We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only came for directions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish Embassy Pub

The Irish Embassy Pub
233 Moo 2 Phra Ae, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
+66 89 472 0464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 218 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Irish, Fish & Chips, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Irish Embassy is a cosy little taste of home in the tropics. Ice cold beer from local brews to international best sellers and a unique Thai'rish fusion menu as well as the best in Western favourites. We try not to do anything we don't know;we know pubs,we know sports and we know music.We hope everyone enjoys what we have tried to create. Check local listings for special nights, such as live music,quiz nights and such. You get the picture - it's like home but the barman is sunburnt!
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We only came for directions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

cracking laugh had at this bar. We had 2 nights on Ko Lanta to escape the canrnage of Phi Phi but ended up having just as much fun on Lanta.

found this bar and went in for a quick beer and within 5 minutes we had been entered into the quiz which was a good laugh! seemed to be 90% locals and ex pats but met a few travellers and had a good night.

has draught beer and although didn;t eat the food looked amazing!

staff decent and hopefully next time the quiz question is 'what is our position on trip advisor' it can get up one.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    50
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“lovely stout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

They serve draught beer here. Love, love the Brains stout. Also very friendly Thai lady who served us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“the best St Patricks Day and real Cider too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had 3 weeks on back on Lanta (love this island) and used this bar often. Did'nt eat this time, went for the Monday night Quiz (great fun) The rugby (3 screens) was brilliant. its a proper *sports on TV place*. Draught beers and cider too. Icing on the cake was St Patricks day, huge effort put in by staff and locals. The Motorbike parade to Saladan and back was an experience to.!!! Proper pub atmosphere and cracking music for everyone. Missed the traditional Sunday lunch :-(. Its a bit of a weekend party pub and more relaxing in the week. Will definately go there again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You just can't miss going to this bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What can I say. A bar which showed the 6 nations games, welcomed the Welsh rugby supporters and served Brains SA. Words fail me!
The owner, Darren - from Offally I think - was a fantastic host.
We visited twice during our Ko Lanta trip and made some great friends on each occassion.
Try this place out guys, particularly to watch Wales beat England this coming weekend to spoil their Triple Crown dream and to retain the championship. Come on Wales and come on Ireland against Italy in Rome...........
PS - didn't eat at the bar so can't comment on the food but what I saw others have looked yummy!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Irish Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent two nights here eating and drinking and the owner i cant remember his name fro Tullamore was good craic and myself and my wife enjoyed him and his polish girlfriends company

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy80, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Cheers horse glad you enjoyed yourselves.i am getting great mileage with my czech missus on the polish comment.come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Embassy Pub also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to The Irish Embassy Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish Embassy Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.