We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Stay at a Cool Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JC Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JC Residency to your Saves list
JC Residency
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Convent Road, Naidupuram | Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Lucknow, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm Stay at a Cool Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I enjoyed my 4 day 4 night stay at the cool and cosy JC Residency. The room was spacious, neat and organized. Room Service & House Keeping team was quick & courteous. Food was delicious and the plates/cutlery were clean. Ambiance and the air was positive and gave a homely feeling. The entire staff including the Restaurant Manager and the General Manager were polite, concerned and courteous. Need to provide tea kettle and material in rooms.

Property worth staying with family and kids. Special attraction birds like Emu, game room, kids play area and bonfire space.

Prabhakar Sinha

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    78
    30
    10
    12
See reviews for
90
57
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
udaipur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at JC Residency for four nights. The resort is quite and peaceful. Though one does not get the scenic view of the Kodai hills but the ambiance is good and it has a small zoo with birds and Emu.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Bathroom is good and good qualities of toiletries are available.It would be nice if Tea making facilities can also be added in the room amenities.

The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly. The restaurant manager is too polite and very good. I being from Rajasthan and a strict vegetarian was bit apprehensive of food but to my pleasant surprise, I relished every dish served.

I recommend the property to all those who wish to visit Kodai and love peaceful, homely and nice stay must try this. The food and services are very good. I even enjoyed a ten minute massage on massage char.

C. P. Kumbhat

Room Tip: Just go there, they will give you the best possible rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we have stayed in this resort as a group and we enjoyed our stay, resort is very near to the lake and market. The rooms are clean specious with good view.

Restaurant buffet was decent, but could have been better.

Resort has game room, children's play area and campfire.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The property is really good, nice location not far from the city , just 15 min walk from the lake. The rooms are really spacious and have good view. The food is good. There is alot of space for bonfire and place for kids to play. The staff is really friendly and helpful and makes sure that the stay is comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed with my team of 12 in JC Residency. The location is excellent. It is bang in the city yet far from regular hustle. Market and tourist spots are at walkable distance. The package offered included breakfast which is good if you are starting for early sightseeing. The hill view suite room was pretty big to accommodate four of us with big and neat bathroom.The only trouble was with the room heating mechanism. The hotel staff was quite cooperative and helped to chart out itinerary for local sightseeing. The hotel also has a Children's park, Camp fire area and a small bird zoo too.. There is no bar attached to the hotel but has a pretty good restaurant. I would recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

i have stayed here 2 nights, the stay was really nice except few negatives. First i am listing the Pros,
1> Spacious and light filled rooms.
2> Kids play area.
3> Buffet Break fast and Dinner(not i am not saying lunch here)
4> Quite atmosphere inside the hotel.

Now Cons,
1> Even though they claim it is 24 hrs Hot water, it is not so hot during day hours. probably they would have a auto heat mechanism and keep it off always, because if called the maintenance then after 20 mins the hot water is coming.
2> Phone sockets in room is malfunctioning(room no 302 and 304)
3> Lunch is very worst and too expensive, it spoils all other reputation of JC.
4> No so smart front desk executives. my Kids age were 6 and 1, but in the entry they marked as 7 and 11(because of this confusion, there was a delay in bill settling too). even i have already give the age correctly while booking online itself.

All otherwise it was a nice stay for us enjoying the Kodai during its off-season weather.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying with us at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay.

With regards to the hot water usually we maintain a temperature of 50-60 degree in the morning and evenings,in the day time only luke warm water is available.

Sorry about the food taste at the restaurant,we will seriously look into the food taste.

The phones have been sorted our now and is now is perfect condition.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.
With best regards
Arokiasamy-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a wonderful stay in Kodiakanal and specially at JC residency. Service was quite good.
We also got the complementary up gradation from Super Delux to Honeymoon suite at time of arrival.
Only concern was the hot water. Only the warm water was coming. After requesting twice for hot water, we got this.
The staff ( manager- Suresh and spot boy- Ramesh) was very cooperative. Food was average.
Variety can be more but nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Please call them for Free Pick and drop service from Bus-Stand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.
Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.
With best regards
Arokiasamy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JC Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JC Residency

Address: Convent Road, Naidupuram | Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JC Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JC Residency is a landmark on the Convent Road, located just a km from Kodai Lake. Some of our highlights are:-*Ideally located *Spacious car parking *Indoor games and gym *Credit Card facilities* Spacious rooms *Amphi-Theatre for barbecue diners and bonfires.*Night ride & Estate trip*State of Art-Conference hall (100 pax 'theatre style' & 35 pax 'U shaped'.)The room facilities are as follows:-•Spacious room size with Garden or Mountain views• Pine & Petals- multi-cuisine restaurant, room service•Wi-Fi internet available at the reception•LCD TVs in Royal and Luxurious Queen Size beds with soft pillows &Mattress•Godrej digital safety lockers in all rooms•24 hours hot water•Daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JC Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jc Residency Kodaikanal
Jc Residency Hotel Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JC Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.