We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely guest house near the station, and right on the river.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Are Gong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baan Are Gong to your Saves list
Baan Are Gong
th Rotchana, Ayutthaya, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 62 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Dover
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Homely guest house near the station, and right on the river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked one night here, breaking our train journey from Bangkok to Nong Khai. We arrived late, but it's easy to find, even in the dark. On arrival, they weren't expecting us, although I had booked on Agoda. When we checked the receipt, I had the right date, but they were expecting us a month ago! My goof, I think. However, the owner offered us her room, despite our protests, and so we ended up in a large room with 3 beds. No air con, and it was rather hot in the night. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river -moesli, fruit, good coffee. Checked out of room and stacked our packs behind the desk in reception, and went off to Ayutthaya for the day. When we got back, we went on the boat trip, then ate dinner on the terrace. They let us hang around there until it was time to go for our train. We felt completely at home (and I paid a little extra to compensate for the "no show" the month before.) Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
41
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As a solo traveler, i really enjoyed staying here! the owner and her sister are so nice and motherly take care for me. You can refused their offered to stay there again. And don't forget to take a meal in here, the food are so nice too!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I got a nice single room with shared bathroom. The bathrooms were more often clean than not and the room was nice and spacious. Upon request I got a very nice and big mosquito net, too. Staff was very helpful at all times.
The location is great: right outside the train station and just a short and cheap (4 baht) ferry ride away from downtown where rooms are at least 100 baht more expensive though!
The restaurant food was always fantastic and the food was served in western not thai portions which was a nice surprise. The walls are just a little thin, but as a hardend traveller you sleep with earplugs anyway!
I can only recommend this place to anyone who plans to go to Ayutthaya, There are some really lovely dogs too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this guesthouse on agoda and checked in for a 2 night stay in a superior queen room with a private bathroom and hot water shower. Upon check in, we were told that the hot water was broken and if we wanted to have a hot shower we would have to go upstairs and use the shared bathroom that the other rooms share. At first, I accepted this but upon thinking on it I realised that I had paid extra to have a private bathroom so went to discuss it with the owner. As they were full, she couldn't move us. After a lengthy discussion, her and her sister decided that an appropriate amount of compensation (as they had already received our money via agoda) was 30 baht ($1) a day. I'm sure that we were given the broken room as our money was already received and I said to the lady that "if you didn't already have our money we would leave and go somewhere else". This is what prompted the giving of 30 baht a day.

We decided to have lunch at the hotel as we'd travelled for 6 hours and it was easy. My fried rice was boring and service was slow. I ordered a large bottle of water - "no have, only have small" so I ordered a small bottle of water. After 10 mins of waiting I went to the fridge and got it myself, none of them were even cold.

Pros:
Good airconditioner
Large tv (albeit with one English Channel)
Comfy pillows
Decent wifi strength

Cons:
Rock hard bed
Walls that don't go all the way up in the bathroom so smells dissipate across the room
Door that closes by padlock only and thus can be opened a little
Barking dogs in the hallway directly outside the door that wake you up multiple times a night (owners dogs and they didn't try to silence them). Also some very loud people in the middle of the night. I think it's the owners locking the place up.
Our room wasn't made up, not even new toilet paper was given.
No hand soap for the wash basin

Additionally, we booked a scenic boat trip with the owner. She seemed very disgruntled that she actually had to do something. She phoned the man and he came to collect us. I only speak very basic Thai but I distinctly heard the words for 300 mentioned at least twice. We were charged 400. 100 baht cut for a phone call? A bit much.

The icing on the cake is when we checked out. We asked if we could sit in the restaurant and order some drinks (eg be paying customers) and we were told yes, but that a tour group was coming and we needed to be gone by then. It's not like we were just asking to sit for free, we ordered drinks.

Very unhappy, wouldn't recommend this due to the poor attitude of the staff. For the price, the facilities aren't great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lop Buri, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very clean, nice and beautiful guesthouse. But most of all very kind people who can help you with anything. In front of the place is the old guesthouse which burned down a few years ago. But you will have to look past that. It is near the train station and right next to the ferry. On the downside, the rooms are a bit noisy but there you have earplugs voor toch?

Room Tip: You don't need AC!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

You could not ask for a more convenient location for a guesthouse. Exit the train station , cross the street and go to the end of the Soi. If that was not enough the ferry to Ayutthaya Island is located just beyond the the hotel - maybe 20 yards. The rooms are small but clean with ensuite and strong WIFI. The staff is excellent and speak English well. A real deal for about $16 double!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The lady who owns the place speaks good English and is very helpful, although she can be sometimes a bit impatient while talking to her. The shared bathrooms are very clean and the place has a nice atmosphere with all the wood around. We stayed in the rooms upstairs which were a little bit noisy due to the thin wooden wall to the neighbour rooms. It's very near to the train station (5 mins walk) but also just next to the riverside. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the walls to the neighbour rooms. Some are just made out of glass and covered with a curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Are Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Are Gong

Address: th Rotchana, Ayutthaya, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Are Gong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Are Gong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.