday which we didn't want to finish.
Had cocktails before starters which had far too much ice, after 2 minutes the drink becomes a watered down version of what you ordered. These very cheap.
Service wasn't great either.
Many better restaurants within a short walk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ling Uan (Fat Monkey) also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Ling Uan (Fat Monkey)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ling Uan (Fat Monkey), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.