We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay by the Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44, Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Super Stay by the Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Sterling's Kodai By The Lake is indeed a great resort. Excellent location coupled with a smart renovation makes this a highly recommended resort. The hotel staff are very friendly and the property is clean and neat. But it's location by the lake (actually 300 meters away) that makes it a great resort to stay in. The food is good and the rooms are well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    140
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
195
69
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great property, one of the flagship resorts of sterling and renovated recently as well. On the whole, it comes across as an excellent vacation option though its location is not in a very desirable place, considering the connections to the central area of the town.

Excellent checkin courtesy and helpful housekeeping functions add to the charm of the place, as much as the games and delicious food available in their restaurants.

Worth visiting, certainly among the best in kodai.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I write this review primarily for members of Sterling Holiday Resorts who over the past few years have been time and again disappointed in the maintenance and quality of the properties. At this visit to Sterling Kodai by the lake (earlier known as Sterling Lake View) we were struck by the vast quality improvements over the past few years. This resort has now been fully renovated. The earlier full kitchens have been replaced with a 'dry kitchen' (microwave, kettle, fridge). Tea bags, coffee, sugar and creamer sachets are provided, and refilled by housekeeping as necessary. Furniture in the rooms has been updated. The living rooms in the one and two bedded apartments feature an open-out futon bed that comfortably sleeps two. It is however not suitable for elderly persons or people with mobility issues. The linen seems to have all been replaced though there seemed to be a shortage of towels when the resort was full.
The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets in the restaurant mimic those in the other leading timeshare company in India! They also offer family dining discount coupons for members. The food was quite good though may not be gourmet - we never felt the need to eat outside the resort during our three days stay.
Housekeeping and restaurant were a little short staffed during peak periods.
Holiday activities has been refurbished. There are a lot of things to do at the resort. The bicycles available on hire were of good quality and price competitive with those available in the town.
The distance into Kodai town may not be walkable for all (3 to 4 kms). The resort provides
drop off and pick up facilities to and from the resort at prices competitive with the taxis in town.
All-in-all we enjoyed our stay very much and have already recommended this place to a few of our friends who are also Sterling members.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

i liked to stay in sterling resort in kodaikanal , i have booked my rooms through on-line , when i called the resort to reconfirm my booking Mr.Jia ( front desk )spoke to me and confirmed my booking ,i request for good room . the room offered me was excellent with good view.
all was good they had many varieties for breakfast ,but food cost expensive
staff was good and co operative

i once again thank Mr.Jia for making our stay memorable one

it was very hard to park our car
no news paper was provided

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The property is very big but well maintained. Food quality is good and spread also large. This resort overlooks lake. Other surrounding are also soothing. Resort staff keep you busy with some activities even if you are not going for sightseeing. Rooms are well maintained.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice property suitably located near Kodai lake

We were allotted a cottage with 2 bed rooms & 1 hall wit a mini kitchen,although we has booked for 2 deluxe rooms

Property was typically 2 small bedrooms ,were lot of difficulty was faced opening our luggages to unpack,kitchen space was waste
1st floor b/room was provided with TV,ground floor had no TV ,only in living room it was provided.
Balcony was very good with lake view.Room service was good
Buffet break fast was ultimate with all varieties available

Spa was good but expensive

All other activities were expensive

Ala carte dinner was good

Room Tip: All rooms are away from main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent a week at this resort recently. There has been over all improvement in all aspects. It now certainly deserves the Gold Crown rating awarded by RCI.

The two bedroom apartment was tastefully furnished. The buffet in the restaurant offered a wide choice of dishes and the preparations were superb. Service was good. They also laid out a private candle light dinner for a birthday celebration, which was a great experience. All arrangements for local sight seeing and the airport transfer went without a hitch, except for a small hick up.

The staff was extremely courteous and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable. Over all a fantastic family holiday.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apts located at the top most location in the estate offer the best lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 44, Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Kodaikanal Lake View Hotel Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.