We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and Mesmerizing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton to your Saves list
The Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome and Mesmerizing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is one of the most beautiful hotels I have visited so far. The property is centrally located on the lake itself giving a breathtaking view of the Kodai lake. The staff is very helpful. Food equally good. I found the spread also good. All the rooms have beautiful lake view. The staff was courteous enough to accommodate our early check in and late check out. Fabulous experience!

Room Tip: I had room 108. Awesome views. Please do select on first floor! No noise, direct lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
114
73
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

had stayed here with family during our visit to Kodaikanal. Rooms are good and balcony view of the township and lake is breathtaking!
There is breakfast buffet which is vast and exquisite.
A bit pricey but the memories we had will surely last a lifetime!!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is undoubtedly the best hotel in Kodaikanal. There is no other hotel in Kodaikanal which comes close to matching this hotel in any field. Firstly, the location is amazing - right across the lake. Most of the rooms are lake facing. Also they have a huge garden. Secondly, the rooms and the bathrooms are well maintained. Thirdly, great hospitality, right from GM to the managers to the restaurant staff and the housekeeping staff. Fourthly prompt & great services. The staff are very flexible. Lastly, but not the least, the buffet spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner are quite elaborate (both veg and non-veg). Also many of the dishes comprise of healthy diet. The wifi is available, but chargeable. It is better to carry datacard. The signal is pretty good. We were 35 of us staying in 19 rooms for 4 days, 3 nights and went for a business meeting. The entire team had a great time. The hotel also have cycles to move around the lake + table tennis + foosball + badminton court + carrom +... They have an area for children games. This hotel is worth the price - value for money. A memorable experience for everybody.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was planning to visit Kodaikanal - a beautiful hill-station in Tamilnadu in India- in January 2015. Based on Tripadvisor's high review ranking, my choice for our stay was The Carlton, this being the only hotel in Kodaikanal which I thought would meet my requirements of a hotel with a customer responsive management. I had almost decided to stay in this hotel, so I contacted the hotel's only published e-mail address, reservations@carlton-kodaikanal.com, for assistance to get a rental car for our travels. There was no proper response - one person asking me to contact another, and so on. I had to make a number of phone calls with no proper answer, much to my utter disappointment and frustration. Finally, I had to ask for and get the General Manager's e-mail address. I wrote an e-mail to the General Manager of the hotel, Mr Mr Rajkumar Raman. Mr Rajkumar Raman has not, up until now, had the courtesy to reply. This shows the shocking management culture of the Raheja Group to which the hotel belongs.

As a consequence I have abondoned my plans to visit Kodaikanal this time. Hopefully some competitor will establish soon in Kodaikanal, which, indeed, is a beatiful touristic place. Kodaikanal deserves to be served by well-managed superior class hotel. I do want to see The Taj Group (The Gateway Hotels) or The Oberoi Group (Trident Hotels) establish in Kodaikanal. These hotels have an excellent cutomer responsive culture.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, General Manager at The Carlton, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest
Greetings!
We were utterly shocked to see your comments that the undersigned hadn’t responded to your email. Whereas I did reply to your email on 11th October, 2014, a copy of which is reproduced below. Of course there was a delay due to my travelling, for which I had tendered my apologies. We are afraid that this email either hadn’t reached you or you had missed seeing, which has resulted in upsetting you, and posting of such comment on the TripAdvisor. However, you could have sent me an email, if you hadn’t received or missed seeing my reply. Also, you have commented that the Raheja Group’s management culture being ‘shocking’. In this context, please note that your choice for stay at Kodaikanal was The Carlton, which was based on Tripadvisor's high review ranking, which is the reflection of our high management culture and that of the hotels in the group.
We do look forward to have you staying with us sometime in the near future.
With warm regards,
Rajkumar Raman
General Manager

From: A M Rajah - Admin. Manager
Date: 11/10/14 18:02:02
To: harave@chandru.st
Subject: Fw: Holiday in Kodaikanal combined with a trip by car to Kochi and Thekkady (Periyar)


Dear Mr Chandramouli
Greetings!
Thank you for your email.

To start off with, kindly accept my apologies for the delay in replying, I was travelling out of Kodaikanal.
We shall be pleased to have you staying at The Carlton from 07th to 11th January 2015 (FOUR Nights).
The tariff for four nights is Rs 38800/- (Rs 29100/- is for three nights). Therefore, the total amount including the transport cost works out to Rs 73909/-, the breakup of which is;
Hotel package for 4 nights Rs 38800.00
Car (Madurai-Kerala trip-upto Hotel) Rs 30390.00
Drop at Madurai on 11th Jan 15 Rs 4719.00
Total Rs 73909.00
Please note:
1) As a policy of our hotel we would like the entire amount of the room tariff in advance for confirmation of bookings. However, as a special case, we would request you to kindly pay us an advance of Rs 50000/-.
2) With regards to the cancellation policy we would like to explain that ours is a Resort property, and it is difficult to resell rooms once cancelled, this is the reason as to why we have the cancelation policy in place (which was sent to you), which we would like to be followed.

Kindly fill, sign and email us the attached MAIL ORDER FORM (to my email id) (the same is self-explanatory), based on which the advance payment can be collected through your credit card.

As soon as we get the Mail Order Form, we shall collect the payment and send you an email confirming the room and car reservations.

We note that you are arriving on 2nd January 2015 by Jet Konnect flight No 2727, ETA 1550 hrs. The driver will receive you at Madurai Airport, he would hold a placard with your name written on.
Look forward to hearing from you.
With warm regards

Rajkumar Raman

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 2 days and i would say its placed in an exquisite location and well maintained but there is nothing more to it than plain accommodation. It lacks innovation..
Food was lacking variety and severely over priced for a very normal menu. But for the name there is nothing that would make the hotel 5 star..

Verdict : worth a try but wouldn't stay again for this price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed a few times in Carlton and it's one of the good resorts in Kodaikanal . But, the sad thing is there is no innovation in service; and no improvement to the existing facilities. If they don't bother to work on these things they will vanish soon!
It was ugly yo see a senior Chef scolding the chef at dosa counter in local language. Non veg choices are less with lack of variety. Tea, Coffee and Masala Tea lacked taste. The few good things about the resort is its excellent location, well maintained lawns and cosy lake facing rooms. But everyone out there must take a crash course in what true hospitality is. Overall my 3 Night stay there have me a mixed feeling and I will think a few times to stay there again when I go to Kodaikanal next time.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Grand, totally unexpected elegance by the lake. The hotel used to feel cold in terms of a lack of atmosphere (in the 1970’s that is). Now it a warm welcoming place. It is large, but manages to feel comfortable. The food is good to very good. The curry we had there was the best we had during a 2 week trip through Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

The rooms are comfortable and the lake facing ones have a wonderful view.

Staff are welcoming, friendly and willing to help on every occasion.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.