We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTABULOUS -An amazing place for a holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Retreat
Save
You added Hotel Villa Retreat to your Saves list
Near Coakers Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FANTABULOUS -An amazing place for a holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hi, I am writing this quite late , couldn't stop writing though.
Must tell VILLA RETREAT is an amazing place to visit and stay in kodaikanal.
Had been there in mid July for our birthday celebrations come holiday stay and must say this was one of the best seasons to visit this place. They have a wonderful staff to greet you and help in all the ways possible.
The rooms are clean, spacious and luxurious for a weekend stay. The balcony gives a splendid view of Kodai kanal. This retreat is situated on top of Kodai and is attached to Coaker's walk which is a must for all visitors.

Food also is good and kitchen is maintained neatly which is most important for visitors like us.

All in all this truly is a number 1 ranked place to stay in Kodai. Am def planning to visit this place again.

Regards
Praveen

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are too good to stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    221
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
250
356
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Villa retreat is a very very nice place to stay in kodaikanal.everything is beyond our expectations.we didnt face any kind of problems there through the whole stay.staff is very helpful and food is also good.especially the view from the dining is excellent and that will be one of the attaracting things that anyone would like to book this villa retreat.we loved this place hope

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at "VILLA RETREAT" in June 2013. It was nice experience staying in villa retreat. Had been to this place with my family for 2 days,as the name suggest its a real "retreat" in the lap of the nature from all the madness of the daily life.Situated on a strategic location in Kodai & the breathtaking view of the valley makes this heaven a very special place in Kodai. It is adjacent to Coakers walk entry. Valley view is very nice from this hotel garden.Staffs were very humble and active. Room service is great and food is simply delicious try their fish curry and veg parathas you'll relish each morsel as it melts in ur mouth. Overall it was a great experience and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The word for it is "Fantabulous"... We had booked it online and right from the time till the end of our trip. The whole experience has been beyond our expectations. The Villa Team takes the services experience to the next level, they just pamper you with more of it each time.The biggest Wow is that the property overlooks a breath taking view. Also that since they are in the city, it helps in taking late night walks (A must do, at that weather). Our sight seeing and outing scheduled was very well planned that we not only made it to almost every locale,but also got to go to the mannavanur lake trip was an wonderful nature walk trip. You get to play hide and seek with the clouds... As it was our romantic get away, the naughty villa guys had decorated our room and also made arrangements for a candle light dinner at our room, with the Chef presenting their delicacies personally... We were just Awe struck!!! Alltogether it was a wonderful experience with lovely memories lasting a life time. Thanks to the entire Villa team for making our stay very memorable, special thanks to Javed & Dheena (Excellent host's). looking forward to our next trip at Villa Retreat..!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room that ovelooks a breath taking view.... Waking up to that view... Wow..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thekkady, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had been to this place with my family for 2 days,as the name suggest its a real "retreat" in the lap of the nature from all the madness of the daily life.Situated on a strategic location in Kodai & the breathtaking view of the valley makes this heaven a very special place in Kodai. Above all was literally astonished to see the service level right from the gate keeper to my good friend Javed.Each staff was competing themselves in terms of service and this is the highlight of the property.Neverthless to say the chef and the crew is amazing.Thanks for all the mouthwatering dishes we ordered.To me Villa Retreat will be your place if you are looking for Exceptional service level,Hygienic food & safe place to stay in Kodai.Hats off to Javed and his entire crew for showcassing this wonder.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Myself and my hubby visited "VILLA RETREAT" last month. It was a wonderful and ofcourse romantic holiday indeed. My husband booked it online and it was a surprise to me as it was our first wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Valley view room, which made us stay in the room longer rather than going out for sightseeing. The Villa staffs made our anniversary much more special by giving us lots and lots of sweet surprises. The way the room was decorated for our anniversary celebration was damn romantic I was just awestruck after entering the room. If i start writing about the villa staffs think this review will become an essay. Starting from Javed the manager to the steward Mani everybody made our holiday awesome. The F&B team was also great, the way Murugan takes care of the taste is fantastic. Of course Loyal and Rajan were also doing their job great. Even the driver Eshwaran they arranged was too good, he helped us clicking lots of pictures. He was a good guide too.This is one of the best hotel at Kodai. The best thing is that it is very near to many site seeing places,which we can reach by just stepping out of the hotel. This will be one of the best and romantic holidays forever and “Villa Retreat” plays a major role in it :)

Room Tip: Choose valley view room. Esp. Room 107 or 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was nice experience staying in villa retreat. It is adjacent to Coakers walk entry. Vally view is very nice from this hotel garden. Also staffs were very humble and active. We found their foods were good compare to other restaurants in Kodaikanal. So, If you are going to kodaikanal then you can think of staying in this Hotel!!!! Vally view rooms are good!!!

They may take time for food delivery as they prepare it fresh... So, keep patience :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Retreat

Address: Near Coakers Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Retreat is an ideal choice for honeymoon couples and small families eager to savour and cherish the bygone era of staying in a traditional, charming, luxury, English Cottage. The architecture of Villa Retreat in Kodaikanal bears a strong semblance with the Victorian style chalets and villas, a perfect alternative to the contemporary hotels in Kodaikanal. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.