We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok not great though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Long Beach Chalet to your Saves list
Long Beach Chalet
472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 75 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ok not great though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed with a friend in November. We had come from a beautiful resort in Koh Phi Phi which was our first mistake. The chalet were very basic. We did not like the fact that the bathroom was not connected to the main room which meant that you had to go outside to use the washroom.
The worst part were the bugs - the mosquitoes were awful. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay I guess it could be ok but I personally would not go back. There was also not much close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBCmanager, Owner at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Thank you so much for your time in writing a review for us, we greatly appreciate it. However, it has dawned on me that you may not realise that it is the LOW SEASON during the time of your stay with us, as oppose to the stay you had back in November in Koh Phi Phi, which is during the HIGH SEASON. We also have left a kind reminder 'note' in all of our guests' rooms to notify that during the time of their stay please DO EXPECT 'not such a pleasant' stay as it is during the monsoon seasons of the island. Most if not all of the shops and restaurants will be closed for business, hence 'There was not much close by', and tours will be cancelled or closed due to drastic weather out in the open sea. Bugs and mosquitoes on the other hand is inevitable on ANY ISLAND and ANYWHERE in Thailand. Regardless we have tried and will keep on trying our best to overcome and control such issues based on your review.

Also, on our website we have CLEARLY stated that the bathrooms to the STANDARD & DELUXE garden Loft rooms all have SEPARATE bathrooms. It is actually what makes us 'different' to other resorts, (good different/ bad different is primarily based on personal tastes).

The only rooms that has attached bathroom is our SUPERIOR garden lofts which is our biggest and therefore most expensive room. Please kindly take into precise considerations of the details of what each of our room offers before making bookings in the future (with any hotel), to prevent getting disappointed in the future.


Regards,

Long Beach Chalet MGT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    60
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
165
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We absolutely loved Long Beach Chalet. It was been one of our favourite stays in our entire three week trip around Thailand. The chalets are great and really nicely designed with easy access to the pool which is lovely and very clean. We started in chalet 4 and it had a great view of the pool. The beach is about a 5 'minute walk away from the hotel. We went during low season so a lot of the beach restaurants were closed but there were still some open. I would really recommend watching the sunset from the beach, its truly beautiful. For good local cuisine I can recommend Mr Greens which is a bout a 5 minute ride away in a tuk tuk. Its cheap and very tasty. the local Restuarant at Long Beach chalet is pretty good but slightly more expensive but the portions are large. Breakfast was great with plenty of variety. I recommend you hire a scooter from the hotel and explore the island, it's a great way to spend the day. Overall the staff go out of their way to help you and the travel desk is very helpful. If you stay here you will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Chalet 4 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in early May and absolutely loved it! We had a superior chalet overlooking the pool (A2) which came with breakfast each morning as well. It was booked as our ‘cheap’ week of holiday but we were so pleasantly surprised with the quality of the rooms, the resort and the service we received, it felt like a much higher class of hotel. I would happily stay again.

Pros:
Large rooms. (Superior)
Great location - 2 mins from Long Beach
Well maintained grounds and swimming pool
Good breakfast and restaurant was well priced at other meal times
Good range of tours that can be booked through reception.
The staff are lovely, especially Poo on reception, very helpful.
I liked the 'lounge' and hammock each chalet had underneath. A nice touch.

Cons:
Mozzies! Unfortunately as the bathroom wall is built to allow air in, all the insects can and do get in. The resort provides a net over the bed but sadly, I still got bitten many times, near on 20 despite 95% deet. On my second week of holiday staying elsewhere, I got bitten once.
Flies! I have never seen or experienced as many flies around my food as I did in their restaurant. You get used to them and it is Thailand after all but they drove me insane.
Squeekly floorboards: Annoying, you end up tip toe-ing around for a week.

Overall though, Its a lovely resort; pretty, quiet and clean. Definitely one we will remember.

Room Tip: Its worth getting a superior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

For the price charged this was a very good resort. The rooms were nice and very well cleaned (squeaky floorboards were a bit of a laugh). Staff were helpful and friendly. Well positioned only a short 150m walk to the very beautiful Long Beach which during the low season was just about deserted and very nice to take a beer down to watch the sunset and just like glass for a morning swim. As with all of Koh Lanta the beach had a fair bit of rubbish which spoilt the serenity a bit.

Lovely pool area that was cleaned every morning.

A bit disappointed with 3 Mums restaurant with the breakfast and tried their beach front restaurant - Lym's Rice Bowl which although very nice to dine with you feet in the sand the food was average.

So many other places to eat - we ate a few times at the restaurant directly across the road (Sunset ___???) which was cheap and nice food. Lots of other little restaurants within an easy ride in either direction which we were rarely disappointed in.

Room Tip: Most rooms had a detached bathroom - we were in one with an attached ensuite (still open air) and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Familily managed Bed and breakfast with relaxing athmosphere. Quiet pool area, OK breakfast, friendly staff. Yes; you do hear the traffic from the main road, but that is practically unavoidable on Lanta. Comfortable beds, semi outdoor bathroom, nice private relaxing area under the bungalow (on stylts). Long beach is a three minute walk away, and the most beautiful beach on the island! Here you also find the best restaurant in the area: Lyms Rice Bowl. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant the first evening, but never returned after discovering Lyms. Really enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

german / english:

sehr hilfreiche und nette Rezeption!
schön angelegt / nahe Strasse kein Problem ...
Frühstück durchschnittlich. Kein einziges Mal alles komplett gebracht für 2 Erwachsene und 2 jugendliche Kinder, notabene mit Kreutzchen schriftlich bestellt..
Restaurant 3 Mums OK und guter Durchschnitt..
Zimmersauberkeit beurteilt von meiner Tochter 14: Zimmerstaub unter das Bett gekehrt. Staub auf oberen Tablaren, sonst OK.
Betten OK, Möblierung: Es fehlen Stühle auf dem netten Balkon.
Preisleistung gut!!!
Was kann man verbessern:
Kleiner Tisch und Stuhl fehlen in den standard garden lofts und der Nam Loft beeinhaltet nach europäischem Verständnis die 3-fache Fläche ;-)
Wirklich gutes Preisleistungsverhältnis und auf Koh Lanta würde ich hier wieder buchen.

english:
very helpfull and polite reception
nice architecture and main road cöosed by not any problem
Breakfast average but better as at many other places same class. 3 times breakfast but not 1 time served what was ordered on paper in written. In my opinion very british so a lot of space for improvement :-) (sorry dear British but I not know any Europeans eating your horrible sausages and slightly sweet beans except of you ...).
Restaurant 3 Mums good everage.
Cleaness of rooms by my daughter 14 years: Dust of room was moped under beds in both of our rooms. Higher parts of cupboard also with many old dust.Rest really OK.
Beds OK. What is missing is 2 chairs on nice balcony.
They call it standard garden loft. It has no table and no chair and in my European understanding of the word loft it is just a reasonable room ... but is really OK.
Recommened and very good value for price! Would book again on Koh Lanta.
I did a direct booking and did have some questions. All emails and calls inprofessional style and on rather short notice!
sehr

Room Tip: Höhere Zimmeernummern sind weiter weg von Hauptsrasse. Higher room umbers mean to be further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As soon as my wife and I arrived at this hotel we were treated very well. Very helpful staff. beautiful surroundings. We escorted to our large deluxe chalet, we had a day bed and hammock under the bed so we could escape the afternoon sun. The room was beautiful all made out of bamboo with a floor to ceiling window that spanned across the whole wall. The mosquito net on the bed it so needed as they love my wife. The bathroom is rustic with a contemporary twist.

The beach is a few minutes walk from the pool, wow no one on the beach. The restaurant which run is by mother, aunty and uncle of the hotel manager, provides day beds and cushions on the beach free to use. Lyms rice bowl is amazing!!

We rented a scooter and discovered the island, what a fabulous place to be.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.