We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escape-Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Escape-Cabins to your Saves list
Escape-Cabins
438 Moo 3, Long Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct, save BIG!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Based on the reviews on Tripadvisor I chose this place to spend some time while in Lanta and I liked it so much I extended my trip with 3 more days.
Everything was so well organized, from pick-up at the pier, trips being booked through Yuko, the owner, to recommendations where to go or eat.
There are many restaurants, shops, massage places and of course the beach all within walking distance. Because of the location it also provides a quiet sleep, away from some beachparties at night with some loud music. All rooms or bungalows are located in a lush garden with a swimming pool, very relaxing. They also have DVD's in case you would like to watch a movie.
Yuko and her staff made my stay so personal and easy I decided to stay longer and book a day trip to the surrounding islands of Koh Kradan and Koh Ngai.
While being on the island make sure to rent a scooter and explore some of the other beautiful beaches Lanta has to offer. Bamboo Bay and Ao Nui are quiet, with crystal clear water and not that many people. The day trip to Koh Rok was one of my highlights as a day trip. Never have I seen such a beautiful beach with clear blue water, amazing!
The 4 island trip to Koh Ngai and the Emerald Cave was nice even though the Emerald Cave was packed with many people. If you go there make sure to be there early in the morning. Both trips can be booked through Yuko for a reasonable price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    38
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
134
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a very small resort set around a very small pool, at half the price we paid it would have been a decent choice however for what we paid I expected more like for example shower gel, shampoo etc. in the bathroom. There was only a small piece of soap. The rooms are indeed clean but very spartan fitted, except for a rack behind a curtain no place to hang clothes.

At 8:45 after breakfast on the morning we were departing we found housekeeping preparing the room for the next occupants (who were already hovering outside), we didn't check out yet and still had the key, check out is at 11:00 AM. We left with the unpleasant feeling, we felt chased off.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Escape Cabins have a number of room types and the one I stayed in had apparently somehow been operated as a separate business but has now been integrated into the Escape Cabins business. These rooms have been called "Sino" rooms in keeping with each room type having a unique name, and they directly abut the main Escape Cabins property. Basically you just walk across the driveway and through the gate into the pool area. This was fine by me and I didn't feel like I was staying at a seperate property.
Yuko runs the show at Escape Cabins quite well. She is responsive to email correspondence and reservations requests, and understands the needs of tourists by providing clean and comfortable accommodation. She and her staff are helpful on site, and her welcoming but unintrusive nature helped to make my stay all the more pleasant.
The cabin I stayed in had a comfortable King size bed which was a true King Size. I was glad that the bed had a clean doona to sleep under, rather than the usual mess of blankets and sheets tucked in with hospital corners that are impossible to sleep under - something I tend to more commonly encounter in my travels.
Rooms were cleaned daily however I was surprised that new soap wasn't provided daily, and there was a day when my towels weren't replaced with clean ones. I was also surprised that a hairdryer wasn't included as part of the in-room amenities.
Perhaps funnily, the in-room safe wasn't bolted down to anything. I guess if you saw someone walking out of a room with a safe under their arm you'd notice and say something!! And either way I felt safe at the property and also felt my belongings were safe there.
There was a good selection of Satellite TV channels - not all my favourites, but certainly enough to keep me amused at night.
I also appreciated that the window blinds/curtains in my cabin blocked the sunlight out well, although there were no sheer curtains so having the curtains drawn made me feel exposed to anyone passing by.
The swimming pool at Escape Cabins was pleasant, not huge, and not deep enough at any point to cover my whole body if I'm standing up. I'd say it was just big enough to be able to do laps - from memory if I had to estimate it was about 10-12 metres in length.
Upon arrival it was explained to us that the water may run out on occasion, in which case it would be necessary to wait about 30-40 minutes until supply resumed. This happened once during my 5 day stay, naturally at a most inopportune moment when I was under the shower! Nonetheless it did resume as stated, and the only reason I could figure out for this was that the property seems to be on tank water, with some sort of pumping system in place to fill up the tanks. The pumps must only get triggered when the system is completely empty which was a little disappointing.
It was also explained to us that the electricity supply was unstable, so if the power went out we shouldn't worry. Unfortunately there was no backup generator when this happened a couple of times during my stay. I guess it's tolerable, but it was still a little frustrating as it caused the internet to stop working, as well as the air conditioning and television. I wondered about how widespread such outages might be. They weren't frequent during my stay, but did happen a couple of times.
Breakfasts are served at Krua Kritsana restaurant on the main road, about a 4 minute leisurely walk away. These were OK, some meals were a good size while others seemed a bit inadequate. I had the "vege set" on one occasion which was supposed to have 2 eggs but it looked more like 1 scrambled egg, or one and a half at best. The lady working there was obviously not a morning person, as the vibe I got from her wasn't the most pleasant, yet at night when I passed by she was rather amicable. I guess if I had to work 14 hour days I wouldn't be smiling all the time either.
I also managed to hire a motorcycle at the Thai Orchid restaurant, which seems somehow attached to the Krua Kritsana restaurant, for 200 Baht per day. Hiring through the accommodation would have cost me 300 Baht per day.
The area surrounding the cabins along the main road has a few dining options, but not that many, and you're certainly better spoilt for choice if you head into Klong Dao beach or to Saladan town itself. I had what I thought was a lovely meal of BBQ King Tiger Prawns one night at Saladan Seafood, after which I had a gastro bug which took me a week to recover from.
Incidentally if anyone is looking for the Ko Lanta Post Office, it's a few hundred metres south along the main road from the turnoff into Escape Cabins. When I asked some locals in town where the local post office was, nobody seemed to know, with some believing there wasn't an official post office on the island!
My stay at Escape Cabins was pleasant, and worthwhile. In my travels around the island I noticed a lot of hotels and other accommodations that looked rather tired or run down (not everywhere, but there were quite a few), but Escape Cabins was new, well kept, and provided almost everything I needed for a relaxing stay. It was in a quiet spot, about 10 minutes walk to the beach, and although a little expensive by Thai standards in general, it was good value for money in terms of what was available on Ko Lanta. If you're not fussed about a beachfront location and prefer a more quiet, boutique property, then consider here, and book well in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nainital, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

stayed there in jan 2014 as a family with young kids,enjoyed every bit of our stay,the owner yuko was very helpful and always there to listen to us,location is excellent,rooms are good with everything you may need for your stay.....overall a very nice experience,will definitely stay there again on second visit to ko lanta.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Escape-Cabins and loved every second of it! Our comfort room was spacious and clean and the location of the cabins was perfect, just a stroll away from Long beach. We would go to the beach in the morning and come back to enjoy the pool (and the shade on our terrace) in the afternoon. The breakfast was included in the price of our room but it was served in a restaurant on the main road. We went there 3 times but the other days we preferred to have breakfast on the beach (at Thai Cat) as it was far more pleasant. Yuko, the owner, was very helpful and arranged everything for us: shuttle from Krabi airport and scooter rental. She also recommended good restaurants: Krua Kritsana just across the road and Papa's in Saladan. At both places we ate delicious Thai food. Be sure to ride your scooter to Klong Nin beach to have a drink watching the sunset!

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay longer than a week, ask for a room with a kitchenette as it might be use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in January and after 5 weeks travelling and sight seeing it was lovely to have a place to relax in the sun. Finally time to chill and read a book. Yuko had arranged our pick up from Krabi airport, our transfer later in the week out to Koh Ngai and then back again for our return to the airport. Our cabin had a small kitchen so our rate didn't include breakfast but we were able to buy tokens to use at the restaurant down the road. The beach was a short stroll away and there were plenty of places to eat. Highly recommended for a relaxing place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at this fantastic escape bungalow, very convenient located just 10 minutes walk from Long Beach, Ko Lanta and situated in a very quiet area. We loved the green surrounding, high-speed WIFI and clean environment. The service provided was very good and helpful. We would definitely come back. The only thing I missed is a better breakfast option with more fruity and delicious thai food, very poor!

Room Tip: Every room is fine and looking towards the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escape-Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape-Cabins

Address: 438 Moo 3, Long Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape-Cabins is located in Long-Beach neighborhood with just a handful of exclusive cabins and a quiet pool garden peacefully nestled on a tranquil hillside land within a walking distance to the beach. Our modern cabins in various sizes are designed at western standard and are equipped with 5-star quality mattresses for your maximum comfort and full relaxation. An ideal hideaway for escaping the jam and indulging in a peaceful tropical nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Escape-Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escape-Cabins Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escape-Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.