We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort. Ideal for romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anda Lay Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anda Lay Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Anda Lay Boutique Resort
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Moo 6, Khlong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 75 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 92 Reviews
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice resort. Ideal for romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The resort is so small. Only 16 villas. Ours is beachfront deluxe villa.

Went there a weekend before Songkran and stayed there for 3 days and 2 nights. The island was quiet back then, also the resort. Service was at their best for a small resort. Staffs're friendly and were willing to help with anything. Such a pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    13
    10
    11
See reviews for
13
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here in January for 5 days with my cousin and expected a very quiet relaxing part of the trip. It certainly was as this island is made for couples which we were not, none the less, the resort was very nice! The resort is located about a 20min drive from the Baan Saladan port, on Khlong Nin Beach. Along this huge stretch of beach every hotel/resort has a restaurant waiting to entice you into it for dinner or lunch so no problems with access to good food (the resort also has restaurant facilities available). The sunsets here are quite beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxed and romantic.
The rooms are very clean and modern with wooden furnishings, a fridge, safe, TV and a little moat outside the balcony. It was lovely to wake up every morning with the view of the ocean right outside our door. If you don't feel like going in the ocean, they have a great pool from which you can enjoy the view.
There are massage places, laundromats and a scuba diving place within 5mins walking distance of the resort. Also if anyone is interested in hiring quad bikes/ATVs for normal transportation, I did find a place on the way BACK to Baan Saladan but you can only drive on certain parts of the island i.e. pretty much the south half of the island, it's a great way to see how the locals live here and explore the rest.
If you're looking for the place where the young and single people hang out, ask for Mong's Bar...don't scared by the dark walk to it though! The locals here are very friendly, very different to other more touristy islands in Thailand. Overall, a very nicely furbished new hotel with friendly staff and a FANTASTIC view!

Room Tip: Great place for couples...singles might want to try another island if looking for adventure otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is situated right on the most gorgeous beach, it is so lovely, peaceful & relaxing.

The little bungalows/rooms are very comfortable and well placed for the beach, the pool and the restaurant. They have really big, comfy beds, TV, lovely designed shower rooms which have an 'open air' feel while being inside, the loo was a little smelly at times but that was more to do with the drains (you mustn't flush any tissue paper due to all of the plumbing on the Island) but the maids had called in the maintenance man to try and fix it - we weren't in the bathroom for long enough to let it worry us!
The rooms are cleaned everyday, everywhere was spotless.

We were in one of the ' beach front' rooms (103) all rooms more or less face the beach with the pool between your view with little private, decked verandas facing the sea and the gorgeous sunsets every evening .... just lovely! the resort is really safe, we didn't even lock our doors when we went out!
The front door of the rooms are closer to the road (that a few people have complained about) but it really didn't bother us at all, there is a high wall between the road & the doors, I only heard any traffic noise if I thought about it and listened carefully, the air con, the crickets & frogs (lovely noise) and/or the tv easily covered any noise - not a problem at all.

The swimming pool is gorgeous, sparkling clean, warm and was nearly empty all the time, there are just a few sunbeds - but we never had a problem getting them for the couple of afternoons we spent lounging there!

The staff are just lovely, I just cannot understand any of the previous, negative comments about any of them, they are the sweetest and most helpful hotel staff you will ever come across, the restaurant manager worked from breakfast all day and evening until the restaurant closed but nothing was ever too much trouble for him, such a lovely man, all the restaurant/bar staff were wonderful!

The food and drink served in the restaurant were a little more expensive than some of the other places but it is a fantastic place to eat and well worth the extra money in my opinion & anyway they always had 'happy hour' prices on the drinks at sunset time 100bht a cocktail, spirit or beer - life couldn't get any better :-)

There are several great restaurants & bars within easy walking distance either down the beach at the back of the hotel or the road at the front, if you want a later drink (most bars start to empty out/close by 11pm ish) try 'The Majestic Bar/Restaurant' - turn left from the back of the hotel and walk down the beach, great food, drinks & music (take your phone - they will play your music through their system!)

To visit any part of the island - stand outside the main entrance and hail a tuk-tuk, they will take you anywhere on the island really cheaply (haggle the price down!) they will even wait for you or come back and collect you, we had a couple of half days exploring the island by tuk-tuk - the drivers are lovely, they took us to see the elephants, secret beaches, the sea gypsies, shopping & even came to lunch with us :-)

We loved everything about this Island & this hotel, we have already decided to go back next year - it was perfection :-)

Room Tip: All rooms more or less look over the sea there is only the pool between the sea & the rooms, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

After we booked this we were slightly uneasy about potential road noise, so when we arrived and got the room cloest to the road we were gutted.... however we can confirm you should FEAR NOT!!! Road noise is NOT as issue. The road is not the main island route but services this beach, yes there a lots of motorbikes but the only cars are those hauling tourists from accomodation to trip centres. The road is extreemly quiet overnight and we didn't once get disturbed by it. Any noise is infrequent and not that noticeable.

Hotel is wonderfully situated, each room is a little bungalow with a veranda, and steps over the surrounding water to your room. We didn't have a sea view room but I would say these were not worth the extra cost as the swimming pool is between you and the beach anyhow. Room was clean and modern, bathroom could have done with a bit more light. Bed very comfortable, we both slept well the 4 nights we stayed.

The beach is lovely, clean and very quiet. The swimming pool looks onto the beach as does the restaurant. The food here was not as good as we had hoped, very average but perhaps we chose the wrong dishes (we had lunch and dinner here once).

There are plenty of bars and restaurants near by for you to eat somewhere different (and good)
every night.

We got a tuk tuk here from the port for 200Baht, however I think if you rang ahead the hotel could have arranged transport. The hotel arranged our trip from hotel back to Krabi via ferry at the standard price. Some other trips were being sold more expensively that other tourist offices nearby. Ocean Divers is 5mins walk down the road (turn left out of hotel) - we dived 2 days with this group and would highly recommend them.

Tips - you can get your laundry done over the road cheaper than in the hotel and its by the same people! Bring DEET, even with it I got bites although these were when out eating not in accomodation. There is no snorkelling site on this beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Due to flight delays, I was unable to arrive at the pre-paid booked date, but instead the day after. The hotel refused to change date, even though there were vacanct rooms. Could not stay there and money lost. Terrible service, and lousy English language capabilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had been staying at Khlong Dao beach with some friends and their children, but wanted to see more of Koh Lanta so we booked a few nights at another hotel on Khlong Nin since we had other friends staying down here (with kids too). We decided to extend our stay but our hotel was full so we found Anda Lay. What a lucky shot! The night before us moving there, we went for a drink on the lounge terrass - very romantic. Then when we checked in we got a very nice room, and they do not use the yellow and light blue colors a lot of other hotels favor, but more earthly colors which makes the decor more classy. Great bathrooms with good showers. It is not like 5-star Cha-Da at Khlong Dao but that was not what we were looking for, we wanted peace, quiet, beautiful surroundings and attentive staff. We got all that and more. It is a little bit more expensive but the foods and drinks are really good. We have absolutely nothing to complain about, we decided to extend our stay immediately, first with a few days and then come back another round of five days. But remember, it is not five star, it is a simple but gorgeous place and we love it - and will definitely come back. Perfect for couples.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The hotel is settled on the beach - one can contemplate the sea while swimming in the pool. Rooms are stylish, as well as the whole hotel. Good deals when it comes to the lunch set.
And here are BUTS: the price of 4300 BHT per night makes this place very overpriced. Cleaning service - bad. Staff - not trained (although nice girl and great Pakistani man on the reception desk make up this with their sincere attitude toward guests).
Water closet in our room was leaking during all our stay - smell in the bathroom was terrible for the whole week even though personnell was attempting to do something about that. The worst thing about this hotel was its proximity to the road - about 2-3 meters. Cars' and motorbikes' noise at night was difficult to accept. I wouldn't go there again, definatelly.

Room Tip: Take a room 104, 105 - they have sea view. Avoid 109 which has no sea view, but as well as the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anda Lay Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Lay Boutique Resort

Address: Moo 6, Khlong Nin Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anda Lay Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Buddhist hotel in a mainly Muslim area. Very attentive staff, stylish rooms, and a good restaurant which in the evening extended onto the sand, lit by oil lamps. The hotel is not yet quite finished (no large pool - only a large hole) so rates are half what they will be when completed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anda Lay Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Lay Boutique Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anda Lay Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.