We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VIEW ESPECIALLY 400 SERIES ROOM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton to your Saves list
The Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VIEW ESPECIALLY 400 SERIES ROOM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

i book directly from carlton get discount hotel was excellent view was superb food was good staff full coooperative we missed our snacks they adjusted & give snacks for journey carlton hotel is very photogenic i really enjoyed their climate was excellent nearly 15 degree

Room Tip: choose 415 to 419 series room this rooms are lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    116
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
141
86
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tiruchirappalli, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First I will start with housekeeping department , Over all Housekeeping staff are excellent . Very well maintained rooms and bathrooms .hotel garden and Lawn was maintained good . Really excellent stay .
I will be back soon .

Room Tip: Take always room no from 403 to 412 / 503 to 512
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its a very expensive stay .. but need less to stay .. wonderful places.
You will love the stay , they have a lot of in house activities , the boat ride is awesome , you can hire cycles from the hotel , buffet breakfast and dinner has a very wide spread , we loved the food.

overall its a luxurious wonderful experience

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were spacious,well maintained and clean. Lake View from balcony was awesome.
There were many activities engaging children and adults - all complimentary - cycling,boating,TT,Badminton,carrom board,ludo,snake & ladder,magic show,housie.
Breakfast and Dinner buffet spread was excellent.
Hotel is located at the heart of the town and has access to all eating joints - dominos,subway,north and south indian restuarants.
Bryant park and coakers walk are just a mile from the hotel.

Overall had an excellent stay at Carlton Kodai

Room Tip: most of the rooms have lake view. We stayed in deluxe rooms and had a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Carlton is set on the banks of Kodai Lake amidst beautiful hills. Each of the rooms have a balcony overlooking the Kodai Lake which makes the stay special. It has beautiful garden landscaping with lots of flora and a nice kids play area.

Location is convenient to explore the city on foot. Coaker's walk and top rated restaurants like Tava, Muncheez, Pasty Corner, Cariappa Cafe are within half a km radius.

They have exclusive boat club for the guests and they provide half an hour complimentary boat ride. Getting up early in the morning and cycling around the lake is a nice experience and the best part is the hotel provides the cycles.

Every evening from 6 - 7:30, there are some group activities like Housie Housie, Magic show, folk dance,...

Gulab jamoon,Kanchipuram idli, Onion Vada were very delicious. Otherwise the food was average.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is THE PLACE to stay in Kodaikanal purely from a location standpoint – it’s right on the lake, with mostly lake-facing rooms (especially 401-409 & 501-509 are with sweeping views). It’s an easy walk to the market street (Pastry Corner etc.) uphill and to the lakeside promenade and the boat club downhill – and in spite of its central location, it’s all very quiet and idyllic, the grounds are very private - and it's quite insulated from the chaos of the lakeside promenade and shops. One of the best things to do if you’re staying here is to get out at sunrise and walk the 4-odd km around the lake before the tourist crowd descends. The food at the restaurant here is excellent, and it’s one of those places where you wouldn’t mind having breakfast and dinner included mandatorily in the room tariff.

I would have absolutely given it a 5-star rating, had it not been a few small hitches that soured my experience:
(a) Wi-fi: The hotel management needs to seriously and urgently revisit the wi-fi policy. Even the average B&B places these days offer free wi-fi – it's a shame that Kodaikanal’s supposedly best hotel does not extend that courtesy. On top of that, the rate they charge is Rs.100 per hour, so you’re racking up Rs.2,400 a day if you want wi-fi all day. I’m assuming the hotel itself would pay the network carrier on usage basis, so it seems like they are either trying to milk unsuspecting customers unethically, or have no idea about how to price wi-fi usage (if at all it should be a paid service).
- Soundproofing & privacy: We had a noisy bunch staying on the 5th floor, and had to call up the reception twice around 11pm to ask them to keep it down a bit. Also, the 400-series rooms have an open terrace for a sit-out (huge plus), but you can just hop over the low partition to the neighbor’s terrace if you want. That could work great for a large group occupying the entire length of the floor, but might be uncomfortable for cosy couples.
- Choice of rooms: I had called them to ask for a specific room since I knew which were the best rooms and I didn’t want to take any chances for my wife’s birthday trip; they said they couldn’t pre-book a specific room number, but made notes of my specific requests (lake-facing, higher floor, queen bed). When we landed up, they offered us the only available 400-series room for 1 night and were asking us to change to another room for the second night. As it turned out, that 400-series room was considered the best room in the house, and they were reserving it for their CMD who was visiting the next day. The thought that went through my mind was that people who offer a preferential treatment (in this case pre-book a specific room) for their CMD instead of their customers should not be in the hospitality business in the first place – let alone run supposedly the only 5-star hotel in town. And even if they were doing that, letting me know about it was the biggest mistake they could make. So I played a little strong arm tactics and threatened them that now that I knew which room the CMD would be staying in, I would make it a point to knock and let him/her know about my complaints. That’s when they finally relented and let me have the room for both nights.

Net-net, my experience here was a classic case study of how the difference of 99% and 100% in the hospitality business is actually way more than just 1%. Without these really small hitches I would have rated this place right at the top – but they were such dampeners for my experience that I decided this place shouldn’t be worth the 5-star rates that they charge.

Room Tip: Rooms 401-409 (open not-so-private terrace in front) and 501-509 (private regular balconies) have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHENNAI
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this hotel to avail their Bar facing the beautiful lake. Thanks to the Bar Manager who suggested me to sit outside and enjoy the panoramic scenic beauty. Outside sitting area is provided with garden umbrella and chairs where one can sit and enjoy their drink added by the scenic beauty of the lake, mountains and greeneries.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
We thank you for availing our facilities and for your appreciation of the hotel and its facilities. We look forward to your on your next visit.
With warm regards
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.