We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break at kodaikanal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kodai Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kodai Resort
Save
You added Kodai Resort to your Saves list
Coakers Walk,, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short break at kodaikanal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

>Not worth for the money paid.

> Hot water not available afte 11 am

> Food is average

> The inhouse travel help desk charges more money when you compare with outsider.

> Thanks to Sakthi - Helps a lot during our stay.

Room Tip: Before checking in make sure to check the rooms so that you will not be surprised what has been pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    125
    29
    20
    10
See reviews for
163
101
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I booked the resort after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and to be honest wasn't expecting the place to be great!!! My primary reason of booking this place was that it was much cheaper than the Villa Retreat and Fern Creek and since I needed 2 rooms, this fit my budget. From the time we entered the place, my parents, hubby & me, were wowed by the resort's layout, ambience, the location and the rooms. The service was good too. Mr. Stalin at the Travel Desk did a great job of providing us with cabs for the pick up/drop facilities and for the sight seeing and was also concerned about how good the drivers were. Mr. Murugan who was in charge of room service for us and served us dinner on all 3 days was very prompt, clean and very pleasant, unlike what some other reviewers have mentioned. Mr. Williams at the restaurant was also very prompt and was keen to get our feedback and improve upon things.

I'm truly surprised by what some reviewers have mentioned about the rooms, restaurant, food and the service, cos in all these parameters I thought Kodai Resort was good, if not excellent. In my opinion, this place is real good value for money, since the rooms are big and spacious, have well maintained gardens(with emus, ducks, etc.), a recreation room, very close to nearby attractions (Coakers Walk, Lake, etc) and centrally located in Kodaikanal.

Every staff member at the resort was very courteous and were checking on our requirements everyday and looking for feedback to improve their service better, which is something I haven't seen even in some 4* or 5* hotels/resorts.

Couple of things, which can be improved in the resort are,
1. The Food - we'd have liked a little more variety in the buffet and the a-la-carte menu. While the food was tasty, a little more variety in the menu would help. For instance, there were times when we felt like having dosas at night and dosas were available only during breakfast.

2. A fan in either the living room or the bedroom. Sometimes, the room became claustrophobic and hot, especially once we went out in the afternoon and came back. Since there is minimal ventillation, a small fan would definitely help.

If you want to stay at a quiet serene place, away from the noise and yet close to all the major attractions, restaurants, markets in Kodaikanal, then Kodai Resort is the place to be!

Room Tip: As the others have mentioned... rooms at a higher level have a better view and are less noisy when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hot water was unavailable despite specific timings mentioned. Provide half an hour to receive room service and sometimes reminder is required. Kitchen closes at 10 p.m. Expensive considering it is a non-ac room, also it does not even have a fan. Do not take the package as you will have to pay all other entry fees and horse rides and boat rides are not - arranged but reimbursed at a limit of Rs 75/- whereas horse ride is Rs 100/- and Rs 140/- for a boat ride. Apart from this you will have to pay guide charges at Rs 30/- per head per day. Food is expensive pretty average and options are very limited. Desert is fruit salad or ice-cream. Only good point is the ambience. Overall avoidable unless you are inflexible on travel dates do not find any other location and are willing to pay expensive rates

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Kodai Resort Hotel - this is my mistake to select this place to stay in kodai - at a first glance of the very name itself I should have understood that 'Resort' & 'Hotel' in a single name indicates the overall aura of the so below average facility. Anyway, it is highly recommended not to stay here if you are coming to kodai not for the first time. First timer may give it a chance just because its strategic location that too in the off season when the price is below INR 1500 otherwise you may look for an alternative. Parking, reception, room service, restaurant service, restaurant food - all the departments - long way to go to satisfy a guest my dear 'Kodai Resort Hotel' !!!! Especially the restaurant service is awefully annoying - atleast 5 people from the service team came and asked us for the stupid coupon what they gave us for breakfast which is part of the room tarrif itself and the entire amount was paid much prior to our arrival ! This shows extremely low courtesy level which runs top down in the chain !!! I'm sorry to give this review but like me there are many who go to a place repeatedly to refresh their memories and enrich it further - for them it will help - this kind of place just kill that fun !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Travelle on June12-2011

Pros:
Good location,service-ambience,,Buffet dinner & lunch
Camp fire.
Dedicated cab for Package booking couples.

Cons:
Room delivery on Snacks & tea not on time
No ATMs/Doctor on call

Rest is good..

Room Tip: Package room-cottages are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Kodai Resorts is definitely a great resort kind of hotel in Kodaikanal.Centrally located in a serene & calm stretch,Kodai resort has well laid out rooms with an attractive balcony.Bathrooms are a bit compact compared to the rooms,but overall a great place to relax & unwind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel location and amenities good.Room sizes good and well maintained.Only negative side hot water not available all day, only available in the morning and evening.Out of 4 nights we
stayed we had to complain about no hot water in the evening twice although it was suppose to be available.It got sorted out but had to wait.No fans or A/C in rooms but as it was cooler there was no need. Food in restuarent reasonable with limited choice for breakfast .Otherwise good staff heipful and courteous.Over all stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher level good as if there are any events in garden then it could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kodai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai Resort

Address: Coakers Walk,, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Kodai Hotel Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kodai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.