We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet (off season) beach front resort - Value for your money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Sand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanta Sand
Save
You added Lanta Sand to your Saves list
164 Klong Dow Beach Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quiet (off season) beach front resort - Value for your money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed during off season (July) and found Lanta Sands and Beach Resort to be nice, comfortable and value for your money resort to stay.

Our villa was quite spacious, and nicely appointed with both shower and outdoor bathtub. We especially love our memory foam mattress - it's heavenly to sleep in. The daybeds in the front porch and inside the room were a nice addition to the already modern and comfortable room.

The TV was a bit small and dated. No cable while we were there, but they told us that the storm from the previous week knocked down the Island's main attenna. BUT there was a DVD Player in the room and you can borrow DVDs from the front office.

Room was cleaned everyday. Clean, comfortable and soft bedding, linens and towels were also replaced each day.

Located on the northern part of Ban Phra Ae (Long Beach)- a nice and quiet white sandy beach with crystal clear blue water where you can sit and enjoy beautiful sunsets.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here at the Lanta Sands and Resort and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Delux Villa close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we arrived in July of 2012, we at first were shocked by the quiet and abandoned world of ko lanta. Our side of the island had been hit by a terrible storm in June that knocked out number of closed resorts. It was a ghost town until we discovered how beautiful it was to be peaceful. The hotel has a beautiful lay out. The landscaping is lovely. Being on the ocean is sweet. The hotel restaurant isn't great. Go out to the road and there are two good places Thai Orchid and the seemingly uninteresting place next to it which is actually incredible. Three Mums is also a great restaurant. The other places on the beach are good for a fresh coconut, but just so-so for food. So eat on the road for the yummiest and best prices. German bakery has great bread.
Rent a moped and have fun driving around the island. I think we paid $34 per night for a bungalow right by the pool. Hard to complain. Good place if you want quiet quiet. They have 3 pools. Wifi in rooms was ok -- better when folks aren't on. The bathroom is awesome. Like showering outside and there is another one actually outside of your cabana. Private

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow by the pool a room that opens into the pool. Just a cool idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. Very clean room, staff is very friendly! Beautyfull garden. There is not much to do on the island in lowseason. You can rent a motorbike. The swimmingpools are great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was at Lanta Sand Resort for 4 nights with a small group of friends. Overall, we were all disappointed with the resort. Here are my positive and negative comments:

Positive:
1. The resort is on a nice beach with a nice view, especially at sunset.

2. The staff was very friendly.

3. The food was pretty good.

4. There are some good bars and restaurants on the beach within a 2 or 3 minute walk. Our favorite bar was The Zone. Great vibe there.

Negative:
1. The rooms at the resort are in need of a major update. They were dark, dingy, dirty, and smelled like mold or mildew. There were large dirty areas on the walls around all of the light switches. My balcony had a small outdoor tub -- the tile was covered in mold, the faucet was missing, and the spout leaked water constantly. The furniture was old and uncomfortable. The rooms pale in comparison to all other accommodations we use in Thailand.

2. The AC and electricity in the room only work when the room key is in a holder by the door. So, while I was not in the room, none of my electrical devices (camera, laptop, phone, etc.) could be charged and the room got hot quickly with no AC.

3. Lanta Sands Resort seems to be very popular with two groups: (1) families with very young screaming kids and (2) overweight retired people from Northern Europe with too many tattoos. I found out that the hotel has a contract with Apollo Tours in Stockholm and offers discount packages to Sweedish tourists. I estimate that 80-90% of the resort’s clients are retired Sweedes.

In conclusion, when I return to Southern Thailand next year I will look for a different resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Travel to Koh Lanta by car, 2 ferry crossings from Krabi takes about 2-3 hours. Hotel beautiful, layout peaceful and on the beach. Spectacular beach with massage at excellent prices. Food not expensive in restaurant but Thai Cat next to hotel on beach is a must. Breakfast lovely with some variety. Main pool ok but the beach is the main attraction

Room Tip: You need to rent a car in order to explore Koh Lanta. Long beach stunning. No jet skis and motoris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in this resort for five days and loved it. Got a really good deal on Agoda.com which also made the stay great value. Quiet, clean, large rooms with a super pool. Also two minutes to the beach. Our first room was on the second floor and was a bit damp smelly so we changed to third floor which had reat view and no smell.
We had o breaky included in our deal which was a good thing since the restaurant had really slow service and was not so good. But plenty of places to eat close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose third floor for rooms as lower can smell damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We spend 4 days in Lanta Sand as friends booked charter and we joined last minute.

We just want to highlight a few things as the location and resort is very nice BUT...

- in general whole place is getting tired and need maintenance (rooms, public areas, pool areas)
- Pool - missing sunbeds, the sunbeds that are there many of them broken. Not enough sunbeds for the amount of people at the resort. The light in the pool was floating while children swimming, that was fixed after many hours from when we told the staff.
- Hotel part - a few of our friends stayed in the hotel part with pool access - please avoid this part of the resort as it stinks mold and also there the pool and access are needs a face lift
- Breakfast - very basic and not tasteful, coffee a disaster - Tips: go next door on the beach - they serve nice a la carte breakfast with lovely coffee. You do not have to have breakfast included in your rate.
- Room - we like the room but always a problem with hot water. Also one of the hardest bed we ever slept on.

Still the staff hosted us very nice as usual in Thailand.

Room Tip: bungalow with outside bathroom - avoid beach front as it is not on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanta Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sand

Address: 164 Klong Dow Beach Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Number of rooms: 145

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Sand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.