We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
555 Moo 2 Pra Ae (near Lanta Animal Welfare) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6 months on Lanta !
Ranked #13 of 90 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

5 mins from Phrae Ae beach, Aruna and Chai welcome you in their house as if you were part of the family. I had a wonderful stay there and shared lovely moments with the hosts and the other guests. The house and the guests rooms are very nice, the atmosphere is peaceful and quiet, you can relax in a hamoc on the terrace and enjoy your meals there. There's a dog shelter down the hill so if you want your can talk a walk with a dog on the beach whenever you like or just pay them a visit, it's a really sweet! Aruna and Chai will also give you good insiders tips on where to go, what to do or where to eat. I'm so glad I stayed there, it made my vacation on Lanta a completely different experience than if I had stayed in a "regular" hotel. Thanks again to all of you guys, hope I'll come back to see you again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
21
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have never spent a holiday feeling so comfortable in the chosen accommodation. Baan Rao is literally a home away from home.

We stayed at Baan Rao over the Christmas holiday and were lucky enough to spend time with not only Aruna, Chai and their two kids Shaan and Jeevan, but also Aruna's sister and mother who were visiting. I come from a country that hails its multicultural society but the people I've met and the stories I've been told at Baan Rao is the epitome of diversity. You'll never find a more welcoming family and guesthouse in Lanta.

Yes, there is a rather steep slope and some stairs to conquer before reaching Baan Rao, but think of it as finding treasure after a journey (not to mention the exercise you'll be getting after all the good Thai food). Aruna is wonderful from the first email to the last goodbye. She'll give you a rundown of the island when you first arrive, and it's pretty much all you'll need to know before you start exploring for yourselves. Chai and the two kids are so loveable you'll find yourselves spending extra time in the day or staying up at night in the common living area just to interact with them

A bed & breakfast isn't meant to be a five star resort, but if a personal and heartwarming stay is what you're looking for, you can't go wrong choosing Baan Rao.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liehittaja
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

When looking for lodging in Koh Lanta for our longstay we did not want to stay in the middle of everything and then we found this fantastic place! On the hillside, above Lanta animal Welfare.
Staying at Baan Rao B&B is like being at home. You feel really comfy and relaxed mostly thanks to Aruna and Chai. The place it self also feels more real, not like a standard resort. This IS home away from home if you are open to the BnB concept. Sharing fridge, kitchen and living room with others. Meeting all the wonderful other guests and friends of Aruna & Chai was one of the highlights during our stay. Meeting, talking, sharing thoughts and ideas with new friends from all over the world made our stay the best one!
The house i situated on a hill and there are stairs to take you up to the house and rooms. A good opportunity to improve your health and keep in shape!

Room Tip: Tat LOM is a big spacious room (2nd floor) where you can relax in your own hammock listening to &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We chose to stay in Baan Rao after reading the wonderful reviews here & to be closer to nature. And I'm very glad we did, it was the highlight of our short trip to Koh Lanta. Aruna was awesome right from the first email & with Chai, they make the best couple to run a B&B in Koh Lanta. We did not have much problems finding the place, it was right around the corner from Pad Thai Place (which we loved too). Aruna & Chai's charming toddler son, Shaan, was happy to share his toys with our 20 month old. We loved having dinner with the family, their friends & other guests under the starry sky. However, we agree that Baan Rao is not for everyone, you're surrounded by jungle so you must not mind insects, mozzies & walking. The walk up to Baan Rao was ok but it does get pitch dark at night so a torch is a must.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tat Din which was one of their modern rooms. It was very nice, our only complaint was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunaandChai, Manager at Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Yes the toilets at Baan Rao do need scrubs as the water is brown from our own well and the brown deposit makes the toilets look dirty which they are not.

We scrub the toilets after every check out and apologies if the toilet looked dirty this time. That was not our intention.

Welcome to Baan Rao !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My girls (12 and 7 yrs old) and myself spent few days at Baan Rao B&B in Oct. 2011.The couple running the B&B, Aruna and Chai, ensured that we enjoyed our stay completely - hosting us wonderfully, arranging our trips, providing all information about the island including sharing their favourite "hiddden" places. Their colourful past as diver instructors around the world was a great learning and adventure experience for my girls - even today they're remembering the fish they saw during the snorkelling trip. The B&B is eco-friendly, situated on a small height so you can have nice hikes up and down, but also easily available are tuk tuks to take you wherever you need. Lovely place and lovely hosts who make you feel at home!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

From the first first e-mailed I sent to Aruna till the last minute we leave, both Aruna and Chai just could not do enough for us. They gave us fantastic information on arrival together with a map of the island and torches. As they are former diving instructors, they booked our dives, arranged transport around the island, gave great tips for food, sight seeing and made our stay so special.

Having travelled around Thailand and South Asia, we stayed in some really interesting places but Baan Rao will always be the one we'll remember. I think what make your trips really special are the people you meet and Aruna & Chai made our trip to Koh Lanta very special.

We stayed in Tat Lom which is the Element of Wind and it was a very spacious room with a hammock. The rooms face West so you can see some of the best sunsets in Koh Lanta. The bbq area is really nice as well. You can let them know in advance and use the area like your own place.

There is a cooler in the garden and you can have drinks anytime as long as you replace them before you leave.

Baan Rao is an Eco Friendly accommodation so they do everything to minimise their footprint in the nature.

Shaan is the cutest little thing in the world. Don't be fooled if he seems a bit shy in the beginning , he will soon make friends with you.

This was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. It's so refreshing after all the hustle and bustle of busy resorts. I can't recommend Baan Rao and our fantastic hosts Aruna & Chai enough. We arrived as guests, felt like part of their family during our stay and left as friends.

Room Tip: We stayed at Tat Lom and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed here during Christmas 2011 and it was the most wonderful stay. This is an experience unlike any other place I' ve been duringy one month's travel through SEA. Aruna is the loveliest host, the way she runs the hostel is very environmentally aware and the rooms are soulfull. At times there are Thai dinners you can join in, cooked by Aruna's husband Chai- delicious! The hostel is a bit up on the hill, which gives you the peace and calm one may need after a bit of travelling. Please do bringosquito repellent though!!! Basically: it's the type of place you wish you'd had booked longer for:-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast

Address: 555 Moo 2 Pra Ae (near Lanta Animal Welfare) | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For all of you who believe in a Home Stay Experience and an ecological and holistic alternative, this is the place to be ! "Baan Rao" is a family run Bed & Breakfast up on a hill, that will offer you rooms which are cooled by the breeze of the jungle, an extraordinary sea view, the option of living in a Thai style wooden house or a more modern villa, all with a touch of family feeling thanks to the multicultural hospitality of Aruna Singh and Chai Chuaprom and boys Shaan (born 2010) and Jeevan (born 2012). We speak English, Thai, Swedish, French and Spanish. We ask guests to stay a minimum of 5 nights as we do not want too much of a turn-over. We also have rooms for long stay guest, 1 month minimum. Nous sommes un vrai petit gite familial sur une des collines de Koh Lanta. Si vous cherchez une experience unique, loin des sentiers battus, venez a Baan Rao B&B. Nous vous offrirons une vue splendide sur la mer, la jungle, une ambiance multiculturelle et familiale le tout avec une vision ecologique. Nous vous attendons ! Bienvenus ! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Rao Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.