We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to a small heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Retreat
Save
You added Hotel Villa Retreat to your Saves list
Near Coakers Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A trip to a small heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed in the deluxe suites at this retreat after a vacation in Ooty. Far from the maddening crowds of Ooty this place was a bliss in solitude. You can't ask for a better location and service. Pros - dream location, total professionalism, very clean, small but well manicured lawns and gardens, a bee hive (box) adds to the cuiosity of kids, suite 102 is quite comfortable for 2+2 family, suite 101 is slightly smaller but gr8 view. Cons - At night constant knocking(hammering at times) on the ceiling by either squirrels or birds. Well may b deliberately designed for an eco feel but definitely did'nt like that lullaby. A special note of thanks to Mr Zoheb for his professional approach. He made sure that we got the complete refund for one room we cancelled. Thanks to Peter for his gr8 service and to Asif for his ever helpful nature. I must admit that one will not feel like going for site seeing from this place and this is no exaggeration. This place is actually much more beautiful than what you see in the pictures.
Amitabh Roy
Mumbai

Room Tip: 102 deluxe suite is best suited for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    245
    35
    13
    9
See reviews for
285
398
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is the premier place in Kodai, close to everything (bazaar, Coaker's Walk, lake, Bryant Park) and the service is excellent. My father's room was like the old hill-station homes, lots of stone and wood. We were very pleased with the service and breakfasts, although due to construction the menu was limited. We loved the garden/yard; the grass is like a putting green. My room in the auxiliary wing was pleasant, with lots of wood and a fine view. The showers were hot, too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a week-long stay at this hotel in Kodaikanal. Located adjacent to Coaker's Walk and opposite to Bryant Park , it has perhaps the best view on offer for its guests and makes it a great value for money when compared to other hotels with similar tariffs.
The center of the town is within walking distance, should one wish to walk down and explore the place.
But, the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to go extra mile with a smile at all times is most refreshing for travelers from cities and make them feel at home at once.
It is definitely a place worth going back again and highly recommended for first-time travelers to Kodai.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Date: 9-dec to 12-dec-2010
We selected this hotel after checking the reviews from internet.

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 3 nights and 4 days. Though the hotel was undergoing rennovation, they tried to extend us good service. We had booked honeymoon suite and the view was heavenly and unparallel.

The reception staff and owners were cordial and cooperative. It was my wife's birthday and they gave us a pleasent surprise by gifting us a nice photo frame. The garden was small but it was a relaxing and quiet place giving a breathtaking view of valley. Even we could have the valley and city view from our room itself.

The area of improvement was that the bed arrangement was conjested and did not have enough free space to move. Also the bathroom did not have hot water tap. The door locking system was not proper.

This is the place we would definitely like to come back to and recommend to our friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant !!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Our recent stay at Villa Retreat was truly an enjoyable experience. The view from the garden is breathtaking, so be sure to book a room with a view. We had a comfortable suite from which we could step out into the garden. There was also a fireplace in the suite. The rooms are warm, with adequate storage. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are comfortable. Kodai can get crowded during the peak season, but here you can enjoy the beauty of Kodai without the noise and crowd.

I have stayed here many years ago, and even then we were enchanted by the garden and the view, but what made all the difference during our recent trip was the management and staff. Talk about service with a smile! They are so helpful, it's amazing the lengths they go to to make your stay comfortable. You really get the feeling that they value their guests and will go out of their way to accomodate your requests. The manager, reception staff, waiters, and even the cleaning ladies were super nice, yet professional.

If you're looking for a quiet get away, conveniently located, with a breathtaking view and superb staff, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We have stayed at Villa Retreat twice and would highly recommend it. It is a beautiful old colonial building with fabulous views. The service was excellent.
K and J from Canada

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 are large rooms inthe old bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We spent 4 days at the Villa Retreat, a place we picked based on Trip Advisor reviews. We returned happy and plan to visit them again next year. The hotel is small, compact, simple and comfy rooms and the probably the best views in town.

Perched on a cliff alongside Coaker's walk, the resort has a small garden, carefully tended to by a local gardener, a wonderful assortment of plants, a small apiary, bird bath frequented through the day by numerous birds. The place is perfect for star gazing at night, skies are usually clear and perfect sunrises to wake up to.

Located close to Coaker's walk, the hotel is walking distance to the 7 roads junction which has a good selection of restaurants. While we were there, the inhouse restaurant was being refurbished, hence we spent most of our time walking around and trying local fare.

Breakfast was served in the garden and is sumptuous. Service is friendly and prompt. Local trips can be arranged at short notice, though we would recommend walking around for most of the trip.

While at Kodi, check out Tibetan Brothers Restaurant for the best noodle soups and momos. Astoria for crisp dosas, Aby's kitchen for home made wholesome food and the Pastry Shop for the best puffs and pastries (reach early, they sell out quick). Try the Tava restaurant for spicy indian fare.

The town is nothing much to look at, stay away from side lanes and walk the main roads to avoid garbage spills and open to the sky toilets.

We spent most of our time in the hotel, just soaking in the sun, the views and everything else that comes with the hotel. Beautiful in many ways.

Room Tip: Try and book early, ask for the villa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Retreat

Address: Near Coakers Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Retreat is an ideal choice for honeymoon couples and small families eager to savour and cherish the bygone era of staying in a traditional, charming, luxury, English Cottage. The architecture of Villa Retreat in Kodaikanal bears a strong semblance with the Victorian style chalets and villas, a perfect alternative to the contemporary hotels in Kodaikanal. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.