We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best soup I had in Thailand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coffee Old City

Coffee Old City
Chikul Road, Ayutthaya 13000 , Thailand
+66(0)89 889 9092
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 126 Restaurants in Ayutthaya
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Opposite Wat Mahathat.Chikul Road.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best soup I had in Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stopped here intending to have a quick drink before heading into Wat Mahathat and ended up having food as well. They are reasonably priced for the area (next door is mega expensive) and the staff were super friendly despite the small amount of English they knew.

Without doubt, I had the BEST coconut soup in the whole of Thailand here. If we had time, I would have stayed for another bowl, it was that good. My boyfriend also enjoyed his meal. Nice music playing in the background and good atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    45
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“tourist eatery in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is centrally located, just opposite Wat Mahathat with its famous 'buddha in the tree'.
You get mainly Thai food at slightly higher prices than elsewhere.
The coffees are great.
The place closes on Mondays and is open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Drawback is the toilet: No toilet paper and not working properly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location, opposite eat mahathat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great small cafe with nice coffee. Would recommend others for a pitstop. Its just opposite the eat mahthat and has a good selection of food and drinks

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“We loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place to have a breakfast or lunch. We went there twince. It has a nice view over the temples and nice decorations. Food was ok and prices are fair.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“very enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stopped in for some ice coffees and some thai food, slightly smaller portions than usual very well presented and tasty food, would definitely recommend stopping in here for a break!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Old City also viewed

Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province
 

Been to Coffee Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coffee Old City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.