We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great work and very worthwhile cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Animal Welfare

Lanta Animal Welfare
629 Moo. 2, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
+66 84 304 4331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Ko Lanta
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lanta Animal Welfare (LAW) is a non-profit organization based on Ko Lanta. LAW's objective is to relieve the suffering and pain of the animals on the island through sterilisation and care. We are open to visitors everyday from 9am to 5pm when our volunteer staff will happily provide a guided tour of the shelter. We have lots of friendly dogs who would love a long walk and cats who would like a cuddle! The dogs spend their days in grassy outdoor pens, so like everywhere in Thailand, it's best to wear insect/mosquito repellant when visiting. Our major sponsor is Time For Lime bar, restaurant and cooking school, without their valuable support we would not be here.
Thalang District, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great work and very worthwhile cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great to meet the dogs, they all looked happy, well looked after and in great condition! Allowed to meet any of the dogs and have time with them, they all loved a fuss, met some of the staff and looked round the building, then took denver and pumpkin for a walk on the beach, they seemed to love beeing out and it was a great way to spend part of a day!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    40
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WHITEHORSE
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“visit or donate - or even just like on facebook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

All the staff and volunteers were quite sincerely interested in their work and spent a lot of time with us helping to understand the work they do and introducing us to the animals. It was hard to see the before pictures of the animals and hear about how some people treat animals on the island but this was balanced by the hard work put in by the staff at LAW. We played with kittens and tried very hard to see if we could help by escorting an animal home but it didn't quite jive - maybe next time. Take the time to google Lanta Animal Welfare or like them on facebook - learn about them before you visit - consider being a volunteer to take an animal back as an escort.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place! It was so heartwarming to find a welfare center for the animals on this island. They are doing an amazing job promoting population control through sterilization and taking care of the wounded animals.

Having the chance to take some dogs out for a walk was also great.

I highly recommend a visit if you love animals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“doing a great job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

the animal welfare centre is doing a fantastic job of trying to reduce the amount of unwanted cats and dogs on the island. Injured, sick or just needing to be desexed, the animals come into the centre by all means of travel. They are cared for and some are adopted out to forever homes, whilst some are returned after desexing to live the life theyve always lead. A great organisation. <3

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Krabi, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“People who love animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Heard and read a lot about this place and finally decided to check it out. The first visit to Lanta Animal Velfare made ​​great impression on me: caring volunteers who are trying to help the animals as they can. They deserve in my opinion this respect. Then I came several times and was walking with the animals. They are all different, each with its own character and story but very nice. It would be good if the government helped and contributed money to support the center.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanta Animal Welfare also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Lanta Animal Welfare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Animal Welfare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.