We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open the Windows, let the WiFi come in !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal to your Saves list
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Open the Windows, let the WiFi come in !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We reached “Kodai Hill Country Resort” by taxi around 8 AM. The “Kodai Hill Country Resort” is a wonderful place that is constructed on the slopes of a hill; it is made of stone structures that are neatly spread out. They have beautiful gardens and well-manicured lawns. It looks great. They have collaborated with Mahindra Holidays as well. A wonderful location away from the city with a great view.

Now to the title of this post, as I checked-in, I checked on the promised Wi-Fi access as is my must always, which was kind of thrown in with the list of amenities. This place had charged good money and I wanted to make sure that they satisfied my cyber addiction, moreover having been web starved for the last few days and my “USB Internet Dongle” not finding a signal either, I was desperate for my cyber fix. He promised me that all is well and that they had Wi-Fi that reaches my room. So I went to my room, no Wi-Fi, after multiple calls he blamed it on my laptop, so I took it to him and showed it to him, then he said he will talk to the provider, he promised to call me back. He called back after 30 minutes and told me “Please open your windows and try again” being a nice guy that I am I did as instructed, barely managing to suppress the laugh that came to me. Short story, I finally got Wi-Fi and I got to keep my windows closed!

Room Tip: Try to find one with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    96
    46
    12
    11
See reviews for
155
71
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banga, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and overall experience was very nice.Loved the food and everything in the resort is very well maintained.You can really spend some quality time in the resort as it has many things to offer.It is 4 to 5 kms away from the city and they should just put more sign boards for directions.

Room Tip: We took regular cottage and it is good for 2 couples or a family of 4. I recommend cottage over roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Thank you Madam for the review, it is appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. We look forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spend 2 days in august with family and friends. Food was fairly good but pricey.Rooms basic amenities with small kitchen.Property fairly maintained.You need Vehicle for transportation.
Overall because of club mahindra membership ok.
If asked to pay and stay will think 2ice in view of cost & distance from lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erode
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

thanks to the manager mohan the event manager rajasekar and the chef & his team for the wonderful stay at the resort for weekend of our get to gether with family.

the evening was wonderful with rajasekar doing good things around us

food is good service is also good rooms r neat & clean

good place for a holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
We are glad that you had a great holiday at Hill Country. Thank you for your feedback, it is of immense value to us. We look forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

IT s a beautiful resort located 5-6 kms away from the busy kodai town. We stayed for two nights and it was a memorable time in the resort . one can just roam around the resort premises itself for hours together...it gives such a nice ambience. Food was a bit expensive,,but still quantity of the food they provided was really good and taste was excellent. Nature lovers and those who just want to relax with their family can go for this resort...believe me it is one of the most places we ve ever stayed..so far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked 1 bedroom set through our Club Mahindra membership. Resort has 61 rooms, out of which club Mahindra has taken 16 rooms. Resort is located about 4-5 km away from Kodaikanal. Resort doesn't have any sign board to guide the way. Approach road from main road is horrible, one get doubts all way if one is on right track. Resort has small activity room which has TT table, carom board, books, ludo, chess and small area with kid slide, swing. Other things like Spa, Pool table are on charge. Apart from this, they have few swing, slide in open area. They have one music room for Karaoke which functions based on occupancy in resort. Rooms are scattered on uneven terrain and if you are going in rainy season better take your own umbrellas, resort have very few. There doesn't seems to be power backup, however room would have candle, just to make those moments more memorable. Resort has restaurant however it is very expensive, almost five star rates. In summary, i would say this is an average resort, away from city, doesn't have any restaurant nearby as alternate.

Room Tip: In our last trip in 2006 we stayed in Highland parade, it had better view and better service.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location - It is is the best for those who wish to stay close to the mountain ranges (about 5 kms from the main Kodai lake). Very good sunset view point.
Food- Expensive. But the items are very tasty and the service is great. No occasion to complain in my four days stay.
Travel- In case you are not driving on your own, then you shall appreciate the dedicated travel desk with economical packages for local touring in case of group travel. While exclusive cab facility is made available at short notice also.
Room- Have stayed in a premium suite which accommodates a couple with a living, bed room with attached toilet and a dedicated balcony and 24 hr hot water. The view from the balcony is landscaped play area overlooking the mountain ranges.The room size is average but not too big, that seems sufficient for just two people.

The stay was quite peaceful and we planned our day at leisure covering a few places each day.
We had really missed the fireplace inside the room though heater is provided on request. However, there is no On-demand bonfire arrangement in the open air where the guests who are interested can come around. However, this is considered as a premium service making it available only to a larger group of guests between 7:15 to 8:30 PM only. There is also an indoor games room to play TT, Carrom, Chess, Snooker, etc. Do not expect premium suite to have the WOW factors like candle light dinner, bonfire on request, chocolates in the room, welcome drink,etc. These are something I guess will be available only if you are a customer of the holiday package and not if you plan resort, travel, etc independently.

We had our return bus at 6PM. Though the checkout was in the morning, we had been accommodated till 4 in the evening without any hiccups. Thanks to Rajasekhar and courteous staff who made our stay pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed hill view room. I find two trees obstructing the hill view partially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.7 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#4 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jai
Hotel Jai
#9 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#16 of 74 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#44 of 74 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal

Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.