We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Houben

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Houben to your Saves list
The Houben
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
antwerp
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

What a wonderful stay we had at the Houben! It started with our free pick up at the pier by the owners enthousiastic daughter Shana. Whatever we needed, she made it work. All the rooms have a fantastic view over the sea from the balcony. The rooms are spacious, sleek, a beautiful bathroom & a huge rain shower. All designed in good taste & very modern with an Asian touch. Comfortable HUGE bed & free internet in the room (cable).
Shana cooks up the breakfast : you have a choice between continental, American, English... She does a wonderful job. She even made fresh raisin bread one day & puff pastry on the other! It's only 5 minutes walk to the beach & nearby 7/11 store, a few restaurants & you can rent a scooter for 250 Baht/day. The SPA wasn't finished yet when we were there, but I can only imagine it will make the hotel even more perfect. Very friendly staff, a nice open air restaurant with good food. And an impressive infinity pool with a jacuzzi. This is the place for you, if you're looking for a beautiful boutique hotel, a personal touch and relaxing on the beach or at the pool. If we go to Koh Lanta again, we will definately stay at The Houben!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    71
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
353
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

The Houben is just gorgeous! Funky and modern, and completely different to anything else in Ko Lanta. Amazing bathroom with a bath and shower, attentive staff, beautiful pool with jacuzzi - its a must
Very good value too!
The F&B could do with a little help. To be honest I felt they tried too hard to be edgy and missed it a bit. Breakfast was gorgeous, but was so overstyled with nothing really on the plate. Wine was expensive and was just a chic splash in the bottom of a large glass :(
Otherwise it was FANTASTIC!
their Spa is opening soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I can't say enough about this place from the room, to the service, the staff, the food, the pool and the view. The staff was gracious and saw that every need was attended to. My girlfriend and I loved it and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

It's really hard to fault this place... spectacular views, great little town, truely amazing food (the best we had in our whole month in Thailand by far), and to top it all off a truely cool bunch of staff that make you feel like part of their family. GO TO THE HOUBEN! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed for one night after I spotted the hotel from the road and was intrigued by the modern design... it does stand out next to the hotels on the island. I understand, from locals, that it took almost three years to build, and I can understand why. It is very well thought out - only 15 rooms, and every one overlooking the ocean. We almost stayed a second night even though we had another hotel booked the following evening. The fences are clear, so they do not obstruct the beautiful view from the hill. It is not beachfront, but the infinity pool is so beautiful, who cares? It is big enough to do laps. We spent the whole day relaxing. The breakfast the next morning was also good, as were the snacks we ordered in the afternoon, lounging around. We're currently moving to Mexico, and were planning on getting married there, and once we saw the Houben, were reconsidering... at the very least, stay a night to try it out... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

During my recent visit to The Houben, I just cant but fall in love with the place,the atmosphere, and the service. I can not wait to go back again! It was my first visit to The Houben, though, I can not say anything more but big thumbs up:>
It is situated at the hilltop not too far from the beautiful beach with gorgeous scenery and offshore seaview. It is very private and quiet perfect for a romantic getaway. The beach itself is very serene and tranquil.
The room we got was very spacious, modern chic, high ceiling and super comfortable with super kingsized bed! We got air-conditioning,a fridge, big tv with a dvd player and best of all, amazing view with our own private patio. Did i said outdoor bathtub? Yes! I'm in love:>
The restaurant has open seating so you basically have the outdoor feels to it. It feels very relax and mellow. There were many options on the menu ranged from thai rice soup breakfast to american dinner steak, all but yummy. They also offered room service in case you wanting to stay in and enjoy the sunset from your patio. The staffs offered very friendly and efficient service. I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

such a good place on earth...Frankly,i have been stunned that it has amazing place..i have seen spectacular view on the cliff, red pool ,cozy bathtub,free wifi and hospitality from hop there..So the houben was on my top list for recommendation..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Houben? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Houben

Address: 272 Moo 5 | Ba KanTieng Bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Houben 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the hilltop of Kantiang Bay, Ko Lanta. Isolated from the crowds and villages , only 5 minutes walk down to the local shops. Overlooking at the great sunset view of Andaman Sea.The spacious rooms with comfortable bed, well-equipped with free WI-FI internet connection by cable access .The Houben affords the modern contemporary decoration. Outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi where you can view the tranquil ocean and listening to the serene sound of waves crashing along the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your The Houben reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Houben Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Houben, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.