We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LaLaanta Hideaway Resort to your Saves list
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just recently had our second stay at La Laanta. We love it!

It is an idyllic location away from the tourists and the hecklers found in other parts of Thailand. The beach is beautiful and more often than not there's no one else on it. It's such a relaxing place where the days are long and hot and you can really unwind... Swim in the sea, go for a paddle on a kayak, read a book in a hammock or just lay by the pool. Life is a beach at La Laanta.

The location is superb but even better are the staff. Watchiko the manager is such an amazing host who will do anything to please you and make your stay special. He really does go beyond the call of duty to make the customers happy, and he's worth his weight in gold! The bar staff and the owners are fantastic also, and if you feel like staying up drinking at the bar until the wee hours there's always someone who will join you - and the cocktails are fantastic too!

This place is easy, friendly, relaxing and worth every penny of the few dollars more than you would pay further up the island. We will be back again for sure... and we can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    68
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
337
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The last resort on Ko Lanta, almost in the national park: this is for the people that want to be away from the crowds, and in nature. Manager Chico and his team do a really nice job of making you feel at home (and play beachvolleybal at 5PM each day!). The restaurant is good.
The cheapest rooms are way up from the beach and don't look that nice. The more expensive rooms, closer to the swimming-pool and beach are better.
But for the prizes, I think La Laanta should be more careful on the details. The entrance doesn't make you feel really welcome: first, there's a rubish-belt, then there is a lot of stuff lying around, then you enter the resort. The buffet-breakfast is so so, but the artificial juice is a no-goer in a tropical country full of fruits. The rooms could do with some more ambience.
All in all it's a really cool place to stay, but it should be better for this prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

For our second time in Thailand we decided to go back in Lalaanta for a few days. We loved it last year and we loved it even more this year. The staff is amazingly kind and funny. The facilities are beautiful (and two steps away from the beach) and the location is to die for. The food is excellent as well! Definitely the place to stay is you're looking for peace and quite. I'd recommended it to anybody especially couples! The journey to arrive there is a bit of an adventure but it's definitely worthed. And it's a lot of fun as well!

Room Tip: We stayed twice in the Sunset Splendor villas which are next to the pool and beach. And of course, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Simply one of the best places I've ever stayed at.
The location is to die for and the extremely carefully placed rooms amongst the native trees is so well planned that it's hard to see where the resort is once you're on the beach; but without a great team of people none of this would matter ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed here twice over the last two years - love it! Only reason for hesitating to write a view is that we don't want too many people to know about this lovely resort.
Excellent service, friendly staff, clean and comfortable accommodation, beautiful beaches, delicious food. What more could one ask for? It is tucked away right at the end of Koh Laanta, but if you want to get away from it all, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

After 3 weeks of backpacking we wanted some relaxation and boy did we relax!
The road to the hotel was extremely muddy due to heavy rainfalls so we had to wait in the middle of the jungle for a 4x4 to pick us up but that just added to the adventurous feeling. Upon arrival our lovely host Watchiko welcomed us and apologized many times for the somewhat troubled journey and gave us a free dinner and cocktail before showing us our bungalow at the beach with a very stylish interior and bathroom.
To enable us to stay another day we were even offered free transport to Pukhet airport with their Jeep instead of time consuming public transport.

It is a true hideaway place in the midst of the jungle with dogs, cats and strange animal noises everywhere. All of the staff is extraordinarily nice and the food is just as great.
All in all a truly amazing stay and I can only recommend this place to anyone going to Lanta.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

a really long overdue review. we had a great time, staff were genuine, welcoming, funny and helpful. We felt afterward that we'd travel to thailand again and just stay at lalaanta. The best bits i won't give away but good luck getting a scooter up the driveway after a storm!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaLaanta Hideaway Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.