We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jai to your Saves list
Hotel Jai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lloyds Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Good location, swift service, courteous staff and nice and clean rooms. nearby to the lake, they book vehicle on request.

Breakfast is very good, though there is variety in the dinner, the taste is just average. Also the dining hall is not that great, it has normal plastic chairs and tables, can upgrade/renovate to make it more classy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    47
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

More costlier than worth..rooms were not cleaned daily..they charge heavily for kids food also..money minded....if you book site seeing through hotel, they charge more.. its almost double than outside..they ask for correct check-out time but they have not given hotel at correct check-in time...far from busstand.. going and coming from hotel itself costs 150/- or more...overall not a great experience...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us.
Firstly regarding the rates, our base rate is Rs.2550/- and Rs.1750/- during off season which includes breakfast and dinner for 2 persons, the dinner is a non-veg dinner as well. (Only breakfast included in off season rate). For travelers reading the review I would like to point out some of the facilities at the hotel, we have DTH set top boxes installed in all rooms for good TV experience, safety locker in rooms, coffee makers in rooms, we have recreation area where you can play Table Tennis, Carrom, Chess etc, lawn to sit and relax with family. I am sorry if you felt our rates are on the higher side.

Sir, our check out time is 9.00 am during season period, only if a guest checks out at 9.00 am we can clean the room and give it for the next guest by 10.00 am. Please put yourself in that position of check in and think if we make you wait at the lobby and give your room only by 11.30 or 12. I’m sure you would not like it. Hence to facilitate other guests we tell you well in advance that check out time is 9.00 am so that you too are prepared.

Our hotel vehicles are charged Rs.100 more than outside travel vehicles for sightseeing, not double of what you have wrongly said, we charge Rs.1200 for local sightseeing no outside vehicle would do sightseeing for 600 or 700 rupees, mini vans on sharing basis to do it Rs.200 or Rs.250/-, however our vehicle is dedicated for your family. This Rs.100 extra is charged for the very reason that our drivers are very experienced and are safe and also should incase of loss of bags, phone etc, you can contact the hotel and our drivers are well aware that any lost phone, bags are to be returned in the hotel reception. This kind of service is not available in outside travel vehicles of whom you would have no contact point. We do not take responsibility for it, but we have a history of returning lost things back to the guest, this generally does not occur in outside vehicles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I hail from Coimbatore, we had been to Kodai on 16th May to 18th May after a gap of almost 8 years and we stayed in Hotel Jai. The rooms are very luxury and clean and our entire family enjoyed the stay especially my kids. They have a indoor games like table tennis, carrom and chess which is a good time pass in the evening. Service is also good and all the staffs are courteous. Food taste is average they have to improve the taste of food and it is less spicy. We planned to come again to Kodai during Nov-Dec. During our stay the temperature was very high so I suggest all the hill hotels to make a fan provision so we can use this as optional.Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us. Please stay with us again when you visit Kodaikanal and we will be happy to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was with my family in Kodai from 13th May to 17th May. For those who are visiting Kodai to experience nature's beauty and calm and a siren environment, Hotel Jai is a perfect destination. 10 mins away from the hustle and bustle of Kodai city, this hotel truly stands by its tagline "luxury made affordable". Staff in hotel especially Prabhu and the housekeeping boys made us feel at home. Good food...great service. well furnished rooms...The weather is cool in summer...the rooms don't have a/c or fans or a fridge.. - that's a bit disappointing...Overall good experience...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us. Please stay with us again when you visit Kodaikanal and we will be happy to serve you and we are working on giving out table fans on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Jai in the month of April from the 26th to the 28th after a gap of at least 15 years. This was where my dad used to stay with his friends for a month in summer nearly every year. In those days it was like a family home, a home away from home,with limited facilities, clean, good simple food and more importantly very hospitable staff and owners with a hands on approach.
We experienced all the above in a new look, renovated with better facilities,hotel with a younger management taking charge and continuing the standards laid by the older generation. The breakfast was excellent with quiet a good spread with a limited variation because of the south Indian limitation
The food in their group hotel restaurants both veg and non veg is excellent . Though because of it's location and quality of food can get a bit crowded.
Great place to be, small hotel with probably 20/25 rooms,far from the madding crowd,yet close to the lake ,value for money, safety,plenty of parking and good food with courteous staff.
Would recommend this for everyone but more for family with kids. Rooms available according to your budget.

Room Tip: Good to take deluxe rooms as they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time taken by you to write a review for us. Please stay with us again when you visit Kodaikanal and we will be happy to serve you, we hope that there is not a gap of 15 years this time, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed there once. Service was good. Very courteous and polite staff. Food especially south Indian breakfast is superb. Booking charges also include breakfast and dinner. Will stay there again if visit Kodaikanal again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this hotel based on TA feedback and overall this was a good choice.

The Hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of main Kodai and was peaceful and quiet. The room we took - Family Triple - was large and faced the front. It was fairly well equipped. There is also ample parking area.

The staff were extremely helpful - overall great service!

Improvement areas - BF had very limited choice and dinner was only buffet style. That was sad! Also, housekeeping needs to improve - the rooms were not cleaned well.

Room Tip: Facing the parking area/front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I'm glad you had a good family stay.

Thanks for telling us the areas that we need to improve upon. Yes, our dinner is buffet style, which is what majority of the hotels do, it would be difficult for us to take individual orders and serve everyone, hence our breakfast and dinners are buffet style.

Regarding the housekeeping, I will take it into account very seriously, will have a meeting with the housekeeping department right away and make sure its perfect. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jai

Address: Lloyds Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jai 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.