We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton to your Saves list
The Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is a very good experience we had during our 3 nights package. We really got Value For Money. The rooms are excellent and so is the service overall i.e. room/dining/boating and sightseeing. Sine it was off season we felt we were getting VIP treatment. Everything is meticulously planned out and executed.

Room Tip: There is no need to choose because all the rooms face the lake. Since were are senior citizens, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    106
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
122
79
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in the misty hill station overlooking a pretty lake. The hotel is professionally run and caters for families with children. They offer a variety of entertainment like boating, cycling, horse riding and bingo evenings by the fire place. They also have on-site facilities for younger children.
A sightseeing tour and boat ride is included in your board. A walk around the lake is recommended while visiting the many stalls.
The Carlton is a magnificent colonial style era hotel that over looks the lake. Rooms are bright and spacious. No airconditioner only a roof fan. I also had a private balcony. You have to purchase wi-fi by the hour but it is not expensive. Rooms are tastefully decorated and have in-room coffee making facilities.
The management and staff are all friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a magnificent buffet with my favorite being the selection of deserts.
I visited at a busy time but they managed well and I had a good experience. The sightseeing tour was definitely a bonus and it was a nice drive out. Walking around the lake is safe but make sure you have contact details for the hotel on you, as fog can move in quickly and you're then not able to see your hotel easily. You might have to ask for directions.

Room Tip: If you're staying over a busy holiday period try to get a room away from the entertainment area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying with and for your appreciative comments on the hotel, its facilities and location. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a great motivation for The Carlton team when I share your review with them. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited this hotel with my family during summer. We had a truly memorable stay. The rooms, decor and service are all amazing; the location is excellent and peaceful. Food was good; there is plenty to do in and around the resort. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your positive comments and recommendation. We look to your next visit to The Carlton.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think the best hotel in kodai. Just off the lake. With all facilities (children play area, kids play room, pool table, shuttle, T.T. foosball, cyclying etc etc. Lake is just behind the resort and they have their own dock and boats( you may need to book in advance). While we were there the hotel organised bonfire and housie game in the evenings. The buffet spread was good.
Although it felt expensive when you have to pay Rs 100 for an hour of Wi-Fi. Rs 100 per person for half an hour of pool table.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, We have taken cognizance of you comments both appreciative and suggestive. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If there is a hotel that blends eastern hospitality with English efficiency it has to be the carlton.
We had two wonderful days and wished we had stayed longer.
First hotel in India which offered Free services...like tours, shikara rides, fruit and pastries at arrival with your choice of tea.
it was like visiting your favourite aunt who would dote on you.
it boasts of swimming pool, badminton,boating, cycling, horse riding,a library, health club,billiard tables golfing, children's park and my favourite hammocks.
If heaven is on earth it must be THE CARLTON.

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony over looking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We are elated on seeing your highly appreciative comments of the hotel and its facilities. It will serve as a great motivation for team Carlton. We thank you and look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I visited this hotel on christmas day. I was highly impressed by the decor, ambience and service...5 stars all the way. The bar , end of the road is truly a class of its own. My friend and i had a lovely time there, the bar tenders are polite and helpful.
Loved the extra touch of platters of salad and assorted nuts.
That is what you call service. Would love to stay here on my next visit, am sure the rooms would be as lovely as the rest of the property.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We are glad to hear that you and your friend had a pleasant experience at the bar. We are sure that you would find our rooms cosy & comfortable and would enjoy the view of the lake from the room balcony as well as your stay with us. We hope you would stay with us in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tvm
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I visited kodaikanal the hillstation situated in TN with my wife and daughter in first week of nov 2014. as usual I checked with tripadvisor and zeroed in on to this hotel since my intention was to stay near the lake which is the star attraction of kodai.on reaching the top near lake I found it little difficult to choose the correct road which leads to the hotel grounds since there was no sign board of the hotel .but managed to find the way it is the road lying adjacent to the lake railings .it may seem as though not motorable but it is and that leads to hotel .on entering you may feel as though you are entering a british raj colonial building but once you enter the lobby it is cosy and comfortable. the reception people are very nice and polite and you will be checked in as fast as possible. the luggage will de taken care of and when enter the room it is warm if you visit during cold season and spacious .the bathroom is good with toiletries provided.now the restaurant which provides buffet breakfast and dinner since that is inclusive in the pacage provided. the best pacakage for you can be chosen .the restaurant has very helpful boys and girls to attend to your needs coupled with tasty food it is a treat to be reckoned .all the rooms have lake view and it is a treat to eyes to sit and watch sipping ahot tea or coffee. the package provides half day sight seeing in their vehicle which is done very meticulously by the hotel which covers almost all places in kodai.the driver who takes us I think his name is mr.rajendran was anice prson explaining the details of every place and occasionally cracking jokes.we enjoyed it very much .the package also includes sikara ride in the lake in the hotel boat itself so you neednot go for the other boat services.the hotel has inhouse play things and above all they provide bicycles to ride around the lake .don't miss the opportunity to make the ride eventhough the whole lake is 6 kms it nice trying in the evening and in early morning.the hotel lobby is having a fire place where they put fire in the evening you can sit near it and enjoy sipping a hot soup or hot drinks of your choice. overall it is worth staying at carlton the experience you may cherish fondly thanks to the entire carlton team for making us feel so.

Room Tip: all rooms are lake view with beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking time to share your experiences and positive comments on the services and facilities on this public forum. It’s true that the walk or cycling around the 4.6 kms lake is best enjoyed in the early mornings or early evenings. I will share your appreciation with the team Carlton and am sure that it would motivate them to greater levels in guest satisfaction. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.