We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent package comprising hotel ambience and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jai to your Saves list
Hotel Jai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lloyds Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai
1 review
“Excellent package comprising hotel ambience and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location, ambience and behaviour of hotel staffs are great. The rooms are big with coffee and tea makers, LCD TV, wooden floor, sofa cum bed, bed and beautiful lights. Though I had double dlx booking (through cleartrip), due to unavailablity of the room, hotel manager had allocated me a higher grade. Breakfast was complimentary, location was good.
Only issue is with the hot water. It is not available 24 hours but during specific time of day and night. Otherwise, there is no issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    47
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very low cost, neatly maintained, i really loved the idly they serve in breakfast wow mouth watering, Very pleasing people at work, always at service great to conduct a business meet here. I recommend strongly, cost effective meeting can be conducted for 20 member group.

Room Tip: You can choose the family room rather going for a double room, which is spacious and fully furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast of our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

a very good option if you wanna visit kodaikanal, 10 mins walking from kodai lake, the hotel property is situated on a peaceful and pleasant distance.

I thoroughly enjoyed the comfort, food at breakfast, service and hospitality bundled up in a very aggressive cost effective manner.

to be honest I was surprised with the kind of packaging and luxury at the cost they provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay , the facilities and the breakfast of our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hi All,

We had a very pleasent stay and experienced a wonderful service. It added pleasure to our stay and worth for the money we pay.All the staffs were keen to attend the needs on time. Thanks to Mr Prabhu (manager) and all his team members for making the days memorable :).
We suggest its the best place to stay and worth ur money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked a deluxe room in this hotel for two days (9th and 10th August). Great place, good food and service. Staff here are courteous and helpful. Food was good, but can be improved.Rooms are very spacious, however bathrooms are bit congested.Got a good discount too. So if you want to spend less on hotel and at the same time want a decent and good place to stay in Kodaikanal Hotel Jai is the answer.

We vacated the room on 11th morning and went around for shopping. However keeping our luggage safe was a big problem. In the meanwhile the Staff jumped in for a help and provided us a place in their another branch( Hotel Hilltop, which is close to bus stand). Not only that the owner of the Hotel Mr. Jaytilakar dropped us to that Hotel Hilltop and asked the staff their to take care of our luggage... :) :) He was very helpful and down to earth.

So the overall experience was too good, without any issues.
Luckily the climate was pleasant and there heavy rain fall. It was a memorable trip :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Most of the resorts that I have been to would normally reduce the rent and compensate in the food bill. @Jai I was suprised to see the bill which was very less, this is pretty good.
One thing about the hotel is it doesn't have a view, but other wise it is the best place to be in if you want to have a feel @home.
We travelled with our one year old daughter, and we were so comfortable.
The room is well maintained well cleaned.
Strongly recommend :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erode, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in hotel JAI on 13th and 14th August 2013.We booked 2 deluxe rooms and later on upgraded to superior rooms.Both deluxe and superior rooms are very specious.Front desk staff were very nice and helpful.Bathrooms in superior rooms were bit small.Food in restaurant is very good and tasty.I may suggest them to change the plastic chairs in the restaurant.Overall the stay in hotel JAI is very good.I definitely stay again , when i visit Kodaikanal.

Room Tip: Room number 102 and 103 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of our hotel. We sincerely look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jai

Address: Lloyds Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jai 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.