We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were dissapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Massage and Spa

Serenity Massage and Spa
147 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta, Thailand
+66 81 569 9852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Spas & Wellness in Ko Lanta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serenity is a unique Spa as it is built on wooden stilts above the sea. At Serenity you can Revitalise your skin De-stress your body Enhance your beauty and Indulge yourself. Open all year November April 10am till 11pm May - October 11am till 9pm
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Were dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015 via mobile

When I was looking for massage in Ko Lanta and chose this place according to Trip Advisor reviews. It is located in Saladan, near the pier and it was easy to find it. I had full body massage with Aloe Vera but my boyfriend had foot massage.
Plus:
- beautiful interior (one of the best in Thailand)
- very comfortable temperature (air conditioner)
Cons:
- very average performance (for us both it was too gentle and with no individual approach, they just do their job, do not expect something special!)
- too overpriced! (Price does not meet the quality by comparing to other massage salons in Thailand).

As I mentioned I had much better massages in Thailand and this was OK but by comparing to others it was the worst one and 2x expensive). The woman had a clock with her and when she finished it showed that there is 58 minutes and then she continued some-how these 2 minutes just to be in time but it was not worth.
Suggest to try anywhere else!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billysea, Owner at Serenity Massage and Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you both for visiting Serenity and leaving this review.

I am sorry you where dissapointed. Its true the staff do there job and very well, if you could let me know how special you would like it I would be happy to improve for the next guests.

Some things are more expensive because we use better products then most shops as we try to give you the best to our guests. Also the shop as you say is one of the nicest in Thailand, Thank you for this comment. You had an Aloe Vera massage, we have a person making the aloe vera, tiger balm and herbal balls especially for the shop. the Aloe vera is not as watery as you may buy from shops and supermarkets. This natural product we have is better for your skin and healing process. I can buy cheap rubbish, add to your body which would not help in any and sure the cost would be cheaper, how ever I choose to give you the best that I can as helping your bodies needs is important. AN ALOE VERA MASSAGE IS SOFT AND GENTLE - I am not sure how you can complain about that when it is a soft massage. If you prefer strong massage take a different massage

I am also sorry if you thought 350 baht is expensive for a foot massage. You have a choice when looking at the menu to come in to the shop or not so please dont complain something is expensive - I have enjoyed the shop for 7 years and I have not changed the prices in this time. Some time the baht becomes stronger and you will receive less money when exchange - but again 350 baht is not expensive

My staff use clocks - it stops them straining and looking at the clocks in the shop and guests know they have the full time - I do apologies if they finished at 58 minutes I agree with you this is not acceptable and I can only apologies for this. Thank you for letting me know so I can improve for all the next guests. When the staff do foot massage they stop to wash there hands from the oils , they should stop the clock then when they go back they finish the massage by massaging the shoulders and head - they stop the clock so you get the full hour massage

Thank you again for trying Serenity and hopefully we will have the pleasure again to meet in the future

Safe travels Ning and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    9
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing emotion package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

My sister and I went for the emotion package, body scrub probably the best I've ever had, skin feels like a dolphin, then a full body massage and the knots are gone from all the travelling, then the best facial ever, basically would be like £150 in London minimum but £20 and lovely tea and fruit on the veranda after x

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billysea, Owner at Serenity Massage and Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you both for visiting Serenity and leaving this great review/

I am very happy you both enjoyed the Emotion package, the products we use, the service provide and the shop environment. I will pass on your amazing comments to the staff

I hope you will both return in the future

Safe Travels Ning and the Serenity Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

If you're looking for something better than simple beach massage this place would be ideal! It's more expensive, but not overpriced. And definitely worth it!
At first we tried relaxing & foot massages which were really good, but on the next day we had their 1,5 hour package, and it was just wonderful! Try it!
They offer high quality massage, cozy atmosphere and welcoming staff.
And the last pleasant detail - they serve fresh fruits and tea on backyard by the water!
I recommend to visit in the evening, since it is less noisy outside.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billysea, Owner at Serenity Massage and Spa, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you both for visiting Serenity and leaving this great review. I am very happy you both enjoyed the massages, shop and staff.

I hope you return soon and we can help you again

Safe travels and thank you again Ning and all the Serenity staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unproffesional”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

One more proof that being listed high doesn't guarantee good experience (be it food, accommodation or service).

I guess that what puts this place high on the list is the thing that it is somewhat opposite of what you see on the streets (dust, heat, smells, food, heat, and all other things I actually love in Thailand). It looks sophisticated kind of. But that's all. And some of the massages as actually double priced then elswhere, without any good reason, I'd say.

My boyfriend and I (we take massages often and I we know what good massage is) had a massage at the same time. I ordered Asian blend massage and he ordered Back, shoulder and neck massage. The result: we both had the same, poor, sloppy massages, not worth 1/3 of our money and time. I don't have some special thing to point my finger at, just that it was sloppy and boring, with no differences between both massages.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billysea, Owner at Serenity Massage and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Wow - first let me thank you both for trying Serenity and I feel saddened you did not enjoy the massage and shop environment. It is quite shocking for me to read when we try so hard to give you the best

It is very hard for me to improve the service reading your review - "You can not point your finger at the problem just boring and sloppy". If you could let me know how to liven up your relaxing massages and not make them boring I would be very interested - maybe the ladies could tell a joke! sloppy I do not understand how can trained people working on your be sloppy? or maybe you been bored did not help create a special feeling.

The ladies are all very professional in everything they do from greeting guests, showing them through the shop to the treatments. I could not ask for a better team to take care of anyone and to help make Serenity stronger.

I am Sorry you are disappointed with a clean, nearly sophisticated, air conditioned shop. We try our best to make the environment what it is, sorry if this did not meet your expectations.

Lastly the cost is not double the price of other shops - maybe 50 baht more. The things you do not see for 50 baht quality Oils, body scrubs no other shop offers , did you notice you have a clean towel and bedding? ( many shops fold them up again hygiene is worth more then 50 baht) hot rain shower? private pier to relax on after treatments small things like this for 50 baht extra - many guests who do understand the difference say its like winning the lottery! oh and nearly forgot fully trained staff - some places have friends watching and then copying

I hope you find a shop which matches your expectations. Looking at your reviews tho I would be highly surprised

Thank you again Ning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serenity Great Massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Over the last 10 years I have become a regular visitor to Koh Lanta and have seen the island grow.
Serentiy spa has been opened since my first visit and I have become a loyal client.
The location is lovely with a great place to relax on the deck after the massage.
I always discuss my needs before the massage to make sure I select the massage best suited. I use my massage time in Thailand to smooth out my neck, shoulder and back aches. It normally takes several massages to achieve this. We normally start with a softer Asian blend massage and then move on to the Thai massage sometimes a little painful when working on tight spots but well worth it in the end.
Ning and her team are great, they are very attentive to my needs.
In conclusion, Serenity Spa has managed to create SERENITY with a great setting offering great massage at a fair price.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billysea, Owner at Serenity Massage and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2015
Wow Thank you from all the team and myself for visiting Serenity over the many years and leaving this great review.

I am very happy you enjoy the services we offer, the team and the shop environment.

Thank you so much again and we look forward to your next visit

Ning and all the Serenity team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serenity Massage and Spa also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Serenity Massage and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Massage and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.