We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best stay ever...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Crown Lanta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 79 hotels in Ko Lanta
Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My best stay ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Was there for our honeymoon, given the most strategic pool access room in Crown Lanta - notably room 1111. Unforgetable experience as we're greeted with complimentary champagne on our arrival. Everything was near to perfect & made us feel very eager to extend our stay there, unfortunately we had pre-booked a return flight. Everything was well taken care of, many thanks to the friendly concierge & staff. Would definitely be back to Crown if we ever have the chance to visit Krabi again. Highly recommended for couples & family!

Tips to management: The room's LHS sliding net door & access pool light bulb need a fix.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    140
    47
    23
    5
See reviews for
95
256
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Me and my family stayed here for 11 days in january 2012. delux room with direct pool access. Nice room size og nice bathroom. Daily cleaning good. breakfast also good but not exellent. This resort is in my opionon the best resort in north of ko lanta. info:tuk-tuk price to saladan is about 100bath to town (saladan)..200 bath to long beach. Tip: try privat car with driver about 2000 bath inc fuel 1 day from 0900-1600. ask tuk-tuk driver number 08 for this. very realiable person. happy hour every day 1500-1700 oclock. half price.
2 computers free of use in reseption area. overall very good service from staff og good standard of resort.

Room Tip: delux room direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here in January for 10 nights. The staff couldn't do enough for my husband and I when we stayed, from the welcome, to day to day throughout our stay right until we were leaving. The breakfast served everything you could want and plenty of it. We were in the pool access accommodation and it was lovely and peaceful. It was easy to walk to the restaurants along the beach or if you wanted to go further afield the Tuktuks were cheap and plentiful. We loved this hotel and would recommend to anyone travelling to Ko Lanta. I took my daughter for a spa day which was on special offer at the time and we felt extremely pampered after the 5-6 hour session.
The one thing that spoilt it for my husband was that the bed was rather hard and took a couple of nights to get used to!!

Room Tip: Pool access - wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We found a great deal for the Crown Lanta-only $98/night. The hotel is self is really nice but extremely commercial. It can easily feel as though you aren't even in Thailand. The room is standard with no Thai decorations, but it is a nice room. Bed, sheets, towels, etc are clean and good quality. Bathroom is good, etc.. Service was really attentive. The pool area was enjoyable, but the hotel doesn't really have a beach. They have some stairs that lead down into a bay, but it isn't a nice beach. Also, the food is extremely expensive. The most disappointing thing about the hotel is the spa. We got manicures/pedicures, but it was so unprofessional. The girls who were doing it were sweat but really had no clue how to do it. They spent almost 2 hours just painting and repainting our nails and didn't even massage our feet/hands. The nail polish and products available were not spa quality. It was a huge disappointment because of the price we paid and the time wasted. Don't even bother with the spa.

Overall, it was a nice hotel but if you are looking for a more Thai experience I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Very cosy hotel. But hard bed and far away from shopping/7eleven etc. Not free wifi. Safebox in room are not fastened to wall..
Restaurant in hotel is very expencive, and the food does not taste good.
Good drinks in poolbar. And happy hour from 1600-1700 buy 1 Get 1 free.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Lanta was the last leg of our 16 day holiday and I did not have high expectations of this place as it was one of the cheaper places we were staying at and also based on some of the bad reviews posted earlier. However, I was pleasantly surprised and Crown Lanta ended up being one of my favorite places we went to. I think which rooms you choose will massively influence the quality of your room. We initially booked the pool access rooms and they upgraded us to a villa room. At first I was a bit hesitant about the upgrade as I thought the pool access rooms looked great but the villa's were a bit bigger with big walk in shower and we had a room that looked out the main pool and was literally 2 meters from our room. I was expecting the place to smell bad but it did not. One day for about an hour we did get a really bad whif of something but I went to the spa and got some smellies and the smell went away. Out of the 5 days there, this was the only time it happened and it dissapeared after an hour. The resort is built on a hill and depending where you staying on the resort, the walk to breakfast can be tough as it is uphill. I did not mind it, as I felt it justified the big buffet breakfast! The pool is great with a lovely swim up bar. The resort also offers free shuttle services if you dont feel like walking anywhere. They would be there with you in 5 minutes. We did not eat any dinners at the resort and went into saladan town, which is 5 minutes in the tuk tuk and had awesome dinners there. I would highly recommend Lanta Seafood, we went back 3 times! The resort has a private rocky beach, which is not ideal for most but the water is just gorgeous. There is also a proper beach about a 3 minute walk from the resort. The resort is not on the beach but its very close to it. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Crown Lanta and would definitely go back.

Regarding the previous comments about staff, I thought everyone we met or ran into were friendly and very polite. at the pool bar there could be more urgency but it did not bother me at all, Thailand is a chilled out place, so if you going there, you need to chill out at as well.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend you book the sunset or deluxe villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed in an ocean sunset villa in early Jan 2012, which was very good (room 2116). Room was big with a sleeping area and separate relaxing area and then a huge terrace overlooking the sea - quite a view. The bathroom was big with walk in shower - again, overlooking the sea. You could spend all day there but might miss the pool but that was only a couple of minues walk away. These rooms are in the 'cliff zone' which is nearer the restaurants, spa and nicer of the 2 pools. It is a short walk down to the beaches but a bit further back down to reception to head into the town etc (but they will pick you up and drop you off at your room). Was a slight sewage smell outside some days.
Breakfast was pretty good. Service was ok too. Cliff pool is nice but short on sun loungers.
Spa let us down by forgetting our massages we had booked - we expect something lost in translation as opposed to anything else though.
Overall, nice place to stay if you stay up the hill in cliff zone and are happy to take tuk tuks etc to town.

Room Tip: Stay in cliff zone for better rooms, pool and proxmity to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Lanta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lanta Resort & Spa

Address: 315 Moo 1 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crown Lanta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private peninsula resort perched on a beautiful headland featuring a private beach for romance, a reggae bar for revelry, a full-service spa for relaxation, a fitness center for rejuvenation, yoga and fitness classes for renewal, two restaurants for ravenous appetites and two pools (one with a swim-up bar!) For refreshment and a tour desk for rapture and adventure. We are less than 5-minutes drive from Saladan, and we offer free round-trip shuttle service to Saladan. We also provide airport transport options including Express Transfer via Speedboat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crown Lanta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Crown Lanta Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Lanta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.