We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lanta Resort

Save Saved
You added Lanta Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lanta Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   243 Moo 3, Pra-Ae beach or Long Beach, Ko Lanta 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 79 hotels in Ko Lanta
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February we were very disappointed the room was not ready we were told we could put cases in the room. It was just the bathroom that needed cleaning. Once we got to the room nothing had been cleaned we had to wait a further half hour . The bed looked very creased like it hadnt been changed from the previous occupant, the room was covered in dead squashed Mosquitos they could ave been easily removed with a cloth.the room smelt musty the furniture was old and stained the toilet seat was covered in black stains and looked awful. The sun beds by the pool don't have seat pads and were very uncomfortable it was also very hard to get a sun bed as many people got up ever 6 and put towels on them. Breakfast very bland nothing exciting . Overall we were very disappointed with the hotel it definitely wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    23
    12
    12
See reviews for
33
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is on a beautiful beach with lots of options for meals on the beach. At night the small beach restaurants set up lights and put tables on the beach and offer great choices for delicious food. The resort is also just a tuk- tuk drive into Saladan, an interesting little town for shopping or dinner.
As for the hotel,so much more could be done to improve it. The common areas need a facelift and need to be cleaner. We were in the garden building which looks like an abandoned original part of the hotel and the entrance and corridors were not clean. The room was large but the bathroom was very basic and could have been cleaner and there was no place to hang towels. The towels were old,thin and stained. Breakfast was average, the pool area was fine and the villas and bungalows on the way to the beach look nice from the outside. There are not even close to enough chairs on the beach and they are the white plastic kind. The beachside restaurant looks nice but we did not eat there. This hotel has such a good location and could be so much better than it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We had 5 nights at this resort in January 2013. We stayed in a delux room which had pool access adjoining our balcony which was fantastic. Our room was comfortable however we struggled to have a hot shower. Other family members who were in another room in the complex had a similar problem. We mentioned the issue however nothing changed. The daily breakfast was ok as was the poolside menu. We ate in the beachside restaurant and the food was great. The resort is in easy walking distance to lots of other restaurants along the beach. All staff were friendly and helpful with the exception of the front desk who need to work on their people skills.For what we paid we thought we got good value for our money.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed there for 3 weeks on peak season Dec 2012-Jan 2013 with my husband. We had a Deluxe Bungalow near the beach and we vere very satisfied. Had hot water when needed and if some problems the engineers vere there in a minute to fix it. Only bad thing was the stone hard beds. Because on the matresses our backs were in pain for all holiday. Matresses are always quite hard in Thailand but not like these bricks. We complained about the beds and in a minute the housekeeing ladies were making a bed again with extra blanket under the sheet. It gave a little help.

We did not have compulsory New Years gala dinner. In many other hotels we had that before but we never participate as they are quite ridiculous very often.

The beach is beautiful and nice to walk and goot to swim and there are many restaurants by a walking distance where You can keep Your toes in a sand. All of the restaurants are nice and good and most of them with reasonable prices.

And it is only few minutes walk to Klong Dao beach along the road. Take down to the beach beside the Time for Lime -restaurant.

The 300 meters walk to and from the breakfast was great. It was nice to have a good walk after too much eating. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for six nights in November, Very nice upscale resort with a semi private beach, lots of amenities but not many guests. They have a variety of rooms from simple one bedroom cabanas down by the beach to large condo type suites with private pools. Our room was large located in one of the condo conplexes, about $100 a night which for Ko Lanta is pretty expensive. Nice TV extra couch, balcony. The staff was great, Da at the hopitality desk was very helpful in booking things and recommending sights. It is located on the 2nd beach from town and away from the most popular beach . We took tuk tuks back to the Indian Bar every evening for sunset cocktails. You can walk to the next beach in about 10 minutes. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, and the hambergers at the pool were surprisingly good, other wise we didn't eat there. For the size of the facility there seemed to be very few guests. If you like a quiet get away with a nice beach and pools and want to pay extra for it this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Lanta Resort for 4 nights in January '13. Staff were friendly & helpful with good English. Good location just afew mins from Pra-ae beach. Lovely clean beach. Room was spacious, clean, perhaps a little dated looking. Hot water was an issue on one evening but this was resolved within an hour. We hired a scooter for 2 days, worked out at just €8 a day excluding gasoline. Breakfast was good but they have a big problem with flies. There are some lovely restaurants along the beach. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a somewhat similar experience to other reviews I have read about the 2013 New Years time period. We found the hotel nice and clean and the rooms were very spacious. Hot water was an issue. I mentioned it a few times and everyone seemed very concerned... water stayed cold though. We finally figured out if you ran both the sink faucet (hot) and the shower faucet ( hot), you could actually get hot water in the shower... consistently.

The staff were very friendly and fun to talk to. We broke a bottle of red wine on their white marble lobby floor when we were checking in and the staff didn't even blink. They were very kind and had the mess cleaned up (and us on to our rooms) without breaking their smiles.

The real beauty of this place is the beach. We had breakfast, lunch and supper on he beach every day and found the food and drink amazing. If you're having a mid afternoon beverage at the Pirate Bar and walk inland away from the beach you will find a little bar/restaurant called the Funkey Monkey... Very nice Thai hospitality.

The Thai Cat restaurant and bar is one of the first establishments you come to as you walk the beach from the Lanta Resort. This was our favourite. We got to know the folks there on a first name basis and had many good times over our weeks stay.

All in all I would recommend the Lanta Resort, keep your sense of humor and watch the booking details about pre-paid meals, and go enjoy the absolutely beautiful coast.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Resort

Address: 243 Moo 3, Pra-Ae beach or Long Beach, Ko Lanta 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lanta Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanta Resort offers quality accommodation in Koh Lanta, close to Saladan - Koh Lanta's centre for shopping, dining and entertainment. Our main aim is to ensure that our guests have a relaxing and memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanta Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.