We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart Inn Lanta

Heart Inn Lanta
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heart Inn Lanta to your Saves list
Heart Inn Lanta
259/9 Moo 1, Saladan, Ko Lanta, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good value, we stayed one night as a stopover for travelling because it's near the ferry pier ( a five minute walk). Also it was near all the harbour restaurants, which are on stilts out over the water and a lovely place to sit.
The reception staff spoke very little English but smiled a lot and we got by with some miming.
There was wifi in reception plus 2 computers for free use by guests who hadn't got their own. Rooms were very nicely decorated, clean and had nice furniture. Huge bed, hard like all Thai beds, good quality bed linens and towels. We had aircon and you could leave it on when you popped out as it didn't rely on the door key being in place. We had a TV, fridge and free toiletries. Breakfast was included and was OK - tea/coffee, orange juice, eggs, toast and jam. If you turn left out of the hotel there is a nice beach about 200 metres through a big hotel. We asked for a quiet room and got one out the back overlooking a load of rooftops, but the front ones over the street would be quiet as the road is just a cul-de-sac, these rooms had a little balcony with chairs and had shade all the time as they faced north so I would have one of those next time. We had a few mozzies in the room when we arrived even though it's fairly well sealed but we just "asked" at the front desk and they lent us a spray can to spray the room with, then no problem. Great value at 940 baht incl breakfast.

The bad bits...............
We had room 611, hot shower had no hot water and there was a lot of black soot around the electric switch for the power to the shower. It looked like it had blown out some time ago and had not been fixed. I suspect they will not fix this for a long time. Also there was a lot of water on the floor in the bathroom where they had hosed it down in cleaning it, it took many hours to dry out and I wished (in retrospect) that I had asked them to mop it. Always check your room thoroughly before paying for it !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Got dropped off at the end of the road (20 yards away) by the bus from the mainland. Checked in & went to room, for £20 or whatever I paid was well rewarded, big bed, tv (60 channels) fridge, amazing air-con.

Hotel is near to jetty for transfers to wherever, bars, restaurants.

HIghly recommended & if in Koh Lanta would stay there again, luxury bargain whilst bag-packing!

Room Tip: Booked a room online, got what I was giving; which was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Heart Inn has been my best value hotel stays in decades of travel. Immaculate, large room with balcony and windows, plus a truly hot shower. Minifridge and flat-screen CRT. Free lobby wi-fi, plus two free computers for guests who haven't brought their own. Scrumptious omelette with veggies and hand-squeezed OJ, among other options, for the free breakfast. Over Christmas and New Year's, a remarkably low $33 per night for a double.

While most reviews I had read on Heart Inn were cautiously positive, I had expected much less than I got, considering that beach bungalows in Phi Phi-Lipe-Lanta group usually range from $100 to $200 or more this time of year.

In Lanta, I prefer Saladang, the new port, for its choice of dining options, markets and dive shop access. Plus, there is a perfectly suitable clean beach that visitors almost never use, about 300 metres away.

Back to the hotel: the rooms are spacious, there is plenty of storage space. Note: no safety box in the room, although I can't imagine it will matter. I feel very comfortable with the staff here.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre. My wife uses a gym about 5 km away (250 baht a day). There is a smaller o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

the hotel is located in saladem, just a 5 minuets walk from the ferry station and near 7 eleven and other super markets.
i think the most beautiful beaches are in the south, and its quite a long distance to go there, even if you have a motorbike. i would never take this hotel again, because in the south, the beaches are nicer and restaurants and markets are there also. and you can get rooms for the same price there, even in the high season. just go there....
so what is the advantage!?
the wifi is not really good, so you cant use without disconnected all the time.
the breakfast is very good and included

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

good hotel, cheap, good price nice people.
In the middle off the town, breakfast outsite , good

Room Tip: In front quit, in the back noise from the market and disco in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

After a 2 minute drive from the ferry port you arrive at nothing other than a normal looking guesthouse. But once your inside the staff are wonderful and the rooms are so spacious, modern and clean. The breakfast is nothing special, bu it is included which is a bonus.

Location is neither good nor bar. You are far away from nice beaches and quiet areas, but it's a 10 minute drive to get anywhere.

Only problem is when it hits 10pm its very loud from a kareoke bar or something, and then at 8am there is the loudest speaking from a megaphone!! Very hard to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I think the reason this place is pretty cheap is because the 'tourist dollar' is heading to the bungalows on the main beaches of Koh Lanta, but the hotel is great value - very clean rooms, excellent wifi, cable channels, and literally off an alley to main road of Saladan, where you will find the tour agencies, cafes, etc. Saladan is tiny and very relaxed, with some good seafood restaurants on the pier (2 mins walk from the hotel..).

If you are heading to Koh Lanta for the beaches, bypass Saladan and Klong Dao beach and go for the destinations a little further South where the beaches are beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxed - before coming to Saladan I stayed on Khong Klong beach where the water was pristine and lots of little bars (lit up by lanterns by night) dot the coast. Walking on Khlong Dao beach next to Saladan today, the beach wasn't great, and the water was filled with soap suds and mossy rocks (not a good sign!) and I hear it gets worse when the tide goes out.

You can rent a scooter for a day anywhere on the island, but for those not too keen on that, the standard rate for jumping on a taxi-truck or scooter is 100 baht from Saladan to the beaches and vice versa.

In short, a really good budget hotel if you want to stay in Saladan for a night or two, but if you are looking for a beach vacation, head south.

Room Tip: Any hotel or tour agency will arrange transport from Koh Lanta direct by mini-van/car ferry to Krabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart Inn Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Inn Lanta

Address: 259/9 Moo 1, Saladan, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heart Inn Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart Inn Lanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.