We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fruit Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fruit Tree Lodge to your Saves list
Fruit Tree Lodge
Pra-Ae Village, Ko Lanta, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stumbled upon this place whilst looking on tripadvisor for somewhere for myself and girlfriend and my parents to stay. Very promising reviews, we were not disappointed! The rooms are lovely and clean, nice and large, decent bathroom, balcony, large bed with mosquito net and a fridge. Set in a well groomed garden these bungalows really are great. Owners are lovely and gave us great advice on the island. We've just returned from a day of diving with the company they work for, lanta divers and this was also an all round top notch experience. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Fruit Tree Lodge for 1 week with my boyfriend. There are only 8 bunglows which makes everything really personal. The 2 owners live in the first bungalow and are really friendly and helpful. There is no reception so you have to email or call first. All the bungalows are on stilts so you feel you are further away from the bugs and lizards. The bungalows are fan only but they are definitely cool enough at night. They are pretty spacious too and nicely decorated, you get a little welcome back too which is a lovely touch. The location is also great, at the end of Long Beach near many restaurants and some nice bars. Also only 3 min walk to the beach. I thought they were good value for money too at 800 baht a night when you stay at least 7 nights. You can find slightly cheaper places nearby but not in quite as good location and also not nice spacious bungalows set in a lovely little jungle with lots of birds and fruit trees!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratov, Russia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We rested on Koh Lanta for the second time. In our first visit we stayed at another beach, this time we decided to stay on Long beach. For accommodation we chose Fruit Tree Lodge and did not spare! During our stay we were only the best memories of this place! I would especially like to mention the friendly Caroline and Bamon and their wonderful cats. Highly recommend these bungalows!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pros: Stayed for 12 days. Super clean. Friendly cleaner comes by every day. Great modern Thai decor. Large floor to ceiling windows on the front. Bathroom is pristine white. Very spacious with lots of room to put your bags. Good strong WIFI in rooms. Large balcony to do exercises or to sit and read on. Good mattress and mosquito net. Fridge in room. Wonderful English speaking hosts. Location is great, right on the main road near 7-11 but it doesn't feel like you're on the road. Very close to all the restaurants and bars. The elevated nature of the bungalows makes the whole place feel very lofty and gives you a sense of privacy. The gardens on the property are very well kept. The bungalow is super sturdy and has actual dry walled walls instead of bamboo walls. High ceiling. Right next to Red Snapper restaurant.

Cons: It's not on the beach, but it's like a two minute walk from the beach. No AC. Only a stand up fan which was a bit weak, a stronger ceiling fan might be better. No screens on the windows. No in-room safe.

We stayed here for 12 nights. We've stayed at another place on the beach before and we preferred Fruit Tree Lodge. Don't let the fact that it's not right on the beach deter you. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crater Lake, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We absolutely loved this place!
Recommended by LantaDivers, these bungalows were exactly what we were looking for. I felt tike I was on a honeymoon!
Clean and comfortable and just a short walk to the beach. Great location on Lanta Beach, just a short tuktuk ride to the top of the island. You may have to keep an eye out though because not a lot of drives knew where this was, it's sort of hidden.

Room Tip: No front desk so make sure to call ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This little lovely place with just a few bungalows at the end of long beach in Prah-Ae village is a little gem. You have the feeling of living in a lush garden or small jungle, but with hot-water, everyday cleaning and wifi. Just 100m away from the best beach and walking distance to some of the best restaurangs and coffee shops on the island, like Red Snapper and Faim de Laup. Superb simply.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had an excellent holiday staying at Fruit Tree Lodge
Our bungalow with its balcony overlooked the lovely garden with birds
and fruit trees very peaceful but within easy reach of shops restaurants
and the beach is a 5 min short walk.
It was very clean and comfortable with fridge and
shower room. The owners, Caz and Bamon were extremely friendly
and helpful and always contactable.
We stayed in April 2011 which is a nice time to visit as Lanta is not as crowded
and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience of Songkran!!
Caz and Bamon are experienced divers and knowledgeable of the
area.
Will be re-visiting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fruit Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fruit Tree Lodge

Address: Pra-Ae Village, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fruit Tree Lodge is a small collection of Thai style bungalows located in a small village called Pra-Ae on the beautiful island of Koh Lanta, South West Thailand. The bungalows are up on stilts and have a balcony overlooking the garden. Fruit Tree Lodge is located close to restaurants, bars, and minimarts and it is approximately 5 minute walk to the stunning Long Beach, one of Koh Lanta's best beaches. Each bungalow has a double bed, hot water shower, fridge, fan and free wifi. The rooms are cleaned 6 days a week, and linen and towels changed on a regular basis. The bungalows are stylish, comfortable and are excellent value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fruit Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fruit Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.