We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place .... Beautifull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Phu Lae

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Phu Lae to your Saves list
Baan Phu Lae
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Maipai bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 90 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place .... Beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The beach , the food , the food , the food !
If there is any place to eat and swim and eat ... That s the place around here ... Maybe also a lot of chilling too ...for me just the perfect place to forget.the crew is the magic key.just love it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Baan Phu Lae in November (just outside peak season) of 2011 for our honeymoon. We had vaguely organised a journey around southern Thailand and were intending to stay here for a couple of days. We ended up staying for 8 days.

All the other reviews are correct - food is excellent (the best we had in Thailand), staff are extremely friendly, location is truly amazing, accommodation is basic but comfortable. Often we had the entire bay to ourselves.

The reason I'm writing a review now is because we've just come back from a holiday in India and we realised that the entire time we were actually looking for Baan Phu Lae. We stayed in a couple of bamboo beach cottages in Kerlala, India but they weren't Baan Phu Lae and so we moved on. This place has affected us forever - every beach location we visit from now on will be measured against Baan Phu Lae and I'm just not sure anything will measure up.

Go here!

Room Tip: Try the beach front cottage. They don't have AC (just a standing fan) but they're so close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had to wonderful weeks, with very very good food and drinks. Specially the iced green tea is perfect. The rooms are cleaned very often. If you are looking for an overcrowded party zone this is not the place you should go. If you want to have a nice place with good music and a cool drinks with friendly people you are right here. The prices and what you get for, is perfect.
A lot of people from the other 2 bungalow areas came very often to this place because of the excellent food

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are looking for quiet and wonderful stretch of beach, great food and incredibly friendly people on Koh Lanta, Baan Phu Lae is the place to be. It is located at the far south-end of the island in a secluded bay, very clean and charming bungalows right on the beach. We truly enjoyed our stay here!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent a week at this place and there is nothing to complain about. Our room was clean and staff was friendly. The location is amazing especially for people looking for a quiet beach and relax. The beach is actually semi-private as there are only three resorts in this bay.
The only thing we did not enjoy was a day trip to four islands. Trip was not very well organised and snorkeling gear had very poor quality. I would recommend to bring your own equipment if you plan to go for such a trip.
Anyway, food was excellent and prices affordable, however, they'll come to pick you up to the pier but transfer back will cost you 150 per person!!! It's quite a lot specially if you stayed for couple of days, ate at their restaurant and already spent lots of money in the resort! I think transfer to the pier should be for free or cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I cannot recommend a visit to the restaurant at Baan Phu Lae enough! The quality of the food is outstanding, the flavours, smells and presentation just gorgeous. The staff are friendly and chilled out, and the setting is only beautiful. We were staying at the resort next door and ate here every morning and evening during our week long stay (there were no rooms available during our visit, book well in advance!), every single meal was divine. My favorites were the homemade waffles with fresh fruit for breakfast, and the panang curry with prawns for dinner. Try the ginger ice tea, yum!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Reading the reviews, you can quickly understand that the service/staff in Baan Phu Lae are fantastic, providing some of the best food i have had in Thailand. Being somewhat isolated, the cost for food is overpriced and we found that it was easy to spend 60 USD a day without going crazy on drinks (5 USD a beer?). There are other options, but the small drop in price doesn’t provide any extra value. Time to face the facts i guess... you want to be away from the overweight resorts in Koh Lanta, this is the price.

Where Baan Phu Lae fails is on the fan rooms that have seen little love, have no hot water, are infrequently cleaned and the beds are poor to say the least. Staying in peak season, an empty room with a floor fan, a bed and a concrete toilet attached will cost you almost 50 USD? The location is stunning but that should not equate in low value for money. I get the feeling this place will not be here forever and that the owner is buying his time and not making the further investments needed.

Well worth a few days, but bargain hard for the room. Budget 100 USD a day and you will be happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Phu Lae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Phu Lae

Address: Maipai bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Phu Lae 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baan Phu Lae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Phu Lae Hotel Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Phu Lae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.