We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cute! clean and friendly. decent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lanta House to your Saves list
Lanta House
197/7 Moo1, Saladan Village, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“very cute! clean and friendly. decent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

staff: very friendly.
room: good A/C, large, no security box, some have balconies but some have no windows! walls aren't too bad for noise. there's a shared toilet and shower for each floor. each floor has 4 rooms. there is soap, shower gel, conditioner in the showers for you.
location: 5min walk from the pier. next to lots of shops including a 7/11 and restaurants. however all the bars are a 15min drive away. we got a tuk tuk to the bars for 100baht each way.
facilities: wifi was ok but kept dropping. they have signs up to say that the service provider is being rubbish so i feel like they are trying to resolve the situation. free drinking water. communal fridge. computer in reception.

we were only here for 1 night but i was impressed. the place is very clean and there are a lot of signs asking people to be clean, and considerate to others, etc. it's a very cute place, i would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Amazing value for your money. Free Internet and wifi (although signal strength is poor in the rooms). This place cuts out the frills to allow you to spend your money elsewhere on enjoying the beauty of Koh Lanta.
On arrival, don't be put off by the horrid smell of Cat as it's contained to the reception.
The top floor shower NEVER produces hot water so either get a room on the lower floors or walk down and use the lower showers.
Rooms are basic but have all that you need - clean,.enough space and are comfortable.
Very very centrally located - near the pier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor as the showers are better and you don't have to nego...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for 16 nights because I was volunteering at Lanta Animal Welfare (5km down the main street). The rooms here are just nice, clean and the service is really good. They clean the bathrooms a few times a day. The staff changed my sheets twice after I requested, even though they didnt need to. The main receptionist also helped in bike rental (cheaper than outside rentals) and helped me book my bus back to the airport. Location is in Saladan village and there is awesome and cheap seafood here!! Definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: Stay in the air-conditioned room. Higher floors tend to have cleaner toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This guesthouse is probably the cheapest one on Koh Lanta. We had a great stay here for 10 days. The room was clean, spacious and comfy. We paid 370 baht for a double room with AC, which worked very well! They hire out scooters at a very cheap rate so we hired one on most days to explore the island. The staff are very friendly and were a great help when our laptop broke. Free tea and coffee and excellent cooking facilities. Excellent wifi too, they have a router on each floor.
If you're travelling on a budget this place is great, it is close to everything in Saladan and met all our needs. Thank you Lanta House!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumphon, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

steep stairs. black walled room. no window. big bed. spacious room. no real communal area. free wifi and computer downstairs for use. friendly and wonderful staff. really really clean and nice quality. good air con. good price. single communal shower on each floor is also the toilet. not a bad shower though with good water pressure.

would i visit again? yes, but not before i would look around for other options, or ask for a room with a window and without black walls (they have balcony rooms i think)

Room Tip: Perhaps see if they have a room with a balcony so you can get a window, or ask for one that doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

From my point of view this is a good place. They serve customer very good with care and kindness as what symbol of Thai people, also the price isn't too high for a place like this and free coffee and tea for customer. btw the most important things is that it's alway kept clean :D I love this place <3

Room Tip: if u r backpacker this place is very good :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Actually a really nice clean and cheap hostel. Besides the incident, wher I left my room (foolishly leaving it unlocked) to have a shower- just having arrived from penang, and sorting my ringgit from my baht- upon getting back into my room and changing, I left to get some food from 7-11. And all my baht had been taken from my wallet. After asking the lady from reception if she anybody had come in or out of the building (only one other girl in the hostel) the lady was completly useless.
A bad experience- just shows to lock your door and take your key- even if it is just to shower.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMPHAN, Owner at Lanta House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi

First I would like to thank you choosing and reviewing on Lanta House. My name is Oh and I’m Lanta House's owner.
About what has happen I believe that is impossible your money has been stolen in our guest house.

The reasons are

1. I’m was in my room behind the reception from 5.00 am until the time that you came to reception to ask my wife about your money, From 5.00am until you are back and say that your money has been stolen. I’m always in the room and my window always open so that mean I can see anyone in and out from the guesthouse. The time that you told me that your money has been stolen was about 11.00 am but the guest that you told me she might be robber left the guest house on about 7.00 am after that no one check in or out and at your floor it’s only your room no other guest live on that floor.

2. From what I observe if you are really insist that your money have lose in our guest house you should try harder to find your money and should ask for the CCTV record or report to the police to investigate but I think that you are doesn't sure that your money lose in our guest house because you acting not like the guy who just lose the money, you even invite the girl to walk out and have a lunch

3. There is no reason for me or my wife to steal your money because we’re not staff we own this place and this is our business we are not steal 5000 THB to make our business look bad also I have problem with my back and my leg I can’t very get up to 2nd floor so that is impossible for me to get to 2nd floor and it's also a reason that’s why did I always in my room and I heard everything that you are talking with my wife I’m sure she isn't useless but she can’t follow your word because you talk rapidly.

Last year this problem has occur the guest though my wife steal their money in the end we found that they lost the money from the thief on the bus and this year you are the customer that fall in this kind of problem. That’s why we are planning to setup more CCTV on hallway this will made certainly safety for both me and customer and in the future if this thing has occur again we can insist to customer with evidence that we are innocent.

Best Regards,
Oh Mr. Amphan
Lanta House General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta House

Address: 197/7 Moo1, Saladan Village, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta House is located at the center of Saladan Village where you can find restaurants, internet cafe, travel&tour agencies and diving shops with just a few steps from our hostel,including a newly open walking street where you can enjoy evening finger foods, thai pancake etc. On the street in front of our hostel. We are a simple hostel, a clean and a very comfortable place to stay,suitable for those friendly backpackers who want to save money while enjoying their holiday here in Koh Lanta. We offer you a very low price which everybody can afford. Rooms are equipped with fan and/or air condition. All are non- smoking rooms with double bed. Bathrooms are shared .We also offer you unlimited Wi-Fi which can be used 24 hours, and complimentary includes morning coffee & tea ***during high season ( November- March )*** our hostel is just a walking distance 5 minutes from the pier and almost all of the minivan service from nearby provinces know where we are and they will drop you right in front of our hostel's door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Lanta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.