We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay too long” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Phu Lae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baan Phu Lae to your Saves list
Baan Phu Lae
Maipai bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 75 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
global
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't stay too long”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

So we'll try and keep this objective so you can make some use of the review.
When we arrived we'd travelled o'night from Bangkok and were hot and tired, the staff were quite helpful and friendly when we got there and our location - bungalow with fan 20 metres from the beach was beautiful.
They did pick us up in town but the car was full and one of us had to sit in the ute which includes about 6km of dirt, very bumpy roads.
After our glorious tropical paradise swim we had a wonderful meal of bbq fish and drinks. They also organised a scuba tour at Koh Rok for us - the operators weren't environmentally conscious at all but that wasn't there fault.
We had initially booked three nights and extended it by two as we were quite happy and were starting to explore the island. That's when the problems started. Here's the list:
3 days straight at about 5am dogs started howling for about 40 minutes and nobody apologised or got up to stop the dog.
We had our washing done and it came back smelling like an open sewer.
The staff became lazier the longer we stayed and couldn't be bothered helping us.
The bathroom was like an open sewer and staedily got worse. Bathroom generally was disgusting.
We hired snorkelling gear...that they went next door to hire, we could have done that.
We hired a motorscooter...that they went next door again to hire and it had no fuel in it and they told us to get some down the road!!!!WHAT!!! Then when we got back we had to get fuel obviously and we asked for a discount seeing we left it almost full (50 baht discount when we put in 160 baht of fuel) and you'd think we were asking for a free night. We eventually got the 50 baht discount.
It was very humid when we were there and they never offered to change the sheets or clean the room.
Because we weren't eating there every meal they did not seem very helpful after that.
The door hinge had sagged and it didn't lock properly and we told them and they said the maintenance man would check it the next day- he never showed up.

The ferry off the island leaves at 8am and there is a free shuttle service from 7am down they road, they wouldn't give us a lift to meet them. They charge 150baht/person to the ferry leaving at 7am. We were happy to pay for the lift down the road but to simply refuse was a bit rich, we were basically paying there fuel to get into town so they can get supplies.
You are a long way from the town about 10km so if you want to do things on the island it's not the best place to stay because of the isolation. Activities that involve boat are okay cause they pick you up at the door/beach.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Having read several reviews we were sold by the thought of having a really remote relaxing location with beautiful views and bamboo bungalows. We expected basic but clean. What we got was nothing but sheer filth! We stayed for 3 nights and believe me, this was only because the transfer to the port was an hour drive (nearest shop was 5km away) and the close by luxury hotel was fully booked! The room was dirty when we first arrived and was not cleaned for the entire 3 days we stayed. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting with the toilet leaking all over the filthy floor. There were ants and bugs both in the toilet and the sink. The rooms although large, are dark and dingy. We didn't sleep one night of the time we were there! The bathroom tiles were severely cracked and there was a yellowish fungus growing all over the disgustingly dirty tiles! We found the staff to be extremely lazy, hungover and unhelpful. All of whom had dirty fingernails, greasy hair and smelled badly of sweat. (This excludes the bar waiter who did the fire show - he was the only one that was helpful, lively and friendly). We paid 1300bht for an aircon bungalow and we have stayed in much better accomodation for the same price. I think this was a disgrace to fellow Thai people. Do not visit this place unless you are happy to live in squaller! I would never ever return to this place.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Two great nights at Baan Phue Lae at the very beginning of high season. Absolutely laid back, it is located on Lanta's last beach and shared only by two other hotels (the luxurious LaLaanta and the Bamboo Bay on the hill). This is the place for ultimate sunsets over the sea.

The owner is a great person with a lot of taste; the food was the finest I had during my whole Thailand trip (but it was not so cheap).

Wild last bay is certainly good for playing Robinson Crusoe, but not the perfect place to spend your whole day on the beach. But that would be a shame anyway, given the jungle just behind the hotel.

One negative only: the greatly looking bamboo beds in the standard bungalow are terribly uncomfortable. Poor back!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The hard bed
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

My partner and me have been going to Koh Lanta for years and have seen the development of the island. There's a lot of choice these days. This place is one of the few that remains in a very natural setting, at the very south of the island. It takes longer to get to than other places, with more than a bit of bumpy track, but it's worth it when you find yourself staying right on a beautiful beach with the mountainous jungle, partly national park, as backdrop.

Friendly would be an understatement and the food is gorgeous. There are a couple of other resorts on the beach for a bit of dining variety. If you want to go to clubs every night it's not for you (but it might make a nice side break as a contrast). There are plenty of day trips to islands and activities like kayaking, snorkelling, elephant rides, etc for when you get bored of cocktails on the shore and you can get to places by motorbike in the daytime, and night if you want to take on the road.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — can't nip to 7/11
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

I stayed here just after Xmas last year. It was fantastic!!! The bungalows are cute and cosy. I stayed in the air con ones which are located up the hill a bit. If you love monkeys then you are sure to be delighted with sometimes seeing them outside your bungalow door.

The restaurant is divine and i had the BEST food i had in all Thailand here. And it was so cheap! I couldn't stop eating and trying new dishes every day. I think i tried to fit in 5 square meals a day, just so i didn't miss out on anything on the menu. The staff are lovely and will do anything to make your stay pleasant. Use them to book a boat trip, elephant ride or hire a motorbike.

At night there is plenty to do. The staff usually put on a fire twirling show for the guests and you can meet lots of people on the deck at night.

You will have a great time here guaranteed!

  • Liked — Food and Location
  • Disliked — Bumpy dirt road
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Phu Lae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Phu Lae

Address: Maipai bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baan Phu Lae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Phu Lae Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Phu Lae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.