We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and delicious Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jai-dee home

Jai-dee home
124 Moo 6 Klong Nin | Ko Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
+66 88 832 2664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 218 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: please, please, please do not come to make a problem with us. it seems we have some problem lately. we are a small restaurant who only makes enough to live through low season and pay our rent. we love to take care of you, so please give us the respect we give to you ........... a very warm welcome to jai-dee home restaurant. unfortunatly we have lost our beautiful trees when a big storm destroyed our beautiful restaurant. we hope you enjoy our new one which has been rebuilt with hard work time and love...... we have, restaurant, bar. rooms for rent. free wi-fi with drinks, and use of our computer free with food. thai and western food. shallow fry in olive oil, deep fry in soya bean oil for your healthy heart. the big breakfast, lovely sarnies [sandwiches ] ground coffee beans, teas, hammocks, relaxing atmosphere on the decking right on the beach with crystal green blue sea. welcome to our lovely home as our guests.
London
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Amazing value and delicious Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Can't keep away from this restaurant, the curries are so delicious, the lassis are the creamiest on the island and the spring rolls could very well be the best we have EVER eaten (and let me tell you we've tested a few!!). Great views as the sun sets over Klong Nin beach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaideeKoLanta, Manager at Jai-dee home, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
thank you for your kind review ! so happy you enjoyed our curries and spring rolls, we love them too ! we are very happy you had a good time with us thank you. we hope to see you again in the future. keep well and see you when you see us ! ............ from all of us at jai-dee home x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    33
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best food, best place on lanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

In this family-run restaurant you'll get the best vegetarian food on lanta. Try the vegetarian spring rolls or the panang curry. Your shake comes with no extra sugar and you can enjoy it with a great view of the ocean sitting at the beach or lying in a hammock. the owners have a few dogs, but don't be afraid they are lovely. And if you really fell in love with this place you can even stay there, they have 2 rooms for guests.
So go there and enjoy...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaideeKoLanta, Owner at Jai-dee home, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
sawasdee kha ! thank you so very much for your time shared with us, we love to take care of you. thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoy our lovely dogs. we love to see you again in the future, enjoy your holiday's chock dee kha, jai-dee kgung x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor, you led me astray!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was honestly the worst meal we had on Ko Lanta. Every other place we ate at that was highly recommended by trip advisor was great, but unfortunately not here. Can honestly say that the best thing we had was the garlic fried rice, which was nice and flavorful, but the rest of our meal was pretty bland and uninteresting. Maybe we just ordered the wrong stuff, but we were very disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaideeKoLanta, Manager at Jai-dee home, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
dear gareth, thank you for taking your time to spend with us. we are so sorry you had a bad meal, it is not our pride to serve like this. we would like to offer you a free meal to make up for it. maybe you would like to have a recomendation from us. we like to ask every customer if they had any problems, we are so sorry you slipped through the net. please come in and make yourself known to us. and let us take care of you. we hope to see you soon ............ team jai-dee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great spot on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Based on the excellent reviews I visited Jai-dee for dinner and was not disappointed. The place has a great view of the Andaman Sea with some spectacular sunsets. The food was great. I had garlic bread for appetizer and then a red curry. The garlic bread had a bit to much garlic for my taste but the excess was easily scraped, arguably not a Thai staple, but i was in that kind of mood. The curry was excellent, perfectly balanced and spicy as it should be. Too many places turn down the heat these days to accommodate western taste buds, but it also affects the other tastes present in the dish, making it bland. Jai-dee was spot on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaideeKoLanta, Owner at Jai-dee home, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
sawasdee kha. thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant. it is our pleasure to take care of you. we are happy you enjoyed our real spicy curry and our garlic bread. we will be happy to take care of you anytime and hope to see you again ! chock dee kha. jai-dee kgung. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quite place to stay, eat and relax on koh lanta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The owner is very friendly and helpful. The food is great. But he best is the view from JAI-DEE Home. It is one of the most beautiful places on Lanta and you have the chance to sea an awesome sunset.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaideeKoLanta, Owner at Jai-dee home, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
sawasdee kha. thank you so much for your lovely review ! we hope we can take care of you in the future. chock dee kha jai-dee kgung x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jai-dee home also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Jai-dee home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jai-dee home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.