We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very memorable stay at Villa Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Retreat
Save
You added Hotel Villa Retreat to your Saves list
Near Coakers Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
“Very memorable stay at Villa Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

After a long time, I had decided on a vacation with family... I couldn't have asked for a better place than Villa Retreat. My stay was made memory able by the wonderful location, well maintained landscape...Friendly staff (Javed and Saif in particular)

Don't miss the breakfast... The Sambar is out of the world...

Room Tip: The Deluxe Suite is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    223
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
251
356
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I choose this hotel purely based on Tripadvisor reviews. And i was not wrong. This hotel has an excellent location with few rooms facing the valley. I was in the Deluxe Suite which has best location. I had booked for 4 nights. But i reduced my stay to 3 nights. But hotel asked to pay for the 4th night too (Not happy). The package for 4 nights for Deluxe room was 21584/- in the last week of October 2012. This hotel can be booked only from their website or calling the front desk.
This hotel holds a strategic location too. Its just next to Coakers Walk and walking distance from Park, Bus Stand & Market.
The hotel food was very delicious. We eat all days, both meals at this hotel. Basically, Kodaikanal dont have much restaurants that you can go out and enjoy. This hotel makes excellent wheat parathas and chicken. But dont expect a fabulous restaurant in this hotel for sitting. We always ordered food on the room. The hotel restaurant is very small and not for having dinner. You get Rs300 for 2 people to order for breakfast and you can choose from the menu. Its not a buffet breakfast.
Just to tell you all, this hotel is next to a church and your sleep may be disturbed starting 5am morning till midnights.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe suite rooms that face the valley. Other rooms dont have valley view. Check my phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As i started traveling up from madurai to the top of the hill to Kodai, the firat view of crowded market / full of small hotel make me think twice - "Did i make a good choice to pick up this location", but my view changed totaly after what happned.

The moment we were shown our room & the wonderful view from the room was simply mood changer. And on the top of that the spicy & delicious food just got my mood back. A walk along the kodai lake & riding cycle in the misty path under light rainfall made it all look so filmy & out in new world :)

And the villa's location next to coaker walk which gave again a wonderful view. late evening grabing a Dominoz pizza with a coffe in CCD is just the way you want to spend you eveing which i just 5 mins walk from the vila.

To my best, the CAB arrangmnet done by the villa was just an extra toppings which is always a tough task to get best CAB rates to travel.

The special treatment by Javeed & team is simply awesome, which included a surprise candle light dinner along with a complimantry home made chocolates and sweet dish and more.


P.S : Being a avid traveler / photographer this Resort is in my Top 3 must stay resort as of now after traveling half the india. Its the best in Kodai & best for its service, location, hospitality and delicious cusines. A definelty go for this resort. I can vouch on this.

Thanks Javeed & team for amazing hospitality & delicious spices.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the coakers walk or valley. I can suggest room no 108 or 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I visited Kodaikanal on an official errand in the month of October 2012 and it was really a very nice experience staying in this hotel with number one room service and neat and clean rooms.You just have to ring the reception and there are you are your errand is done very fast.Any delay is also apologised by responsible people then and there.
Dr.Subramonian.
Guinness World Record Holder in Online Teaching.

Room Tip: Reserve in advance to get the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I went with my 27 family members to this hotel which i personally booked . They were 12 children and rest adults. In short I will say, we were not dissapointed . had a wonderfull 3 days in kodai.
Hotel was good, location excellent, food neat( but small quantity for our large family) . service tip top and helpfull. the rooms were very comfortable.
but weather was unpredictable but still enjoyable. most of the time felt like at home and there were also books to read in the dining room.....
adv- great hotel.cosy rooms .good location and service good . helpfull and caring people. hospital was just near by( which was god sent becoz the kids became sick)
disadv- room was too cold because of climate . room heater was only working in night for some rooms. food costly. unpredictable climate couldnt see much places
tips- if your going in oct- order room heater.
take lots of winter and rainy cloth. dont expect to sight see places in this month becoz it will be misty and unpredictable. spend time in lake and park and the city.
I feel this is the best time for couples rather than family with the hotel and view of kodai valley behind the hotel...
a big thanks to Mrs Zeena , zohaib for making our first family trip a success

Room Tip: take family suite if u want lots of space and have kids classic rooms with a kodai valley view is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A great spot and it was very special sitting outside soaking up the view over breakfast. The dining hall was great and we loved the food, especially the vegetable soups. Gardens and grounds are very well cared for and add beauty, staff friendly and welcoming. Booked a classic room and whilst the view was awesome, the room was quite small, the bathroom was in need of some serious renovation and on arrival we found the room filled with gigantic mosquitoes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Villa with a Standard room, which was no less than a suite. Clean and spacious rooms. Best part of the place is the location and the valley view from the garden. It is next to
Coakers walk and byrant park - Kodai lake. The travel desk arranged for the sight seeing and took care of all the needs.
We felt so pampered , the food was also amazing.
This is very close to the Bus stand and eating joints like Dominos.
It is worth every penny. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Retreat

Address: Near Coakers Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Retreat is an ideal choice for honeymoon couples and small families eager to savour and cherish the bygone era of staying in a traditional, charming, luxury, English Cottage. The architecture of Villa Retreat in Kodaikanal bears a strong semblance with the Victorian style chalets and villas, a perfect alternative to the contemporary hotels in Kodaikanal. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.