We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unpleasant stay indeed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mount View

Hotel Mount View
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mount View to your Saves list
Hotel Mount View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5/324 & 5/325 Laws Ghat Road | Close to Zion School, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai
1 review
“An unpleasant stay indeed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

I had one of my friend's wedding in Madurai on 8th Dec 2008. So, I planned for a trip to Kodaikanal as the preceeding 2 days are weekend holidays. I informed my wife about the plan and she is excited. So, I booked direct ticket from Chennai to Kodaikanal in KPN Travels. My plan was:

Friday Night (5th Dec 2008) - Chennai - Kodaikanal.
Saturday & Sunday - Kodaikanal Site Seeing
Sunday Evening (7th Dec 2008) - Kodaikanal - Madurai
Sunday Night - Monday Evening - Madurai Stay
Monday Night (8th Dec 2008) - Madurai to Chennai.

I booked for return journey from Madurai to Chennai in ABT Travels. So, for stay in Kodaikanal, I was browsing for good hotel and online booking. I was very much impressed by the website of the hotel (Hotel Mount View - www.kodaimountview.com) and the room tariffs and proceeded to book online through cleartrip.com. For checkin details, I gave 6th Dec 2008 date and checkout, I gave 7th Dec 2008 and proceeded to book so called Super Deluxe Room. I made Rs. 1571.00 and I got the booking confirmation to my mail id stating that DURATION: 2 DAYS & 1 NIGHT. So, I was very much relaxed as I can spend 2 days fully in the same hotel.

My wife and me started our journey towards Kodaikanal happily and reached Hotel Mount View @ 8:00 AM on 6th Dec 2008. I showed the room booking confirmation mail to the reception and the person sent a room boy to show me the room. When I saw the room, it was like a Deluxe Room and not like a Super Deluxe Room as the photo in the website. I asked the room boy what type of room is this. He said its a Deluxe Room. I then asked him I booked a Super Deluxe Room and why are you showing the Deluxe Room. Then the room boy told me to clarify the same with the receptionist. I went to him and asked him for Super Deluxe Room and what you are showing is a Deluxe Room. Then, he said that the room which is alloted to me is a Super deluxe Room. I then asked him when I saw the photo of the superdeluxe room in your website, it looked different and what you are showing is like the photo of a Deluxe Room. Then he said that in website, we have put the photo of Deluxe and Suite Room only and not Super deluxe Room. He refuced to show me the other types of rooms too. I can't do anything else but to stay in the Deluxe Room (Costing Rs. 1100) after paying for the Super Deluxe Room (1571.00).

We thought, its ok we will adjust as most of the time we are not going to stay in the room, but will go for site seeing. The worst thing happened the next day 7th Dec 2008 morning 10:00 AM. We got a call from the reception that our checkout is at 10:00 AM. I was shocked to hear that because, in the booking confirmation, It was printed that the stay is for 2 Days and 1 Night. Still I have a full day to stay in that room. I again went to the reception with a copy of my booking confirmation email that clearly says this. I entered into a quarral with the Receptionist and nothing is happened. He strictly said that I need to pay more (Rs. 1226 Extra) to checkout at 4:30 PM that day. Then I paid Rs. 1226 extra. The worst thing is that they are not accepting the Credit / Debit Card Payment also. One person is telling that they will accept Card payment and other person is telling they won't accept card payments.

The other incident is that, they have a site seeing package (one full day by car). I called up reception to get details on this on 5th Dec 2008 and the person said they have a package that costs Rs. 750 per Day for site seeing in a car. When I reached the hotel the next day and asked for the package, they said the same package costs Rs. 800. I said ok and I said I will pay it while checking out. I booked the package and the car is ready and we went for site seeing. Everything was fine on the first day. On sunday, while checking out, I was standing in the reception. One more couple was enquiring about the site seeing package. The receptionist said, the package would cost Rs. 750. and he paid for it and went for siteseeing. So, when I saw the bill, I was charged Rs. 800 for siteseeing and I again shouted at the receptionist as to why they charged Rs. 800 for the same package which the other couple was charged Rs. 750. He could not answer my question and he started blabbering something and finally agreed to reduce the site seeing charge by Rs. 50 and I paid 1226+750+Dinner,Coffee, etc.

So, my sincere advise is not to encourage these kinds of misrepresentations and frauds while you travel to Kodaikanal and planning to stay in HOTEL MOUNT VIEW, KODAIKANAL.

  • Liked — Location, Food
  • Disliked — Misrepresentation by Hotel Staff, Unclear Answers for Queries from Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
14
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

Though it is said that this hotel is located just a KM from the Kodai lake I felt it is little more might be 2KM (as I walked it down thrice). The view around is not that great but the hotel (building) is quite good with 26 rooms.

I am not sure if any hotel prepares no food in off-season because I was left hungry with this reason. But again 15th Dec to 15th Jan is said to be a season!!! You will be surprised to find some south Indian dishes cooked to the perfection but others lack the taste in it. Definitely there is a scope for improvement in quality and quantity of food served. Hope on some day the restaurant will have at least half of the items ready to be served as listed on the menu. If some one has visited this hotel during the season will be glad to know more.

Hot water… you should ask for it or be ready to withstand the cold water during the winter season. Lastly, forget using your credit card over here and carry the cash or DD sent before you arrive.

  • Liked — Good rooms
  • Disliked — Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not expect
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View

Address: 5/324 & 5/325 Laws Ghat Road | Close to Zion School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mount View 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mount View, situated at the entry point and is close to all tourist attractions within Kodaikanal. The Hotel maintains a homey atmosphere with impeccable hospitality and flawless service equal to international standards of star quality and comfort having well-furnished rooms, family and honeymoon suites. Hotel Mount View can suit every taste with all its modern amenities and facilities including conference hall, restaurant, gym, sauna and Ayurvedic massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mount View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.