We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayothaya Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ayothaya Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ayothaya Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Moo 4 Tessabarn sai 2 Road , Tambon Horrattanachai | Ampur Pranakron Sri Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Ayutthaya
Durham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights, everything about it was just 'ok'. Following the floods there seemed to be more mosquitos in the north - I forgot to spray the room one night and was well and truly munched on (50 bites in total). You can get room spray at the nearby seven eleven for approximately £1. Well worth the investment for all hotels/guesthouses in the area.
The room was dated although this was the only place I stayed in Thailand that had an actual bath. The hotel needs a make over.
The pool was very nice although quite cold- not a big problem on a hot day though. The hotel is situated on the centre 'island'. We hired bikes to go and explore the nearby ruins, but quickly found out we could have done it a lot cheaper in the next street. You can organise most things through the hotel - massages/trips, but cheaper options are available in the street to the left of the hotel (as you look at the front). A good couple of bars here as well.
The buffet breakfast was very poor. Fried eggs which were very raw and a very small choice- the worst breakfast in my month long stay in Thailand. On the second day we went out for breakfast to Tony's round the corner which was a far better option.
I'd look at the guesthouses rather than considering this hotel unless you are desparate for a swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    37
    17
    19
See reviews for
14
39
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here in august 2011 for one night. we found this a basic clean hotel with a great central location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. lots of tuk tuks and taxis available right in front. sometimes have to ask quite a few taxis before you find one that will use meter. cross the street, walk a block and go back in a block and you are into a real thai market, nothing touristy here. great location to get to Wat Maha That. Nice pool, welcome relief from the august heat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel is centrally located, clean, and most of the staff are friendly.
We paid 1200Baht a night; we were told there were cheaper rooms, but that they had no windows(!)
The free breakfast is unremarkable, and each of our 2 mornings we were subjected to cheap English cover songs coming somewhat loudly from the surrounding speakers; not a pleasant morning atmosphere.
There was a TV in our room, with 2 English stations, one news, one sports, and many Thai stations; we didn't come to Ayutthaya to watch TV, but it would've been nice to watch a movie at night. And why should falangs pay the same as Thai guests if we get 2 stations and they get 30+?
If we ever had to come back to this noisy unpleasant city, we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Despite advising through expedia that my husband, niece and myself were travelling, i.e. 3 people and would require a bed for my niece, front desk tried to tell me they were not advised (the booking slip they had in their hand clearly stated it). Therefore I had to upgrade.
* Wifi didn't work
* Computer area in foyer infested with mosquitoes
* Breakfasts awful
* Service is terrible
* Very, very shabby, the chairs in the dining room very dirty, dust everywhere. Disgusting carpets. Honestly it is revolting. There seems to be plenty of staff around not doing much.
Positives:
* Pool is nice and clean
* Convenient location (though very noisy if your room faces the main road)

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel is very depressing. The suite, 75 dollars per night, was big but dirty and everything in it was broken. Even the plastic plant lost its flowers. The staff at the reception was very unkind, wifi did not work and breakfast was terrible. Although it was quite warm, nobody wanted to swim in the depressing swimmingpool. It was as depressing as the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The hotel is situated in the city center surrounded bu foods market and numerous shop around the vicinity
It very convenient and easy to get a tuktuk should you need one
The reception counter can be helpful and courteous depending on who you meet
The room though old is ok as I am only back in the night
It also supply breakfast thoufh not so much variety, it value for money

I will want to stay in this hotel should I revisit Ayuthya

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

The hotel is very close to the bus station witch is a big plus if you want to save money on hotel transfers. You can literally walk there from the bus station. There's also a few bars around the corner and we were able to rent a bicycle right around the corner. There's shopping stalls right across the street and it's also very close to the 7 and the family mart. I highly recommend this hotel if you're in this area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayothaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayothaya Hotel

Address: 12 Moo 4 Tessabarn sai 2 Road , Tambon Horrattanachai | Ampur Pranakron Sri Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayothaya Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayothaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayothaya Hotel Ayutthaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayothaya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.