We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cook Kai

Cook Kai
Klong Nin Road, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 200 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
“Everything was delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Cook kai was a great surprise between all of the more touristic restaurants on the beach. The morning glory was the best we have ever had and the pad thai was a big portion and tasted great! The service was very friendly also. Too bad they are not located on the beach but the quality of the food makes up for it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    45
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Perfect service, broad food selection, delicious dishes relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and I stumbled on this place desperately seeking lunch after a long travel day. We were greeted warmly by the family that runs the restaurant. The comprehensive menu is plastered with happy family photos. Thai coffee, Papaya salad, chicken noodle soup all winners. Western portions so order light. We were full and ready to rest.
Returned the next night for dinner, beers, vegetable with tofu stir fried Chinese kale. Again great service. Kind, accommodating and comfortable. Favorite of Thailand

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Favorite restaurant in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

After eating out for over 3 weeks all over Thailand, I feel like I can say that Cook-Kai Restaurant strikes the perfect balance between service, ambience, FOOD and price. A meal for 2 including several drinks was only 600-700 baht (under $25). In the USA this meal would have easily been double that amount. I went there 3 days out of 4 while I was on Koh Lanta. Make sure you check it out at least once!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Another one happy meal in Koh Lanta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have tried Thai food here for 3 menus. All of them are pretty good taste, suitable portion with reasonable price.

Dont miss to visit them once of your Lanta time

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Their food is Cook-a-doodle good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a charming family run restaurant in Klong Nin where everything - including the furniture and building itself - was crafted by the family who run it. We've eaten here twice now and will be going back for a third meal before we leave Ko Lanta. They have a vast menu, food is very reasonably priced, portions are massive and service is super quick. The staff are also very welcoming and friendly. Oh and there seems to be a resident cockerel keeping guard out front!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook Kai also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Cook Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.