We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Lanta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exemplary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Beautiful setting, rooms and amenities. Easy access to the larger beaches and town. But the customer service was terrific - having missed our shuttle from Krabi airport, the assistant manager, Run, worked the phone to make sure we got there. Discounted the shuttle cost for the inconvenience, and comped us a bottle of wine. At every turn Run had ideas for us on how to take advantage of the area, and personally drove us to our next hotel when we had to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    178
    59
    25
    5
See reviews for
128
330
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We rocked up to the hotel after a really long transfer, tired and dusty (despite our transfer stating that we'd ferry from Phuket, we were driven all the way to Hau Hin village- we could have just flown to Trang! Nice journey, but a bit epic!).

The people at reception were lovely- they ordered up a little golf cart to transfer us to our room. Unfortunately, some other guests returning from an outing got in this and refused to accept the driver saying that this was for us and they had to wait for the next one. So we just relaxed in the lobby whilst our cases did a victory lap, dropping these rude people off and then returning for us. When we got to our room, we were delighted to find cake and champagne awaiting us, which was a lovely touch (we were on honeymoon and it was also my birthday the next day).

This incident kind of sums up the stay. The staff, the rooms and the hotel was exquisite, but some of our fellow guests were sorely lacking in manners, dignity or class. There was another instance where a South African woman screamed at the poor waitress in the breakfast restaurant because she couldn't sit in "her" space. I was already there, having been seated at the table for my breakfast. The poor staff had to just take the bad treatment that they faced. She only stopped when I rose, and then slowly and deliberately walked past her to the Thai breakfast table for seconds, completely blanking her as I did. It was the perfect excuse to indulge in more of the lovely food.

We had lovely breakfasts every morning, and also used the pool bar once for lunch (post kayaking). This was lovely- we enjoyed some cocktails and had a snack-y late lunch which was satisfying.

We loved the hotel, but also got out and did a lot of things given how short this part of our trip was. I can recommend the three islands tour that we booked from the lady in the lobby. I would not recommend her for car hire at all though, as after we had left they billed us for a damaged tire- which was in perfect condition when we left the car and handed back the keys, even given the dodgy roads on the island. I complained and we were supposed to be refunded, but this never happened. Normally that would drop somewhere's service score down, so it speaks volumes for how good the rest of the team were.

I think she was just annoyed that we decided to go to the caves by ourselves, as she tried to tell us that this wasn't possible. We had a fantastic time exploring the system we found with a knowledgeable guide (basically ending up potholing!). In contrast, her excursion seemed rather overpriced. We saw a lot more of the island this way too, so I still think it was worth it.

The beaches were lovely, and for the more sporty-minded, the hotel has sea kayaks that you can use (we went out on the morning of my birthday- it was fantastic). Just the thing after all the Thai food I had stuffed! But be aware of the deceptively strong tides- my husband and I are both strong swimmers and experienced dealing with the sea, and they still nearly caught us unawares at one point.

I recommend Shanty Shanty just outside the old town for their icecream. There are plenty of great food places in nearby Saladin, we took the resort bus in and used public transport back- no problems. We also walked along the beach and ate in Cha Ba's restaurant a couple of times (you can't miss it- there are dinosaurs) as it was convenient, especially when we had been out most of the day. The Pad Thai was yummy, as was the fish and squid form the bbq. It was also a bit cheaper than the hotel.

The best dive shop in Koh Lanta Yai is Go Dive, we got some good kit (and advice) there. Sadly we couldn't fit in a further excursion, or would have gone with them (As you may be able to tell, we did not have a typical honeymoon- but you could be much more chilled if you wanted to be!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Crown Lanta was the highlight of our two week vacation. We spent 6 nights here and from the moment we were greeted everything was amazing. The location is great as well. It's far enough from Saladan where you are not in the center of the the hustle and close enough where you can get there in 3 min by Tuk Tuk or MoPed (we rented Mopeds right in the lobby and had a BLAST riding around Lanta).

The hotel is built into the landscape so you really feel like you're in an exotic location and not just a cookie cutter box hotel. The views are breathtaking and we were lucky enough to check into our ocean view room exactly at sunset just in time to catch the breathtaking rainbow sky and clear views all the way to Phi Phi.

What really set this hotel apart for me was the outstanding service. Everyone was so accommodating and really made you feel at home, you were never wanting for anything, great anticipation. I can't say enough about the lovely staff. They really made our stay perfect. By day 2 the breakfast staff already took note I drink A LOT of coffee at breakfast and kept my cup full, Real attention to detail is what made this place stand out.

My favorite was the AMAZING Reggae bar. So nice to have a relaxing spot in the hotel to watch the sunset and have a drink or light dinner. The bar is built into the cliffs so it is practically sitting in the water and is designed for you to stretch out, not sit. I almost lulled off in pure bliss on a few occasions. Thurs and Friday they had live music which I loved as well. The Cliff restaurant is also great and I suggest doing the Steak one night if you get a chance, one of the best "western" meals I had in Thailand.

During our stay we had an amazing cave adventure with Talabeng Kayaking. I really suggest checking them out (booked it in the lobby) Awesome day on a Longtail and Kayaks around talabeng and Ghost Island. This was a physically intense outing but really fun.

I can't say enough wonderful things about the property and the management. We really could not have picked a better hotel. If you're looking for a relaxing hotel with excellent hospitality, service, and f&b I would definitely say to check our Crown Lanta.

Room Tip: Ocean Villas have AMAZING views of Sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just spent 7 great nights at the Crown Lanta in a pool access room which was a good size with large patio and of course the pool!! As previous reviews state the resort is hilly with one of the restaurants called the Peak, we found the hill to the Peak very steep both up and down the other side to the main swimming pool but after 3 weeks in Thailand it proved a good work out!! The room was very comfy with all that is required, yes the TV is the old big square type but I was not here to watch TV.
The hotel grounds are kept in good order and both pools very clean with plenty of sunbeds and towels available, all staff we came across were very helpful and friendly.
Access to the beach is via the hotel next door of if you walk around the side of the Cliff restaurant a path takes you down to a 3 km long beach, excellent for walking, sunbathing or swimming. Bottom of the path is the Focus restaurant good food and good prices, we only ate breakfast in resort at the Peak restaurant which was ok.
The hotel has a shuttle bus into the local town 4 times a day, some reviews state it is not far to walk I beg to differ!! We used to take the shuttle into town at 19:30 for dinner and pay for a Tuk Tuk back at 100baht ( £2 ). The hotel as have mountain bikes to use for of charge, ideal for taking your laundry to be done!!!
The only down side for me was that the road leading to the Crown Lanta is used as a fly tipping site which is a big shame for such a great place.
So if you don`t mind a few hills some steep, a resort just out of town but by a great beach and old TV`s then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are great but don`t get the sun on the patio`s
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Beautiful resort ! After talking to the crew at Andaman Adventures, who had by far the best deals for nearby Pimalai Resort, it became clear that those kinds of resorts are out of our budget reach. So we asked the guys at AA what is the next-best-thing to them, within our budget … That’s how we found Crown Lanta ( never knew there was a Crown on Lanta ). The staff is so friendly, the resort domain is just stunning, everything is very clean and our room was just awesome ( I do think that the boys from AA got us one of best units – just great ). We want to come back here SO BAD !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 12 night stay at Crown Lanta Resort. Our ground floor room had pool access right at our door with our own sun lounges. The room was cleaned daily, the bed comfortable and the food was very good both room service and in the restaurants. The resort has a spacious feel being spread out over the hill and has amazing views over the ocean. The staff were very polite and helpful. The sunset reggae bar is the perfect location to enjoy the sunsets and the free kayaks are great to take out for a paddle around the point. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a very hilly hotel - may not be suitable for aging parents or little kids without the shuttle that goes along the hotel. But its beautiful. We got the pool access rooms and itwas nice to slip in and out of the pool whenever we liked. However, they did not have a bath tub which was surprising for the price we paid.

The gym had the minimum but I really enjoyed the reggae bar and the sunset. Prices of the food were reasonable for hotel standards and they had happy hour from 630pm onwards. The speedboat transfer option from Krabi was priced at 1700THB and takes about 1.5 hrs.

All in all I liked the hotel and would recommend it, especially the reggae bar, if you keep in mind that the hotel can be a little hilly. Want a cheaper breakfast than the 500THB breakfast at the hotel restaurant? Walk 2 minutes out the hotel gates to the cheaper motel Kwa Kweang Hotel next door and get a buffet breakfast for THB200. More worth it :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private peninsula resort perched on a beautiful headland featuring a private beach for romance, a reggae bar for revelry, a full-service spa for relaxation, a fitness center for rejuvenation, yoga and fitness classes for renewal, two restaurants for ravenous appetites and two pools (one with a swim-up bar!) For refreshment and a tour desk for rapture and adventure. We are less than 5-minutes drive from Saladan, and we offer free round-trip shuttle service to Saladan. We also provide airport transport options including Express Transfer via Speedboat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Lanta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.