We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed paradise experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papillon Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Papillon Bungalows to your Saves list
Papillon Bungalows
195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Ballerup, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed paradise experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place, relaxed atmosphere, bounty feeling, quiet but close enough to all you need, nice bungalows, very nice beach, loved the restaurant, great breakfast and friendly staff and owners. Would definitely stay here again and koh lanta is great

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We remember you very well and have to say that you really brought joy to Papillon with your wonderful attitude!

Welcome back some day!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    41
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
65
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Nice garden setting. The bungalows are average. What makes Papillon good are the staff who were all wonderful. The breakfast was very good. Like other reviewers have commented it would be nice if they had beach towels but its not that big a deal. The sheets on the beds were a bit sparse. I recommend renting a motorbike and exploring the island, there are some great beaches on the southern end.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, appreciate it. Nice to hear that our staff is nice and friendly, we think so too and are so grateful to have them.

Will think about the sheets, maybe ad something warmer. Beach towels are unfortunately too expensive for our budget (we have to send them to a laundryservice) and we don't want to increase the roomrates.

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the papillon bungalows for 6 nights of our honeymoon, we wanted a relaxed guesthouse near to the beach and we got exactly that!

The bungalows are lovely, clean and in a beautiful garden setting which sometimes made us feel like we were in the jungle with the animal noise in the night! Breakfast is included in the room rate and is one of the best guest house breakfasts I've ever had! The restaurant also serves food during the day and evening which is really good and reasonably priced.

The staff were very friendly, we rented a scooter from them which was very reasonable at 250baht per day and they were very helpful when some items of clothing went missing when we sent out our laundry all items were found and returned quickly!

The only issue we really had was the location, the main road is difficult to walk along as there is no real foot path and a lot of traffic, you can walk along the beach but there are large channels where water discharges into the sea, these can be quite deep during the evening and there is little or no light, bring a touch! To the left of the beach we found the channel so deep it was impassable in the dark.

If you turn right on the beach you will find some lovely beach restaurants and bars, lym's rice bowl, somewhere else and san's sunset bar were our favourites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Papillon. Especially since it was your honeymoon. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you again some day.

Warm regards
Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff is super friendly. The resort itself is nice gardenlike area with a pool and a cozy restaurant where u can spend time. Free wifi works in the restaurant. You can borrow dvd's and watch them in your room. Our bungalow had aircon and was really nice. Beach is close and had free sunbeds. Food in the restaurant is good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review, really appreciate it.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come back. One of the main reasons that Papillon is so nice....is because of our lovely guests. You all create the atmosphere.

Greetings from Papillon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The bungalow (we stayed in Nr. 2) was a bit disappointing and it seemed it has seen it´s best years. It was clean, but the bed was hard as a rock, no comfortable sleep there at all. We did like the little terrace, the garden and the cute little pool, which was very clean too. The staff was nice and friendly and the breakfast was OK but we expected a bit more. In our travel guide was mentioned something about homemade croissants & Co from a belgium girl, but the owner changed, no more croissants. Therefore don´t order the swedish pancakes, they were cold and tasteless, order the breakfast package with the homemade breadrolls instead, we liked that one.

The place is close to the beach, you just walk a couple of minutes and thats a plus! Overall it was OK, but you can get better bungalows for this amount of money and I think we would not return there.

Room Tip: Dont take the bungalow no. 2, try to get a newer one, if that is possible. The higher the no. the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appriciate that you took the time to give us feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you got cold pancakes..this should off course never happen and we have talked to our staff about this.
Nice to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly, we are very proud of them and we appriciate them a lot!
About the beds....yes...unfortunately most of the beds in Thailand are very hard. To find european standard of the beds, you need to pay a lot of money which a hotel in our price range can not afford unfortunately.
We agree that our bungalows are basic, Papillon is a 2 star hotel and this is what you get in this price range on Koh Lanta. We try to uppgrade and improve the standard of the bungalows every year...this year we renovated the pool and installed free wifi in all bungalows.

Kind regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found it to be very pleasant.
The bungalows aren't directly on the beach, they're a 2 minute walk away down a dirt track at the back of the garden. The beach they back into is ok, not the best on Koh Lanta but perfectly fine. There aren't any sun loungers on this stretch of beach, in fact there's not much at all on this stretch of beach, it's verrrry quiet. There is one restaurant on the beach called Lyms Rice Bowl which was nice for lunch/dinner. If you walk along the beach there are more options, but in the evening the beach is dark so you're best to go along the road. A good restaurant to go to is Thai Cat, not walking distance so get a tuktuk but it was delicious.
The bungalow itself was nice, it was clean, comfy and spacious. Bathroom was clean with a good shower. Aircon wasn't that strong but cooled the room after a while. The tv has a DVD player with plenty of DVDs in reception to borrow. You will need this as there really isn't anything else to do at night. The bar/restaurant in reception closes at 9pm and there aren't any places really nearby to go either, you're looking at a 10min walk in either direction. You can get a tuktuk to take you somewhere, or we hired a moped from reception which was really simple and cheap. I'd recommend hiring a moped to all, koh lanta is really easy to get around and you'll find some gorgeous unspoilt beaches. The sunset in a nearby village, Klong Nin, is gorgeous and there's plenty of nice beach bars to sit & watch it from.
The hotel has a nice pool. The restaurant serves good food, the breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly & helpful.
Be warned that Koh Lanta is particularly bad for mozzies, even in the daytime. The mozzie net in the room was good with no holes but still load on the repellant!
All in all it was a pleasant stay if you want a very quiet resort. Those looking for more action may prefer Klong Nin.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for this review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to hear that you like our restaurant, we try to offer a nice mix of thai and western food...and we want the thaifood to taste like real thai...which mean that you can get it very spicy if you like :-)

Good that you mention ThaiCat, this is a very nice restaurant, one of our favourites on Koh Lanta.

Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip...and you are always welcome back to Papillon :-)

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

After a nightmare of a time getting here I walked into the wonderful reception area and was greeted by smiling faces. I was then walked by the beautiful pool to my bungalow. So many small touches.... The hammock at the entrance of each bungalow, the complimentary WIFI, water, library in the dining room. The place is beautiful and steps from a beautiful beach. I could not recommend any changes... The place is perfect

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline G, Owner at Papillon Bungalows, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Ohh this really warms our hearts to hear...thank you for your kind words about Papillon :-) Hope to see you again some day!

Best regards
Caroline and Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papillon Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Bungalows

Address: 195/3 Ban Saladan Road, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Papillon Bungalows is in a quiet, peaceful garden setting with palm and banana trees,and only 150m from Long beach. The 11 airconbungalows are well spaced apart around the lush tropical garden, givinga great sense of privacy. The bungalows are also only a 1 minute walkfrom the swimming pool. The cozy Lazy Corner restaurant is also inside the resort, with normal table seating, or comfortable Thai style cushions to sit on. Owner Jens is a baker with 15 years experience, and serves fresh bread every day. Also on the menu are Thai and western dishes plus Swedish specialties & fresh coffee. Smiling Thai staff will takecare of your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Papillon Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papillon Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.