We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan KanTiang See

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baan KanTiang See to your Saves list
Baan KanTiang See
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   263 Moo5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get another 15% off :-)
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We (my husband and I, my parents and our three children aged three to six) have just returned from a fantastic six night stay at the Baan KanTiang See Villas.

The staff at BKTS are genuinely nice and helpful and we love the layout and design of the villas - ideal for relaxing at midday or watching the sun set with a beer in the evenings. The villas each have a large living/kitchen area, two double bedrooms that can easily fit two (possibly three) extra beds each when needed, two huge semi-open-air shower rooms and a massive balcony. We arranged it so that the kids had one bedroom, the grandparents another, whilst my husband and I slept on the day bed/extra mattress in the living area - but there was definitely space for us to share the bedroom with the kids should we have wanted.

The wifi connection is very good and the TV only seems to show Thai language stations (I consider this a good thing as it meant we didn't watch any TV for the whole six days - a PR for our children!)

The kitchen is fully equipped with the exception of an oven. Drinking water is provided in barrels - as soon as we ran out we just called reception and it was replaced within minutes. There was bread, eggs and ham waiting for us on a arrival. Stocks (milk, juice, bread, butter, alcohol, snacks, ham, toiletries, condiments etc - but no fresh fruit,veg or meat) can be replenished at the 7-11 or the off-licence on the road back from the beach. Following advice by a previous reviewer we stopped off at Tesco Lotus near Krabi Airport on the way to the villas. This is a great tip - not only because you can get your shopping out the way - but because it means you don't have to lug your beers up the hill.......

Aahh! The hill. It is steep. I mean, very steep. Having said that the six-year-old and the sixty-four-year-olds didn't find it a problem (usually fueled by coffee, smoothies and an XXL fry up at the Drunken Sailors) - just the parents found it hard work pushing/carrying/dragging the tired three-year-old twins (and the occasional 12 case of Chang). Still, the walk from the waters edge to our villa took no more than 15 minutes and, of course, when we got back we were rewarded by the most amazing views - from either our balcony or the lovely infinity pool.

In summary, this is a beautiful place to stay for a great family holiday.


Things to remember for our next visit: coffee for the coffee maker, mosquito spray for night time, beach shoes (as if you hit the waves at KanTiang Bay at just the wrong tide level you can get your feet cut up - though this only happened to us once in the week), flippers, snorkelling masks and life jackets for the kids for any excursions we might do.

Room Tip: We stayed at the yellow villa and would choose this one again for privacy and for the views of KanTi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanKanTiangSee, Owner at Baan KanTiang See, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear DRWSingapore,
Thank you for this fantastic review. We are proud of our place and we strive to make the stay as pleasant as comfortable as we can and of course we are delighted when our guests are
satisfied.
Since you mentioned food shopping, we will recommend the local markets a bit longer north on the island. There you can find all kinds of local fresh food including wonderful local, fresh fruits and vegetables.

Thank you again and very welcome back!

Warm regards,
Baan Kantiang See Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay here in February 2012.

Pros:
Great views from all the villas
Boutique hotel high on the hill with limited guests
Full kitchen with breakfast (bacon, toast and eggs) and unlimited drinking water provided.
You can order in dinner from reception and they will deliver it to you to eat on your balcony / decking. Great food.
A romantic place to take somebody that you want to impress.
The staff were excellent and would address any issues immediately and competently.

Cons:
The bedrooms have great air conditioners but there is no air conditioning in the main living area / kitchen which could become quite warm.
The kitchen could do with a few extras (fry pan, salt/pepper, paper towel and tea towels)

Would highly recommend the Baan KanTiang See and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanKanTiangSee, Owner at Baan KanTiang See, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear CarmenSandiego74
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this positive and constructive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we wish you very much welcome back.
We are proud of our place and we strive to make the stay as pleasant as comfortable as we can. The missing equipment in the kitchen, as you mentioned, is standard in every villa and should definitely be in place. If guests feel that anything is missing, we appreciate a lot if this is reported to our reception. Missing equipment will be replaced as soon as possible.
When we built Baan Kantiang See, we had a “vision” of a completely open air thai home with fresh cooling breezes flowing through the rooms. As you describe, our resort is situated on a hill top. That means there is always a nice and fresh breeze here, and our intention was that all doors and windows could be left open while in the house to really enjoy the open air feeling - in day time as well as in night time. We also have mosquito nets over the beds for those of our guests who prefer to sleep in open air instead of using air con. Both of the bed rooms, living room and kitchen also have ceiling fans and the living room will be completely open to the terrace by opening the folding doors. By open the big windows in the kitchen as well we believe that you will find it quite comfortable to do your cooking.
Thanks again for your review.
Warm regards,
Baan Kantiang See Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed at this place for 2 weeks with our son (2,5 years) and grandpa/my father. It was the most relaxing place with extremly friendly and helpfull staff. They helped arranging excursions, ordering food, scooter rental ie. This is very convinient, not at least during the first days before you are settled down and get to now the area.The house and not at least the terrace are both enormous! The outside showers are lovely. We were sad to leave and hope to come back soon. Our 2-year old really misses Thailand and Baan KanTiang See as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanKanTiangSee, Owner at Baan KanTiang See, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Marte N,
Thank you for your very positive review. We - both owners and staff - are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we really hope that we will see you and your family again soon.
Warm regards,
Baan Kantiang See Villa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

You can go to this place and just relax. A top tip is to stop on the way and pick up beers, snacks etc. The house has good inside and outside space, the outside offering great views across the bay. We stayed in several nights and ordered room service that delivered great Thai food. People in reviews talk about access and the path, this place is on a hill, but the path is now concrete and is fine even with a 6 year old. An improvement for the resort would be to have a resort Tuk Tuk as we didn't find it that easy to get around the island with a 6 year old.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was a wonderful way to finish our trip through SEA. The Baan KanTiang See villa we rented was utterly beautiful. A hilltop view over the sea and out to Phi Phi islands. Immaculate grounds and cleanliness in the villa. And front desk staff who could not have been more helpful and friendly. We would go back in a heartbeat and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Me and my husband spend 3 days in this place with our 2 children ( 9 and 11 yrs) and it was too short !
We had a wonderful time. Our villa was the yellow villa and this villa is the one in front of all the villas. You have an amazing view and can look over the ocean. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. You can phone from your villa what you like to eat ( you can order from a list) and eat at home.The staff can help you to rent a scooter or book a day trip. All of them are very friendly!
The villa is well decorated and evrything you need is available. The terrace is so big !
The beds and showers are lovely. The swimmingpool is 15 meters from your villa. At the road down the hill (10 min walk) you find a 7eleven . It is about 20 minutes walk to the beach with a few beachbars/restaurants
We hope to come again soon in the future! Kind regards Richard, Sylvia, Thijs and Roos Haarman from The Netherlands

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Fantastic view from the big villas all day, from waking up in the morming to the sunset, followed by the lightning-covered horizon at night. Well equipped villas, and the friendly staff was very helpfull with all of our requests. They were wonderfull! 10 minutes walk to the beach/restaurants/beach. We rented a scooter(200baht/8euros pr day) that got us around. Nice beach and a few nice restaurants close by. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanKanTiangSee, Front Office Manager at Baan KanTiang See, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort is perfect for our customer & all staff. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan KanTiang See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan KanTiang See

Address: 263 Moo5 | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan KanTiang See 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PANORAMA VILLA RESORT" Our villas (176 sqm). The villas are suited for two couples or families offering two bedrooms with queen size bed, two bathrooms with outdoor showers, fully equipped kitchen with all you need for making meals at home, living room with 37" a flat screen TV and monitor for international channels, wireless internet, and computer usage. Extra beds for kids are available. Baby cots are also available upon request. Each bedroom has an individual controlled air-condition unit. In addition, for those who prefer to sleep with open doors and windows, there are mounted mosquito net and ceiling fan ready for you to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan KanTiang See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Kantiang See Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan KanTiang See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.